We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more”
Review of Hotel Banana City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Banana City
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I stayed at Banana City for one night when I was passing through Winterthur on Business. The location is excellent, only a few minutes walk from the train station. When I arrived the hotel looked very nice and modern on quite a large complex. Upon arrival the staff were helpful and polite. However I was disappointed with my room considering the price and star rating of the hotel. The size wasn't bad and it was clean but the room was very dated and not particularly a nice place to be after a long day of travel. I've stayed in two star hotels in Germany that had the same feel.

I've seen from other reviews that the hotel is under renovation so perhaps I was just unlucky and had an older room. Also I didn't really get bothered too much by the noise of the trains.

Room Tip: Try and get a renovated room, if you get put in an older one definitely request a change.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 184 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is the third time I have been booked into this hotel. This time it was for a conference. The check in staff on reception were as accommodating and friendly as ever. The refurbishment had moved on well since my last visit with all the corridors looking totally refreshed. The room was a good size with a very clean and well stocked en-suite.The breakfast was superb as always with staff replenishing well before anything ran out. Unfortunately in this hotel you cannot regulate the room temp. Overall the rooms are too warm even in winter and if you are facing the rail lines (there are 20) outside the rear of the hotel opening the windows is a non starter unless between the hours of 1.30am and 4.30am when the trains do not run. This may seem a minor point but to someone who cannot sleep if it is too warm it is a real issue. The "average " rating is purely down to this point. Would I stay here if I was paying for the stay? probably not. I would eat here but not stay.This rating is based on my personal perspective.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room on the front of the Hotel if you need to sleep with a window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XK150-wanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

First of all I have to say that I have stayed at this property many times and I do not have any complaint with regard to the rooms, food or service. But I have doubts about their claim that it is a 4 start property. It is a regular business class hotel. Clean rooms, simple breakfast and friendly and helpful reception staff. Wifi is complimentory and has decent speed. Bathroom has basic aminities and shower cubicle with a simple hower curtain. Room on the train track side will be OK during winter. During other times ask for a room with front view. The hotel has a massive car park area and so if you are driving down, this is the best place for you to stay

Room Tip: Except during winter time, try to get a room which ahs a view to the front of the hotel due to noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manoj90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I enjoyed my stay here at Banana City. Friendly service at the reception. View of the train tracks, and I don't know why other people are complaining about the noise, the trains weren't even that loud. Good sized family room, the bathroom was spacious and very clean. Comfortable beds = great quality sleep. There was a wide range of breakfast available. Just one little problem was the Wifi. Needed to get 3 different WiFi pass-codes since I had three electronic devices. Other than that, no complaints!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TangC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The name of this hotel definitely caught my attention. Someone else made the hotel reservation for me and when I saw the name of the hotel I wondered what type of place would have a name like Banana city hotel. It turns out that it is just a regular 4 star business hotel close to the station. Apparently the name comes from the shape of the building.

The hotel was unremarkable. People at the desk were friendly and helpful, beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The room seemed a bit spartan and was directly next to the traintracks which meant you could not leave the window open due to the noise. The mini-bar had only a couple of bottles of water and there were no coffee and tea facilities. The bathroom was basic with a small shower with a shower curtain. Breakfast was ok, but unremarkable.

The hotel does provide free wifi access which I experienced as being fast and reliable. There is a large third party gym right next door in the same building which I did not use and I am not sure what the arrangements are with the hotel.

Overall, I felt the hotel was ok, but unremarkable and questionable whether it is really a four star hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the traintracks can be very noisy if you open your window so you may want to choose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I already wrote about the noise and lack of air conditioner in the rooms.
This time we can also add the fact that the rooms are not being cleaned properly.
Below few just couple of photos to describe what do I mean.

On the first photo we can see pigeon droppings.
On the other corners of the floor at the bathroom.

Ah, forgot to say, if you want to use hotel's fitness, it is just around the corner, in other building and will cost you ONLY extra 15 swiss francs.

3 stars hotel we said?

Room Tip: Avoid train rails side (and in general avoid this hotel until they will improve or downgrade themsel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights on business trip.
Hotel is fine but there is no air con. It was nearly 30 degrees in the room at night. Staff were friendly and helpful.
The rooms are standard enough. Free bottled water in the fridge was good.
Breakfast was pretty good. Nice choice of hot and cold food.
Ask for a room away from the rail tracks.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiurce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winterthur hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel Winterthur
Park Hotel Winterthur
#3 of 14 in Winterthur
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
#2 of 14 in Winterthur
143 reviews
0.9 mi away
ibis Winterthur City
ibis Winterthur City
#5 of 14 in Winterthur
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sorell Hotel Krone
Sorell Hotel Krone
#4 of 14 in Winterthur
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Wartmann am Bahnhof
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Winterthur
Hotel Ibis Budget Winterthur
#8 of 14 in Winterthur
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Banana City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Banana City

Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 8, Winterthur 8400, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Winterthur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Price Range: $180 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Banana City 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winterthur's Friendly Business Hotel Hotel Banana City is a completely independent hotel under private ownership. It's part of SISKA Heuberger Holding AG's multifunctional services complex located in the centre of town, close to Winterthur's central train station. The building complex, more than 200m long, has such an intriguingly arched shape that locals have come to affectionately call it>, hence the hotel's name. What used to be an industrial site has been successfully converted into one of Winterthur's most beautiful hallmark buildings thanks to its modern glass facade. Successful and Popular The hotel is very much focused on the specific needs of business patrons. With 10 conference halls and meeting rooms, the banqueting hall and 101 guest rooms, it has all it takes for efficient congress organisation in a single place. Hotel Banana City is becoming an increasingly popular venue for congresses and meetings. Each year, the hotel played host to more than 52,000 guests, amongst them many conference and meeting participants or persons attending cultural events or private parties. Hotel Banana City (including all guest rooms and conference facilities) has been consistently built to give full access to persons in wheelchairs. Health and Relaxation On our premises, you will find Winterthur's largest fitness and spa centre (exercise machines, saunas, relaxation pool) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Banana City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Winterthur
Winterthur Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing