We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for business travel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Banana City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Banana City
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good for business travel”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stay here on a regular basis as it is close to my office. The rooms are very bland, but I always sleep ok and the rooms are clean.Only 1 channel on the TV is in English (CNN) all the rest are in German, which I guess is to be expected. There is no free wifi in the rooms.
The hotel has a really good restaurant. I've had many dinners and the food is always exceptional as is the local wine. I do like the free drink voucher as they do a lovely prosecco. The staff are very friendly and the hotel is just a 10 minute walk away from the train station and it's only 15 minutes into Zurich.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the front of the building as the ones on the back look over the train line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel69inman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    66
    45
    14
    8
See reviews for
15
17
8
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night, and I have to agree with most of the reviews: the hotel is nice and clean, with quite large rooms. It is within walking distance from the train station which has a direct connection to the airport. I found the hotel to be, despites its name, a typical business hotel, which was rather expensive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Had meeting in the banana city office so taking the hotel was the best. The rooms are large and clean but the bad is not so comfortable. The location near the train station which is great. The restaurant and service are great.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaron_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

stayed there in Sept for business meeting. The location of the hotel is about 10 min walk up hill from the Winterthur train station. Its an easy walk with an overpass for pedestrians.

Hotel is connected to a sports gym. Rooms are large but rather bare, and I had one without aircon facing the railway track. Cannot hear the train with windows closed. Room came with a fan instead.
Pretty basic room, typical of europe hotel rooms. Stay was ok.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WYJ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Much much too hot in the room, even with the fan on. No air conditioning available. But if window was open the temperature was better but the noise of the trains made sleeping impossible!
Room was big, and clean so no complaints there. Bed was satisfactory, work area was practical and flat screen tv was a bonus. But there was no coffee/tea making facilities.
Breakfast buffet was excellent. But I would suggest to eat dinner elsewhere, it was edible, but not great, price and / or food wise.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the train tracks side!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Despite the strange name (the hotel is shaped like a banana) it is pretty standard. I liked the fact that it is next to a great workout facility. Hotel guests get a good discount. The parking was a bit confusing (underground), and you can walk to downtown Winterthur. It lacks in decor and style, but a decent place for a conference. There was some strange issue with the fire alarms going off one evening, and a fair amount of construction - I would suggest checking that you aren't in a noisy area.

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Service_Sommelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We (my husband and I) stayed here for one night. The room was a nice size, however it was quite warm as there was/is no air con.. The room was noisy due to the train lines below room window. There were no facilities in the room for tea or coffee. We had requested late check out as we were involved in the Winterthur marathon, there was no problem with this at the time of booking, however on returning to our room we were declined access! Reception staff did in turn correct this for us, although with both email and verbal confirmation one would expect this error not to occur. Room was clean. We would stay here again if we had no other choice of hotel in Winterthur.

Room Tip: Rooms away from train lines!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winterthur hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel Winterthur
Park Hotel Winterthur
#2 of 14 in Winterthur
215 reviews
0.9 mi away
ibis Winterthur City
ibis Winterthur City
#4 of 14 in Winterthur
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Wartmann am Bahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
#3 of 14 in Winterthur
81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sorell Hotel Krone
Sorell Hotel Krone
#6 of 14 in Winterthur
125 reviews
0.9 mi away
ibis budget Winterthur
ibis budget Winterthur
#7 of 14 in Winterthur
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Banana City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Banana City

Property: Hotel Banana City
Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 8, Winterthur 8400, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Winterthur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Banana City 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winterthur's Friendly Business Hotel Hotel Banana City is a completely independent hotel under private ownership. It's part of SISKA Heuberger Holding AG's multifunctional services complex located in the centre of town, close to Winterthur's central train station. The building complex, more than 200m long, has such an intriguingly arched shape that locals have come to affectionately call it <>, hence the hotel's name. What used to be an industrial site has been successfully converted into one of Winterthur's most beautiful hallmark buildings thanks to its modern glass facade. Successful and Popular The hotel is very much focused on the specific needs of business patrons. With 10 conference halls and meeting rooms, the banqueting hall and 101 guest rooms, it has all it takes for efficient congress organisation in a single place. Hotel Banana City is becoming an increasingly popular venue for congresses and meetings. Each year, the hotel played host to more than 52,000 guests, amongst them many conference and meeting participants or persons attending cultural events or private parties. Hotel Banana City (including all guest rooms and conference facilities) has been consistently built to give full access to persons in wheelchairs. Health and Relaxation On our premises, you will find Winterthur's largest fitness and spa centre (exercise machines, saunas, relaxation pool) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Banana City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Winterthur
Winterthur Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing