We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be 4 stars, not 3!!”
Review of Hotel Hirschen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Hirschen
Ranked #79 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Should be 4 stars, not 3!!”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Well done Hotel Hirschen ! We arrived in Zurich incredibly late at night after our flight was delayed and the gentleman at reception was so friendly and helpful, he offered to carry our bags and gave us a large chilled bottle of water to drink (we found out later it was free of charge!) and they had no issues with the fact that our plane was late rendering us 1 1/2 hours later than planned to arrive. 
The hotel is very atmospheric! It's foundations are dating Back to the 1100s and the building itself to the 1400s. It's beautifully decorated and the rooms have been recently renovated so they're very comfortable. We had a lovely view over the square. It's well located in the old town only a 5 min walk to the central railway station and a short walk to the Bahnhoffstrasse and the river/lake. Plenty of restaurants and shops around.
The room has been recently renovated. It's simple but comfortable. It has a wardrobe, television, desk with vanity and bedside tables. Very basic but all we needed (it had hand soap!) and much to my delight I could borrow a hair dryer from reception. The drawbacks. We were on the 8th floor which was nice but it got terribly hot in the room! There was a small portable fan by the bed but this only provided a small amount of comfort mainly at night. And in the daytime it was so hot you'd be sweating as soon as you get out of the shower. It needs at least a ceiling fan if not aircon for the hot summer. Another drawback was that in order to keep cool we kept the window open, and it was so noisy outside! Lots of people talking and shouting at all hours of the night, street cleaners noisily passing and the bells on the nearby church seemed to toll on the quarter hour all day and night. I enjoyed listening to the atmospheric noise of Zurich but it proved annoying when it was still going on in the wee hours of the morning when we are trying to sleep.
Free wifi is provided throughout the hotel including your room. It's great in the reception area and dining room but in our room on the 8th floor it was awful! It would let you online for a minute or so then boot you off! Then it would be impossible to pick up the signal. Very irritating. But at least it was free and worked brilliantly in common areas. It works alot better if you have a laptop computer as opposed to a smart phone or tablet. 
The breakfast is simple. It's nothing exciting but it's fresh food and it's included in your room rate , and trust me, that will help you in Switzerland. Save yourself 50CHF or more and have breakfast at the hotel. You then have more money to enjoy eating out and other attractions. 
I can't speak highly enough of the wonderful staff who took care of us at Hotel Hirschen. Nothing was too much trouble. They are very friendly and helpful with advice on attractions to visit and information about the town. They are very accommodating, they let us sit in the breakfast room enjoying the relaxation even after breakfast had concluded. It's constant service with a smile. What a way to make your guests feel welcome! They all deserve a pat on the back!
In conclusion I can't recommend Hotel Hirschen enough for your stay in Zurich! you'll pay 3 star prices for 4 star service and quality. Definitely stay there! 

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor (starting with the number 8) are awesome! Great view of the Hirschenplaat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ness-of-Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    95
    46
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
113
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Ma
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Hotel Hitschen has a great location - right in the middle of old town. You can walk anywhere from the hotel. The rooms are small but clean and quaint - they have everything you need. Breakfast was perfect - a wonderful selection of breads/ meats and cheeses as well as cereal and juice/coffee/tea. The price was great considering what other hotels in the area charge. Don't miss the romantic wine cellar downstairs!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mabostongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Hirschen for one night at the beginning of July. Hotels in Zurich seemed to be very expensive and we chose Hotel Hirschen because of it's reasonable price (about $195 a night). The location of the hotel is perfect. It's in the heart of the old town and we were able to easily walk to all of the sites. The hotel staff was also very kind and we had a fabulous breakfast. The room itself was nothing special. It was basic and small, although everything was very clean. The bathroom was also tiny... especially the shower. The room did get hot at night, but we were okay with the fan that was provided. We did not have any issues with noise, but we were in a back room. The hotel does feature an interesting wine cave. We enjoyed checking it out and having a drink at night.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank EuropeLover83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The hotel is in an outstanding location - right in the heart of the old town of Zurich. It's also clean, but that's about as much as you can say about it. The room is tiny, and in the summer it can get extremely hot in it - even at nighttime.

The next time I'm in Zurich, I'll look for an alternative place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBAD2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Lone Star State
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Had a recent stay at Hotel Hirschen for one night. Given the prices of hotel rooms in Zurich, I thought this was a pretty decent place. It's in the old section of town in an area close to the major attractions of the city and within walking distance of lots of shops, bars, and cafes.Stayed in Room 805. Beware that if you are a light sleeper, you will want a room at the rear of the property. Room 805 overlooks the small, but busy street below. Also note that the room was pretty small, as well as the bathroom, but given our needs, it was fine. The breakfast selections were good, and the front desk staff were helpful. Would recommend and would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room that does NOT overlook the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bastrop52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I was really excited when I found this old historic hotel online but onside of the great location I was pretty disappointed with it overall. The rooms did not look anything like the website. No beams, no charm. They were really small and unappealing in every way. I felt the whole hotel was in need of some updating and cleaning. The bathroom was impossible to get ready in with no counter space, no plugs, no blowdryer and really small!!

I would not come here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lwjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I extended a business trip for two days to visit Zurich. Hirschen is perfectly located, very central, but it happens that it is also its problem. Hirschen Platz is a very lively place and it is noisy until very late at night. Closing the windows (I was on a side single room on the last floor) solved the problem and I slept very well, but I can imagine that on warm nights this might be a problem, as there is no airconditioning. As for the noise, it is not the hotel's fault that it gets so noisy downstairs on the street. I had no view from the room - mostly another window from the building nearby. The room was spacious for a single room, shower was very good, everything clean and tidy. Hotel staff was very likable and the sunny breakfast room overlooking the street is lovely. There is also a terrace on the upper floor and the wine cave is very inviting. All in all I was happy with my choice, but I would not stay there during summer because of the windows versus noise problem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#18 of 139 in Zurich
762 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Old Town
Hotel Scheuble
Hotel Scheuble
#106 of 139 in Zurich
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Alexander
#37 of 139 in Zurich
475 reviews
Old Town
KINDLI Hotel
KINDLI Hotel
#69 of 139 in Zurich
94 reviews
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#52 of 139 in Zurich
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hirschen

Property: Hotel Hirschen
Address: Niederdorfstrasse 13, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hirschen 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing