We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thai thai thai” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chiang Mai Thai Shop

Chiang Mai Thai Shop
Ranked #101 of 1,877 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: Fast Food, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chiang Mai Thai Shop is a Take Away place (Grab & Go) with a Thai glocery downstairs. Please notice that we are not a poshy restaurant. We offer streetfood and have 5 choices of menu.
Patong, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Thai thai thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Thai food at the best. Near the main station. Limited varieties of food everyday. Real thai taste running by a thai family. We always get mango with our lunch. Went today had a green curry. Yummy.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Exclusive T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    34
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“So Cool!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We'd seen reviews of this and decided to visit, even the ones that said "It's just a shop". Well yes it is - so? There were four tables and chairs all wood-hewn and we were immediately shown to one. Bar? No, pick your drinks from the fridge! At the back of the shop we could hear the unmistakable sounds of woks and cutlery clicking. Go to back and see the huge array of food waiting for you - sounds like a "hot plate" type of service but this food was fresh and (as I discovered) delicious. I had the phad thai and green curry - absolutely amazing!

We noticed that the shop was preparing takeaways as a steady stream of hungry locals were arriving for their dinner. The shop closed at 7:30pm but the proprietor told us to take our time, as sure enough the staff had plenty to do and clearly weren't about to go home anytime soon.

Friendly service, excellent food and something truly out of the ordinary.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Catweevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cheap but A-Mazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

A friend of mine who lives in Zurich took me there and it has turned out to be a memorable experience. Part shop and part 'fast food'. Filled with the typical stuff you'd find at a thai shop. From ornaments to curry paste to exotic beverages. After shopping you can also grab a bite to eat. You can choose a plate of rice/noodles with a choice of curry. The size 'small' was very filling. In fact you can even combine the curries. They give you sooooo much food! There are two tables in the shop where you can sit or there are also bences outside. Was there on a Saturday and it seemed very popular. Very friendly staff!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KJey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Cheap as chips -but tastier”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is not a restaurant. It is a shop that serves take-away food and has four sawn-off tree trunks as tables in one corner, by the woks and cleavers. It sounds rubbish, but it’s not.

The shop does a roaring trade in take-away meals, but if you want to eat in, just point at what you want and it’ll be served on a plate. Go and pick your drink of choice from the chiller cabinet, and Bob’s your uncle, you have a cheap and tasty meal. And cheap and tasty meals are at a premium in Zurich . The staff are friendly, but speak barely any English.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RayattheBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great authentic thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

I ve been going there since years for lunch. Their food is great at a reasonable price. Best Sweet n Sour fish I ever had.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiang Mai Thai Shop also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Chiang Mai Thai Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing