We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Winterthur City
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Comfortable & Friendly”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Wasn't sure what to expect after just experiencing very poor service at the Ibis Budget Geneva Airport. I was very relieved to be greeted by a friendly staff member (think called Ariane?) who was very helpful. We had a room on the third floor which had all we needed-a TV, hairdryer & comfy bed! The shower was a decent size & it was all very clean & modern. It is not far from the town centre, train station & there are plenty of restaurants nearby. We couldn't have asked for more really & would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nesskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    164
    84
    15
    8
See reviews for
53
94
39
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brno
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Basic standard, but a great value for money. We chose Ibis because of its relatively good price in comparison to other hotels in Switzerland and we got what we paid for. The rooms are a good basic standard. The beds are perfectly comfortable. There was a great and big shower in our room. The room was small, but clean and quiet. The breakfast was basic - no warm food (e.g. sausages, scrambled eggs), but there was a good choice of bakery products, cheese, juice, fruits, jam etc. Staff friendly. Not a very good location. The one thing I did not like very much was the fact that our room was quite cold.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronika783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Hotels in Switzerland are generally pretty expensive. The Ibis in Winterthur is reasonably priced, so really value for your money. I was pleasantly surprised by the strong Wifi connection. Great. The room was clean and the bed was good. The staff were friendly and willing to help. A big disappointed was the breakfast. I had my breakfast a bit late around 9 am. There was hardly any bread, no orange juice and overall not good quality. The coffee machine was crap. Decent coffee should be served.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank APleijsier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Basic Ibis standard, the room is clean, bed and pillows are comfortable. The shower was surprisingly roomy, though the bathroom in a whole is just enough for one person. Wifi is free and good. Staff was pleasant. Parking capacity might be small if the hotel is mostly occupied but price for parking was very reasonable. The breakfast was okay, just a few cold items on offer, on the expensive side but it's Switzerland, I would definitely not take the breakfast next time. There is a McD and a small shopping mall right in front of hotel. Location is not right in the city but it is not far to go either.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunshine_penguin00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights.
This is a basic hotel. Rooms are fine. Clean and have what you need.
The beds are comfortable.
The bar service was OK.
Free WIFI is available in the room.
The hotel is about 15min walk from the train station.
The buffet breakfast was terrible.
Very poor choice and poor quality. Nothing hot on offer. Even though I paid extra for breakfast I skipped it the second day.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Chiurce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Like other Ibis hotels I have stayed in, this is clean, functional, with access to free wifi in room, a bar on site, and pleasant and helpful staff. This is not designed to be a luxury hotel, but it is clean, comfortable and provides all the necessary facilities for business travellers. The hotel is located in a quiet area of Winterthur, within reasonable walking distance of the train station (5-10 minute walk), and to nearby ZHAW (which I was visiting on my trip, about a 10-15 minute walk). I would be more than happy to stay here again on future trips, and would happily recommend it to anyone looking for reasonably priced accomodation for business travel in this area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Good rooms, excellent breakfast. Even for being in an expensive country like Switzerland, price is good. As every Ibis hotel, they offer great value . The area where it is located is nice, but unfortunately not close to the train station (like 10 minutes walking). There is a bus stop nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcsnCaracas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinna A, General Manager at ibis Winterthur City, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear jscnCARACAS,

Thank you for staying at the Ibis Winterthur and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We as well as other travelers certainly appreciate the time you invested in writing this review and providing us with very valuable feedback.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed the service provided and that you felt well.

We would love to be your host again for your next trip to Winterthur.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance.

Warmest regards,
Corinna Abel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winterthur hotels
0.0 mi away
ibis budget Winterthur
ibis budget Winterthur
#9 of 14 in Winterthur
282 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Banana City
Hotel Banana City
#6 of 14 in Winterthur
169 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Wartmann am Bahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
#3 of 14 in Winterthur
101 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Hotel Winterthur
Park Hotel Winterthur
#2 of 14 in Winterthur
231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sorell Hotel Krone
Sorell Hotel Krone
#5 of 14 in Winterthur
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Winterthur City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Winterthur City

Property: ibis Winterthur City
Address: Bruehlbergstrasse 7, Winterthur 8400, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Winterthur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Winterthur City 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The entirely non-smoking Ibis Winterthur City hotel is located in a business district, close to museums and only 5 min by car from Winterthur railway station. It has 88 air-conditioned rooms, including 2 adapted for guests with limited mobility. It has aSwiss Bistro restaurant, a terrace, a bar serving snacks 24 hours a day, and free outdoor parking. A meeting room may also be booked. Guests on business trips will appreciate our WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your ibis Winterthur City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing