We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Zurich”
Review of Hotel Hirschen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Hirschen
Ranked #82 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Zurich”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I arrived at the hotel in the morning after a very long flight from Australia. The hotel was able to provide us with a early check in which was great. The hotel is only a short walking diatance from the main station and it is even quicker and eaiser if you catch a tram. The location is great as it is in the old town with excellent bars, resturaunts, shops and the river a close walking distance away. We also got the hotel through booking.com and had no problem with the room as it had a great view. The staff are very friendly and had great knowledge of the area and tours. Breakfast each morning was delicious and there is also a great little wine bar in the cellar of the hotel. The only downside is the bathroom is quite small and we had difficulty getting Internet on our room (level 8) but besides that everything else was great and we will def come back when we return to Zurich.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear YbyF
Thank you very much for your positive review. With great pleasure we hear that you did enjoy your stay at Zurich and the Hirschen Hotel and we will be glad to welcome you again in the future. We are aware of the WLAN problems and we will solve this in the near future.
Thank you for your visit!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    97
    50
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
117
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

It's in a great location - very close to the river and only 5 minutes walk from the main train station. The staff are friendly and helpful and were more than happy to store our luggage until we were able to check in. Our room was basic but very comfortable. Breakfast was absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Nat S
It was a great pleasure to welcome you at the Hirschen Hotel and we are glad that you did enjoy your stay with us. It is our effort to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible and our high quantity of regular guests and positive feedback such as yours is our reward.
Thank you very much for choosing the Hirschen and we hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
1,008 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

If you make your reservation with booking.com you will save money and.....space. That is, the room will not have a view and will probably be smaller that the other rooms. Clean, confortable, old but good quality towels, very TINY bathroom, average breakfast. Staff nice and competent. Old building but well kept. Very central. A bit expensive for what it is.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the square: noisier but with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romanbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Romanbiker
It was a pleasure to welcome you at our hotel. Thank you for your review, we are happy that you did enjoy your stay with us. We have 27 rooms in our historic building and each room is different. The allocation of the rooms will be done individually based on the availability, no matter how you have done your reservation. Most of the guests prefer a quiet room and this rooms do in fact have not a spectacular view. The rooms facing the busy Hirschenplatz have a better view, but they are quite noisy, especially on weekends and summer days. Every guest has different needs and so it is difficult for us to know in advance what preference which guest have unless they send us a special request. We would be happy to welcome you again at the Hirschen hotel and we will make sure you will get a room facing the Hirschenplatz.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed in the Hirschen hotel for one night. Staff was very friendly and accomodating, I really appreciated it. The hotel is very well located, in the heart of the city - very nice. The room was OK, very simple and for the price, i think they could provide something better. What really annoyed me was that there were no shades and the room at night is not dark. A lot of people (myself included) need absolute darkness to be able to sleep well, otherwise you wake up at 5 am when the sun arises - this is what happened to me and so I think they should either put shades that can be closed or thicker curtains.

The breakfast was very good, very good quality of food and products, I liked it very much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovetotravel155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Ilovetotravel 155
Thank you very much for your stay and your review. We always appreciate the feedbacks of our guests so they will allow us to improve our service. I am happy to hear that the staff was worth your positive comment, this is what is very important to us. You are absolutely right that the missing black out curtains or shades in some rooms are a problem we have to solve soon. The difference of every room and the structural facts make it more ambitous than supposed, but the rooms will definitely equipped with black out curtains in the near future.
It was a pleasure to welcome you at the Hirschen Hotel and we hope you will visit us again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aigle, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

As other reviewers have said, the hotel is convenient for the railway station and for visiting Zurich as it is right in the Old Town. My room was clean and bright with comfortable beds. The bathroom was a little small, but adequate. Despite being in an area of Zurich with noisy night-life I didn't have a problem with being disturbed. The staff were friendly and the food choice at breakfast (continental style) was good. For Switzerland I felt is was a reasonable price. I hope to stay at the Hirschen again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HomerPerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear HomerPerly
Thank you for your review, we are very happy that you did enjoy your stay with us and you felt comfortable here.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel is only 10 minutes away from the station and in the middle of the Old Town. It's perfectly located to visit the complete city and to enjoy the bars and restaurants. The rooms are small but very clean. Of course the official pictures and the description don't fit 100%. The furniture is ikea and the walls of our room were dirty with footprints. The rooms are supposed to be all covered by wifi connection which is not the case for the 8th floor. And if you make them notice it to the receptionist called Sarah(?) she will first of all answer you that you can't expect more since it's for free and if you insist that it's not as described she will arrogantly send you away. All the other people at the reception were really nice. The breakfast is good and served till 11, so also the late birds are satisfied. So in general it's a good hotel and perfectly located but maybe a bit too expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that do not have any window on the square side, on the w-e it will be loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabGer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear GabGer84
Thank you for choosing the Hirschen Hotel and your review. We are happy that over all you did enjoy your stay with us. We know that some of the rooms need to be new painted and this will be done with other renovations in winter time. From Spring to December our occupancy does not allow us to close rooms for renovations. The WIFI is free for our guests and is working accurate in the reception area and the breakfast room. You are right that sometimes the signal can be weak in the upper floors. This is in fact a problem in a over 500 years old building. We are already trying to find an other provider which can fix this problem, but we have not yet found someone who can guarantee that the service is good in every room. We apologize for the bad experience you have made that day with one of our receptionists. This should of course not happen and is really unusal for us.
As we know that there are still some points (renovated rooms, better WIFI) we can make our guests stay even more comfortable, we often make special offers for our rooms with very attractive rates.
We would be pleased to welcome you again at the Hirschen Hotel.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I chose this hotel as it is described as being in the center of the old town and near the train station (about a 10min walk).

The hotel is definitely located centrally, close to the lake, the river, the old city and the train station but in my opinion that's about the best thing about it. Staff are also very friendly and helpful.

Onto the bad.

The rooms are quite outdated. IKEA style furniture and old TVs. Almost no wardrobe space. Bathrooms aren't nice at all, with a curtain not a glass screen which is quite unhygienic.

Rooms are also noisy. I had a "neighbor" who was cackling all night long. I didn't hear any noise from the street but it's the other rooms next to you which you should worry about.

Also the fact that the curtain is thin means you will be woken up by the sunlight coming into your room at sunrise.

There are no views from the rooms which don't face the square, unless you stick your head out and turn left or right.

The hotel is also quite expensive (in any other European country you wouldn't pay more than €60 for such a room in a similar location) but then again Switzerland is very expensive.

If you care about the location and can afford the price, but don't mind staying in a poor hotel then stay here. If you don't care about the location or don't mind taking a bus, check out another hotel farther away from the center.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, with less neighboring rooms they should be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alkis_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMohn, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Alkis_H
Thank you for your review about your recent stay.
The Hirschen is located in a historic, over 500 years old building and so our rooms will never be equipped with modern furniture as this would not match. But there are some slight renovations planned in the winter months, such as new TV's, news carpets and wall painting and new black out curtains. As the space in our bathrooms is limited and all floor plans are different, we cannot install glass screens in most of the rooms.
We apologize that you have been disturbed by your neigbours at night. Our front desk is available 24hours to assist our guest whenever they need it, especially at night when guests are disturbed by others. We are sorry that you have not told us immediately so that we could make sure your neigbours stop disturbing you.
Zurich is not a cheap destination, this is a fact. But compared to other Zurich hotels in the same excellent location we still have reasonable rates.
We hope that you did enjoy your stay in Zurich and you have taken good memories back to Cyprus.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#20 of 138 in Zurich
789 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Scheuble
Hotel Scheuble
#98 of 138 in Zurich
31 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hotel Zuercherhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#49 of 138 in Zurich
390 reviews
Old Town
Marktgasse Hotel
Marktgasse Hotel
#58 of 138 in Zurich
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hirschen

Property: Hotel Hirschen
Address: Niederdorfstrasse 13, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hirschen 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing