We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, comfortable rooms.... Service? What service?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Hotel Winterthur
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable rooms.... Service? What service?”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is a great hotel in the centre of Winterthur with a short walk to the trian station and a bus right outside the door, museums, theatre and old town literally on your door step. It also has a great restaurant with good breakfast overlooking beautiful gardens.

Where it falls short is the evening staff. I have stayed here on many occasions and it seems that the evening shift endsnup being the "grumpy shift" shame.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have better controle over heating/ cooling
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZOR-O16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phwin, Manager at Park Hotel Winterthur, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear guest. Thank you very much for your feedback. As your comment is concerning your stay in our house about one year ago, I am not able to find out, which person you could mean having been "grumpy". I would kindly ask you to give me more details about the situation or person to my direct e-mail address: martina.miciecki@phwin.ch. Thank you very much and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    90
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
29
42
22
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bat Yam, Israel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is one of the best hotels I ever stayed in. The hotel staff is professional and courteous and the breakfast they serve at the Bloom is fabulous. The rooms are spotless clean and the hotel is maintained at a very high level. The location is just great - Winterthur old city is just on the other side of the street with shops, restaurants and the music festival. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavis10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phwin, Manager at Park Hotel Winterthur, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear guest. Thank you very much for your feedback and recommendation. We really appreciate that. We hope to welcoming you back another day. Have a good time meanwhile. Best regards from Switzerland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Spent two nights' on a business trip. Great staff, very attentive and fluent in English. Very helpful for assistance with very early morning checkout. Great breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisILtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Park Hotel Winterthur, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear guest. Thank you very much for your nice feedback. We hope to welcome you back another time. Best regards from Winterthur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Been there for 3 night in April-2012.
The hotel is in high level, we were in a family room in Which we were with our 2 young kids.
Breakfast was excellent and the entire atmosphere was very pleasant.
Located just across the main places in Winterthur.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orenfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phwin, Manager at Park Hotel Winterthur, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear guest. We thank you very much for your positive feedback. We really appreciate and are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards from Switzerland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I had a 22 hour layover between the US and the mideast. I decided to spend the night in Winterthur rather than Zurich in order to see some of the art museums for which the city is famous. It is an easy connection from the airport to the city by train (from underneath the airport directly to the city center). However, it was snowing and cold when I arrived, and too short for a taxi ride (I asked) and too far to drag a rollerboard through the snowy streets. Had the weather been nice, this would have been a better choice.
I had a single room which was basic and on the ground floor. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was a little tight, but worked out.
I had a great, although expensive, meal at the restaurant which appears to be quite popular with the locals not just with the guests.
My glitch was arranging with the front desk the night before for a taxi to get me back to the train station in time to catch a train back to the airport to continue my journey. The front desk recommended cutting it fairly close (a train leaving 2 hrs 15 minutes before the flight), which became a problem the next morning when the taxi never showed and it was too late for me to walk and catch the train. I ended up taking a taxi all the way to the airport, which was expensive. However, I do very much appreciate all the efforts of the morning staff to find out what happened to the taxi, to suggest alternatives and to get a taxi to take me to the airport. Knowing myself, I should just have requested an early enough pick up time that if something happened, I would have a decent back up plan, even if that was just walking back to the station.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWm65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
85 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the last three weeks, on both occasions for business reasons. On both times the hotel fully lived up to expectations. Location for the town is excellent and as my wife joined me on the second occasion, she was able to find plenty to do locally. The hotel staff provide a very warm and hospitable welcome, the rooms are modern, comfortable and clean and the food - breakfast and dinner - is good value and quality.

Room Tip: Best to get a room overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Israel
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I stayed 3 night on a business trip. The hotel is 7 minutes fron the train station, one block from the pedestrian area. The hotel is clean, staff is friendly, rooms are comfortable, spacious, bathroom is clean and not small. Breakfast is reasonable (I am a vegeterian so all the meat is not relevant to me).
I would come again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bomal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winterthur hotels
0.2 mi away
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
#3 of 14 in Winterthur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Wartmann am Bahnhof
0.4 mi away
Hotel Banana City
Hotel Banana City
#6 of 14 in Winterthur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sorell Hotel Krone
Sorell Hotel Krone
#5 of 14 in Winterthur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.0 mi away
ibis Winterthur City
ibis Winterthur City
#4 of 14 in Winterthur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.0 mi away
ibis budget Winterthur
ibis budget Winterthur
#7 of 14 in Winterthur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Winterthur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Winterthur

Property: Park Hotel Winterthur
Address: Stadthausstrasse 4, Winterthur 8400, Switzerland (Formerly Garten Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Winterthur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Winterthur 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Park Hotel Winterthur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing