We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location; good standard and good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Wartmann am Bahnhof
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient location; good standard and good staff”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I booked Hotel Wartmann for a change from my usual hotel in Winterthur - I'm glad I did. It is adjacent to the railway station and therefore convenient for me as I was arriving by train with a suitcase. 1-2 minutes' walk from platform to hotel. Check in took abut one minute and the gentleman was efficient, friendly and helpful. Room was a good size and had good quality furnishings. Despite my room being "Station side", I didn't notice any noise. In fact, one night I slept with the window open (for fresh air) and was not disturbed at all. So if you are worried being so close to the station, you needn't be. The breakfast buffet had a very wide choice of items: breads, meats, cheeses, cereals, hot items, hot and cold drinks and the breakfast room has a pleasant garden outlook. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    115
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
17
30
22
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
China
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is convenient for business traveller in Winterthur. It is also very convenient to travel to Zurich airport from the railway station which is only 2 minutes walk from the hotel. The room is clean and nice. The Argentinian steak house attached to the hotel served delicacy. The breakfast was nice too. The only drawback is the speed of free WIFI need improvement.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zili M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is nicely placed for the train station, but if your room is opposite, noise can be a problem. My room was particularly hot (no a/c) & this meant the window needed openinig. Cooled it off a little, but noise was then an issue. Room generally OK, but fairly basic. The same could be said about the breakfast. That said, the hotel is perfectly fine & the staff are very helpful in all respects. A fine place to stay when in Winterthur!

Room Tip: Don't choose one opposite the railway station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbomford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here on business. Friendly at reception. The hotel room was typically "German". Clean and nice. Complementary water and juice. There is free WIFI available. This hotel is directly opposite the train station which makes it easy to get to from the airport. There is a good Argentinian steak house attached to the hotel. Expensive but everything is in Switzerland.
Good central location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiurce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very good location 2 minutes away from the railway station. Pleasant service, our room was OK - nothing fancy but quite satisfactory - and very quiet at night. The breakfast in the garden was a treat. I wrote about one shortcoming and got a quick and courteous reply. I shall return.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room - the hotel was full and we had an "old" one, which meant enterin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacques P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Western Finland, Finland
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The service in the hotel was good and polite. Hotels location is perfect, because it's located just beside railwaystation - there is no need to take a taxi or carry luggages very much. What I really liked was the bed, which was really comfortable, the pillow and quilt were good quality!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randers, Denmark
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Hotel Wartmann is a perfect located hotel. I got one of the newly renovated rooms on top floor. I was big with a huge bed which I like. The room deco was fully okay for this type of hotel and the bathroom fully lived up to my expectations. The breakfast was good and had all what you need for a breakfast.
The Argentinian restaurant next door served a perfect steak and a great dessert.
If I ever come back to Winterthur I will stay at Hotel Wartmann.

Room Tip: I had a room towards the railway station. Still very quiet and with a good view. I think all rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjeld C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winterthur hotels
0.4 mi away
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
#3 of 14 in Winterthur
99 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Winterthur
Park Hotel Winterthur
#2 of 14 in Winterthur
229 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Winterthur City
ibis Winterthur City
#5 of 14 in Winterthur
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Banana City
Hotel Banana City
#6 of 14 in Winterthur
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sorell Hotel Krone
Sorell Hotel Krone
#4 of 14 in Winterthur
134 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis budget Winterthur
ibis budget Winterthur
#8 of 14 in Winterthur
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Wartmann am Bahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Wartmann am Bahnhof

Property: Best Western Hotel Wartmann am Bahnhof
Address: Rudolfstrasse 15, Winterthur 8400, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Winterthur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Wartmann am Bahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the BEST WESTERN Hotel Wartmann! Our modern business and city hotel is located in the very center of Winterthur, right at the railway station. The old town/shopping area is just two minutes away, Zurich Airport is reachable within 15 minutes and Zurich downtown in 19 minutes. All rooms are newly renovated and air-conditioned. The rooms offer superb sleeping comfort and are equipped with soundproof windows. Some rooms are facing our green courtyard. Explore the surrounding with our E-bikes which you can use free of charge. We are looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HRS, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Wartmann am Bahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wartmann Hotel Winterthur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing