We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trip to Switzerland” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ibis Winterthur City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ibis Winterthur City
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Casaloldo
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Trip to Switzerland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

The hotel is well placed near the centre of Winterthur and a 20 minute drive from Zurich airport. Unfortunately the price is very high for the level of hotel and in addition you need to pay for the parking. The bar and restaurant are much nicer than you would normally expect in an Ibis and Wifi in the reception area is free of charge though unfortunately not in the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    155
    82
    15
    8
See reviews for
49
92
37
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bucuresti, romania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

typical hotel from IBIS, clean nice room. quiet area, plenty parking spaces in front, easy to find.

in the vicinity of Mc Donald, close to shopping areas. the rate we've payed was fair for Switzerland.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karina-alina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

Good value for money, room is on the smaller size as price would indicate, location is good (walking distance to shops). food is good
Will return again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripbugbc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

Other reviews are on the money: IBIS is consistent at least. Minimum size rooms - see the photos others have posted. But on the low end of the cost scale for Switzerland. Lobby WiFi was OK. Ice. What is it about getting some ice that freaks out the Swiss? A/C barely works (as other reviews say) - I was told there are Swiss rules that prohibit room temps below 22C, but our room was 26C at the coolest point. Pillows were rocks - one only per person - and asking for an extra? Thought I was asking for another ice cube! Took real work to find one spare! Good train connections, but about a 15-20 minute walk to the station. Again as others have said, a nice big convenience store/gas station (and a McDonalds) right next door. Restaurant looked very nice, but was closed for a private dinner the night we were there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

Te hotel is nice and well located. There is a supermarket just across the street and a MC Donalds and a Gas station with a little market just on the next door.
The staff are very nice, they have free WI FI only at the lobby.
BUT
1) The pillow is very hard
2 ) the air con on our room made a lot of noise. When we complain, we got a new room with even more noise, so we went back to the first one.
3) When you take shower all the bathroom gets wet .

Eventhen is a nice and good value place to stay

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tchuria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winterthur hotels
0.0 mi away
ibis budget Winterthur
ibis budget Winterthur
#7 of 14 in Winterthur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Wartmann am Bahnhof
1.0 mi away
Park Hotel Winterthur
Park Hotel Winterthur
#2 of 14 in Winterthur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sorell Hotel Krone
Sorell Hotel Krone
#6 of 14 in Winterthur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.9 mi away
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
#3 of 14 in Winterthur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Banana City
Hotel Banana City
#4 of 14 in Winterthur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Winterthur City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Winterthur City

Property: ibis Winterthur City
Address: Bruehlbergstrasse 7, Winterthur 8400, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Winterthur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Winterthur City 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The entirely non-smoking Ibis Winterthur City hotel is located in a business district, close to museums and only 5 min by car from Winterthur railway station. It has 88 air-conditioned rooms, including 2 adapted for guests with limited mobility. It has aSwiss Bistro restaurant, a terrace, a bar serving snacks 24 hours a day, and free outdoor parking. A meeting room may also be booked. Guests on business trips will appreciate our WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your ibis Winterthur City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing