We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Stay Here Again!”
Review of Sorell Hotel Krone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sorell Hotel Krone
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Certificate of Excellence
amandamreid
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Would Stay Here Again!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Krone 5 years ago and were equally as pleased during our 2nd stay. We moved to Winterthur in August and stayed in the hotel a few days before we moved into our apartment. We were concerned about feeling homesick, so we wanted to stay somewhere familiar where we had a pleasant experience previously. Hotel Krone did not disappoint. It is in an excellent location: walking distance from the train station, located in Old Town, restaurants and shops right outside the door. Also, the staff is amazing! They are so nice and friendly and helpful... I cannot say enough nice things about them!! If you are looking for a clean and comfortable hotel run by a team of professionals willing to go out of their way to make you happy, Hotel Krone is the place for you :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandamreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPK49, Manager at Sorell Hotel Krone, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for your nice response.
Hope to have you back here soon.
We try to improve. But with such a historic house, it's not easy. But we go step by step.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    59
    27
    2
    4
See reviews for
13
44
16
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for the third time in six years as part of a party of 10 guests visiting Winterthur for the Oktoberfest.

The hotel manager was able to secure tickets for the event in advance for our party and his team of staff provided excellent customer service during our stay.

The hotel is well located in a pedestrianised area of Winterthur and close to the station. The facilities and rooms are of a high standard and a stay is recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms face pedestrianised or courtyard areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonanza004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPK49, Manager at Sorell Hotel Krone, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for your nice comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel is located at a convenient location. It's close to the train station and center of town. The rooms were satisfactory, but slightly on the smaller side. There's no air-conditioning. The staff were pleasant and the hotel is located in a walking area so the noise levels were low.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssk78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPK49, Manager at Sorell Hotel Krone, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for your nice comment.
Hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We have stayed in the Krone on several visits and enjoyed its position and service. However we found this time that its German owners' austerity drive was having a negative effect. Certain areas were looking worn, and trained Swiss staff were being replaced by untrained Asian immigrants. We have sympathy for the latter but Nelly training was obviously inadequate. When we sadly passed this on to the manager, he was not in disagreement but told us of the constraints. It is still a convenient hotel but we cannot rate it as very good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johannes21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPK49, Manager at Sorell Hotel Krone, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for your nice comment.
We try to improve the Hotels hard ware. But with a historic building is not easy to get all the permissons quick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolle, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Friendly service, smiling staff, helpful, relaxed, pleasant. Atmosphere is excellent, after 2 hours I felt at home. What else is there to add?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthieu Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPK49, Manager at Sorell Hotel Krone, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for your nice comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

The Hotel Krone is a 5-minute walk from the train station and in the middle of the old town of Winterthur which has the biggest pedesterian area in Europe. Breakfast is included in the rate which was very good especially for a 3-star hotel. The rooms were basic and comfortable and our superior double was very light. The staff is friendly and helpful. As a guest of the hotel, you get a complimentary glass of wine at their bistro 'La Couronne' and a 10% discount on the price of your meal and drinks. They also have the 14 point Gault Millau gourmet Restaurant Pearl. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunshine1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPK49, Manager at Sorell Hotel Krone, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
It's always a pleasure to serve nice people.
Thanks for your nice comment.
Regards from Winterthur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Ont
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2009

We stayed at the Krone because it was central and near the train station. The staff were very helpful when we arrived early in getting a room for us. The room was reasonably large by European standards and quite modern.
The breakfast (included) was beyond the offerings at most 3 star hotels

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPK49, Manager at Sorell Hotel Krone, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winterthur hotels
0.2 mi away
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
#3 of 14 in Winterthur
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Wartmann am Bahnhof
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel Winterthur
Park Hotel Winterthur
#2 of 14 in Winterthur
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Banana City
Hotel Banana City
#6 of 14 in Winterthur
169 reviews
0.7 mi away
ibis Winterthur City
ibis Winterthur City
#5 of 14 in Winterthur
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Loge Winterthur
Hotel Loge Winterthur
#8 of 14 in Winterthur
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorell Hotel Krone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Krone

Property: Sorell Hotel Krone
Address: Marktgasse 49 | 8400 Winterthur, Winterthur 8400, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Winterthur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorell Hotel Krone 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine irresistible charm with exceptional service and an historic building with modern interior design - that's the Sorell Hotel Krone. It's logical: in the Krone, the guest is king. Whether in the cosy restaurant La Couronne or in the lobby bar, the Krone-Team makes every effort to look after the guests. 24-hour Reception, room service drinks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sorell Hotel Krone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing