We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favourite Italian restaurant in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ristorante toscano

Ristorante toscano
Ranked #348 of 1,891 Restaurants in Zurich
Price range: $25 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our favourite Italian restaurant in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We've eaten at the Niederdorf branch of Toscano on many occasions and we keep coming back. Their great plus is the seating outside in Schmidgasse, a narrow pedestrianised lane which renders the place an almost Mediterranean atmosphere on a nice summer's evening (even without a reservation, we've managed to get a nice table on busy nights such as the day of the Streetparade). The service is competent and friendly, the food is excellent, be it fish or seafood, pasta or meat. Good selection of fairly priced wines and great desserts and coffee, too, usually accompanied by a digestif such as grappa or limoncello - on the house, like in Italy! No wonder Toscano is our favourite Italian restaurant in our hometown!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TomCH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    52
    15
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Business Lunch deals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Very good location for lunch. Good assortment of pasta, risotto and meat for a very good price. In the summer you can sit outside in the narrow street by the entrance. You better book a table because after 12 o'clock it gets busy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
142 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Niederdof classic recommended for visitors to Zurich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

My wife and I went here last week and had a lovely time. The atmosphere is authentic and the service outstanding. My wife ordered the tuna carpaccio and home-made ravioli. The ravioli portion was small, but my wife asked for some more -- and the waiter happily obliged. My beef carpaccio was outstanding. The wine list is reasonably priced by Zurich standards. Upstairs is a cozy room that is ideal for larger parties. Lastly, this restaurant is in the heart of Niederdorf, the heart of Zurich's traditional pub and restaurant scene.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RogerZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renens
Level Contributor
89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great home made pasta and great choice of italian wines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

We had two different plates with home made pasta, spaghetti and papardelle, both had an excellent taste and were prepared as it should be (al dente). Toscano offers a wide choice of Italian wines all at affordable prices. Also the cheese platter was great, with 4 cheeses, each with their very specific character
The service is friendly and professional, the interior is luxurious and chique.
Recommended to all fans of Italian food

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vinylmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's a cosy atmosphere and the best pasta I know for a comfortable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

It's a cosy restaurant with an excellent cook for italian food, especially pasta. The service is friendly and the prices are comfortable - its very priceworthy. Cecilia and Eero Meili are running this and a second restaurant at Zürich West - a bit more formal, but similar food. Antonija is the young good soul among the service personnel, but in general you get a very obliging service.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante toscano also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Ristorante toscano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing