We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mr Sepp Wimmer is The Nr One Restaurant Owner in Switzerland”

Restaurant Zunfthaus zur Waag
Ranked #24 of 1,918 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $80
Cuisines: French, Swiss, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: A warm welcome to the Münsterhof (pedestrian zone) - a beautiful historic town square and the jewel of the Zurich city center. One great place to wine and dine and celebrate in the stylish atmosphere of the old city is the Zunfthaus zur Waag, directly facing the Fraumünster church with its famous Chagall windows. Discover an authentic piece of Zurich's history for yourself and take delight in our hospitality given to you in a house dating from 1315 and steeped in history
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mr Sepp Wimmer is The Nr One Restaurant Owner in Switzerland”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I went to "Zunfthaus Zur Waag" !!!! for a business dinner and all of us had a great time, even though most of the time we were talking about business. The service was great and efficient, food was amazing, the décor is cosy and welcoming. We were greeted by the owner of the restaurant , who was so hospitable and professional and made the entire dinner experience more enjoyable. I will definitely go back there again and would recommend it without doubt.

Please if you are in Zurich don't forget to visit ...you can be lucky and on your next table Warren Buffet eat or the CEO of NESTLE!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kostas1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    58
    22
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food in a historic house - but not breathtaking”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Our institute has a formal (award) dinner at the Zunfthaus zur Waag every year. A historic guilde house is of course a great backdrop for such an event, especially for international guests. When the event happened there in 2013, the Waag was packed full, they had big dinners going on in every room they had. They still managed quite well with the service. The food was good, but not breathtaking. I would say that guests who come from urban areas elsewhere and are used to high class international cuisine are probably slightly disappointed in terms of what is served at the Waag for such an award dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Renato Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Honest very good retraunt”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

You get exactly what you can expect from the restarunt in the city center in the old bulding. And even more - not only the typical local dishes, but also some auther`s creations. Very nice atmosfere and friendly staff! Will be glad to return, if occures!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vladislav r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
131 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“For Intimate Evenings in Old Town Zurich”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Anytime we are in Zurich we dine at this historic Guild house. The intimate second floor dining room (no more than 8 tables) creates a beautiful setting for the expertly prepared food and wonderful wine list. The Guild host Sepp Wimmer has described the staff's dedication to quality in the following way, "I am sticking with personal commitment and creativity, but also great joy." This attitude shines through in every aspect of the dining experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mbchalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good but expensive and charged for tap water!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Had a pleasant evening eating outside. The duo of melon soups was the highlight. Very expensive menu items so I was very disappointed to be charged for tap water (we did order wine in addition) and the waitress making a point of indicating where we should leave a tip was rather uncalled for.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jsy444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Zunfthaus zur Waag also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Restaurant Zunfthaus zur Waag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing