We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going bananas with the noise from the traings...”
Review of Hotel Banana City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Banana City
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Vaasa, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Going bananas with the noise from the traings...”
Reviewed March 18, 2010

This hotel is a average hotel, neat and has kind personnel. The downside is that it is located close to the railway, which means that there is quite a lot of noise during night from the leaving and arriving trains. As the rooms do not have air condition, the only option was to have the window open at night in order to cool the room down.

Winterthur in general is a very nice city and definetly worth a visit!

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CamillaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    69
    46
    16
    13
See reviews for
18
18
9
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sealy, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

This is a great property! I have travelled to 100+ destinations and also worked in the service industry for 20+ years, so my expectations were very high. This hotel gave my colleagues and I impeccable customer service, clean & spacious rooms, good meals and always took care of our most basic needs.

Employee Spotlight (See photos too):

Michele: Front Desk Receptionist - Outstanding professional attitude, and always focused on the needs of the customer. She went out of her way to help when the dry cleaning vendor "padded" my laundry bill.
Diane: Front Desk Receptionist - A college intern with outstanding customer-relating skills. She was a wonderful young woman who made me feel more like a best friend than a customer. She is a valuable asset to the team, as she makes everyone feel important.
Denton: Bartender - A terrific personality, this Jamaican-born man was not just an efficient bartender, but also a terrific tour guide and friend, who always made you feel like a friend.
Sabrina: Bar Maid / Hostess - With a smile that will melt your heart, she is the reason customers will always return, as she is a truly warm and compassionate human being, who relates to customers on a compassionate level.

The hotel is located just a few blocks from the train station, so taxis are never needed. However, remember to ask for a room on the "non-track" side, as it can get a bit noisy at times. Rooms ranged from 120 - 150 CHF per night which is par for the course for this expensive country. I recommend this hotel to everyone, simply because the have the most important ingredient to excellence covered: outstanding customer service!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRTraveldawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

I have stayed here several times. It is the only hotel that we stay at when in Winterthur, because of the large room size (in the residenz part), and air conditioning! But be sure to stay in the residenz and not the standard rooms as I believe still that only the residenz rooms have air conditioning! The decor is a little sparce, my husband calls it minimalistic, but it has all the basic needs and like I said we absolutely love the size of the rooms!

The breakfast buffet is great with all the European breads, yoghurt, cereals, as well as "American" scrambled eggs and bacon!

A quick note if you are traveling in a wheelchair: This hotel is wonderful for those in wheelchairs! It it fully wheelchair accessible - big wheelchair room (and even the non wheelchair rooms are big), and fully equipped wheelchair bathroom, wide hallways - it's wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMrsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
padova
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

i am here 2 weeks per month and find it very convenient, clean and confortable.
it is very close to the station, great if you need to tavel around

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgpado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2007

Staff was very pleasant and helpful and the hotel was located very close to the train station for easy access with very pleasant gardens. The continental breakfast was okay. But.....................
There was no air conditioning and the windows opened up onto the train tracks. The shower curtain was too small for the shower. I only got one bath towel. The room safe did not work, even after I complained about it. The internet access was an extra 90.00 Francs per week. The room could have been cleaned better than it was.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of air conditioning & noise.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank linebender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Winterthur hotels

Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2006

The room was hot, since the air condition was very weak. They brought a small mobile AC unit, but this didn't help either. We had to open the window to get some breeze, but then we were exposed to the noisy trains that pass very nearby.

If you stay there, make sure that the AC works, and get a room at the front side of the hotel, since the rear is closed to the trains.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank gadror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 16, 2006

The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the train station and the city centre. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, what you would expect from a 4 star hotel. Breakfast is continental buffet. The hotel is located in a nice residential area, big house houses with beautiful garden. It is very pleasant to walk around the residential area.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winterthur hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel Winterthur
Park Hotel Winterthur
#2 of 14 in Winterthur
237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Wartmann am Bahnhof
0.9 mi away
ibis Winterthur City
ibis Winterthur City
#5 of 14 in Winterthur
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
#3 of 14 in Winterthur
111 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Winterthur
Hotel Ibis Budget Winterthur
#10 of 14 in Winterthur
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sorell Hotel Krone
Sorell Hotel Krone
#4 of 14 in Winterthur
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Banana City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Banana City

Property: Hotel Banana City
Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 8, Winterthur 8400, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Winterthur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Banana City 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winterthur's Friendly Business Hotel Hotel Banana City is a completely independent hotel under private ownership. It's part of SISKA Heuberger Holding AG's multifunctional services complex located in the centre of town, close to Winterthur's central train station. The building complex, more than 200m long, has such an intriguingly arched shape that locals have come to affectionately call it>, hence the hotel's name. What used to be an industrial site has been successfully converted into one of Winterthur's most beautiful hallmark buildings thanks to its modern glass facade. Successful and Popular The hotel is very much focused on the specific needs of business patrons. With 10 conference halls and meeting rooms, the banqueting hall and 101 guest rooms, it has all it takes for efficient congress organisation in a single place. Hotel Banana City is becoming an increasingly popular venue for congresses and meetings. Each year, the hotel played host to more than 52,000 guests, amongst them many conference and meeting participants or persons attending cultural events or private parties. Hotel Banana City (including all guest rooms and conference facilities) has been consistently built to give full access to persons in wheelchairs. Health and Relaxation On our premises, you will find Winterthur's largest fitness and spa centre (exercise machines, saunas, relaxation pool) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Banana City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Winterthur
Winterthur Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing