We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice hotel and super friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Winterthur City
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Hue, Vietnam
2 reviews
“very nice hotel and super friendly staff”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I was in this hotel at the end of november with my wife and colleague. We are very pleased with staff and the facilities offered. Special reagards to the Management. Always smiling employees.The morning buffet offers variety of snack for everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for more daily access codes for wireless internet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    160
    83
    15
    8
See reviews for
51
93
39
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I've been spent 1 night in Ibis City Winterthur and I may feel satisfacted by it.
As many opinion were focusing on the very high price, it's Switzerland, all is expensive, as it is this hotel, 50Km away, in Germany, it'd cost more less one half.
About the hotel itself, the personnel was very keen but did not seem to be always well trained...but they tried to be helpful!
The room, again, I disagree on some opinions, the dimension of it for 1 or 2 people is enough, there is a (small) wardrobe, flat tv and a desk.
Bed was firm and confortable, as well as the pillows.
The shower was very big and efficient, there were amenities (the big bottle hanged at the wall) for shower and hand washing.
All was very clean.
Maybe i was lucky, my room was 203, ask for it as I read of many narrow and with no wardrobe.
If you like big breakfast, it was not one of the best, there are several kind of bread and fresh rolls, but just 2 kinds of salami and 2 of cheese, then cereals and jogurt, juice (I didn't understand if 100%) and warm drinks.
At all, positive staying, missing something to be perfect, but absolutely not bad.

Room Tip: Room 203 was very fine and on the back of the entrance, no noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b0b082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Yet another stay at an Ibis and I have to say that I start to like this chain. Why? Because it is so predictable and the value (understood as ratio of what I get to what I paid for it) is very good. But let's get back to this particular hotel: rooms were a typical Ibis affair, as were the beds and the bathroom. Everything was clean, all the amenities (TV, aircon, Internet) worked as expected. Breakfast was good enough, though the choice was rather limited. What I missed most was anything hot - even the boiled eggs must have been boiled the night before, because there were dead cold. Coffee: a machine made, 'standard' liquid sold under this noble but abused name everywhere, not only at Ibis, so I don't blame them.

Overall: while I wouldn't stay here with my wife on a romantic trip (then we wouldn't probably go to Winterthur anyway - nothing romantic about the place) it is very good for a short stay on a business trip. Unless, of course, your company can spoil you with Hiltons and Sheratons. :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saarbrücken
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the Ibis Budget in Winterthur for one night while travelling through Switzerland. While Switzerland is pretty expensive in general, Ibis is more expensive than elsewhere, too. We paid about 30€/person in a three-bed-room. We booked a room for 3 but there were only two blankets.
Staff was unfriendly as we asked for another blanket and three wifi-keys (free wifi included).
Rooms are typical Ibis/Etap style. Super simple but clean with a lot of plastic.
No place to come back to, but OK for a one-night stop on a road trip.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mwsb1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBISWINTERTHUR, Manager at ibis Winterthur City, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Mwsb1903, First, we would like to thank you to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Budget Winterthur City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
Please be assured that the whole team of the Ibis Budget Winterthur is always trying to provide the best service to our customers.
Please be also informed to write the next recommendation for ibis budget Winterthur on "Ibis Budget Winterthur`s tripadvisor-account". We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Sincerely
Kourosch Kangarlou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nazareth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We arrived to this hotel after a long day leaving the swiss Alps and sightseeing In Schaffhausen.
We were suopposed to stay in schaffhausen but all hotels were overbooked.
We arrived to this hotel and Assistant manager Mr.Samson infomed us the hotel was over booked and that he only has a room in IBIS Budget ( another hotel in other building)but the problem was we were travelling with anpther couple so we needed 2 rooms.
Samson was extremely nice and tried to help us by naming and calling other hotels but said that maybe he will have a cancealltion in an hour.
We left the hotel dissapointed and strated looking for another hotels with no luch and it's a big city!
We finally decided to go back to Ibis and were happily infomed by samson that there has been a cancellation and he handeled our check-in quickly and with a big smile:)
The service is above average considering it's a 2 star hotel.
We highly reccomend this hotel but it's all thanks to Mr.samson and his big smile and proffesional service:)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazmouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBISWINTERTHUR, Manager at ibis Winterthur City, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear kazmouz, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Winterthur City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team and Mr. Sampson APPIAH. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Kourosch Kangarlou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights on 16th August. Winterthur is a fab city and this hotel is only a 10 mins walk from town or 2 bus stops away. Lovely hotel bar and more than satisfactory continental breakfast. Room was small but had all amenities required and the whole hotel was spotless. Mcdonalds 1 minute away as well as a bank, garage and small shopping centre.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Wellettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBISWINTERTHUR, Manager at ibis Winterthur City, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear The_Wellettes, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Winterthur City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Kourosch Kangarlou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in July 2012. The room given to us in 3rd Floor did not have proper cooling. Even afer complaining no one bothered to come to the room and check this. (15 MINUTES gauranteed problem resolution is only on paper). As we were tired we slept in that uncomfortable room. The next day after returning back from the city tour, we complained to the front desk manager, instead of apologising he was rude. After waiting for an hour the manager came to our room and gave us another room in the 1st floor. They did not help in shifting the baggage, we had to do the shifting midnight on our own. The new room was also stinking, but we had lost all hopes by then. All in all a terrible experience.

Room Tip: Check the cooling of the rooms in the months of July and Aug.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller_Mum1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBISWINTERTHUR, Manager at ibis Winterthur City, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Winterthur City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kourosch Kangarlou
Direktor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Winterthur hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winterthur hotels
0.0 mi away
ibis budget Winterthur
ibis budget Winterthur
#7 of 14 in Winterthur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Wartmann am Bahnhof
0.9 mi away
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
#3 of 14 in Winterthur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Banana City
Hotel Banana City
#6 of 14 in Winterthur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Hotel Winterthur
Park Hotel Winterthur
#2 of 14 in Winterthur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sorell Hotel Krone
Sorell Hotel Krone
#5 of 14 in Winterthur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Winterthur City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Winterthur City

Property: ibis Winterthur City
Address: Bruehlbergstrasse 7, Winterthur 8400, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Winterthur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Winterthur City 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The entirely non-smoking Ibis Winterthur City hotel is located in a business district, close to museums and only 5 min by car from Winterthur railway station. It has 88 air-conditioned rooms, including 2 adapted for guests with limited mobility. It has aSwiss Bistro restaurant, a terrace, a bar serving snacks 24 hours a day, and free outdoor parking. A meeting room may also be booked. Guests on business trips will appreciate our WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your ibis Winterthur City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing