We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“complicated Wi-fi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Budget Winterthur
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The staff at the Hotel were very friendly and helpful. The worst part of the stay was working out how to use the very complicated Wi-fi system; also to change the password every 24 hours was rather extreme.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ibis Budget Winterthur
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 294 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here with my wife and had a great stay. Rooms are typical Ibis budget - small, very basic but very clean and comfortable. Town/train station is about a 15 minute walk, but there is a bus stop close to the hotel. Free WiFi worked well. There is a McDonalds next door and a Migros between the hotel and the train station. The only negative is this hotel seems to often host bus tours, which means that the elevator/lobby is a mess when they check in. And when they check in at late, there is an hour of door slamming while everyone gets into their room (slam), then leaves to go to McDonalds for a snack (slam) and then comes back (slam). Not bad, but can be a bit annoying when they check in late. Recommended because it is clean and modern and often under 100 francs and within walking distance of town/train station.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank CorvairTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthernPolyglot
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

What do you expect from a Ibis Budget (Former Etap) hotel?

A clean bed? Check
Air condition? Check
TV set? Check
Shower, easy to use? Check
Toilet? Check

Overall, clean floor.

Decent price (for Switzerland)

Location is quite good as well - 3 stations by bus to Winterthur main station. Nearby is a big supermarket (Coop) as well as a McDonalds, so no need for expensive restaurant inhouse (there is a restaurant in the "regular" Ibis next door)

You get what you pay for - that's all - but that's fine.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller201000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ETAPWINTERTHUR, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Ibis Budget Winterthur, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Guest

thank you very much for take your time to evaluate your stay in our hotel. You get all the points: we try every day to give everything the guests need to a fair price.
Your evaluation is going to help us to maintain and in the mean time to improve the quality of service and of the comforts.
We hope to see you an other one time

Best regards

Felice Casafina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musiczone
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Busan, South Korea
11
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I made a mistake. My departuer date is on19th Morning of Jan. so i had to book one room between 18/01/2012 and 19/01/2012. I asked to cancel the this internet booking and i paid offline price for one night staying between 18/01/2012 and 19/01/2012. Hotel employee will check it with his manager and they promise to inform me but not yet. Please kindly check ths situation. I paid 18th's stay with offline price so internet booking should be cancled because i didn't stay on 19th.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

The Etap hotel served us for the night before our departure from Zurich/Kloten (Switzerland) airport back to the US. The rate was very affordable, the room clean, and the location convenient. I made the reservation via e-mail and when we arrived in the afternoon, staff was organized and clear. We paid in cash. There was an option for an additional fee for a breakfast which we tried. It was a moderate price for a buffet that offered a typical Swiss selection (not US range of variety). I preferred it over what we would have found at the airport. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel for a very affordable short term stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4Paddy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ETAPWINTERTHUR, Manager at Hotel Ibis Budget Winterthur, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay. We are very glad to hear that you were satisfied of our services and products. We hope to welcome you soon again.
Kind Regards
Kourosch Kangarlou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterthur
0.0 mi away
ibis Winterthur City
ibis Winterthur City
#5 of 14 in Winterthur
316 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Wartmann am Bahnhof
8.0 mi away
ibis budget Zurich Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
#3 of 14 in Winterthur
121 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Hotel Winterthur
Park Hotel Winterthur
#2 of 14 in Winterthur
242 reviews
0.8 mi away
Albani Hotel
Albani Hotel
#11 of 14 in Winterthur
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Budget Winterthur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Budget Winterthur

Address: Bruehlbergstrasse 7A, Winterthur 8400, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Winterthur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Price Range: $80 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Ibis Budget Winterthur 1*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis budget Winterthur (former Etap Hotel) is an affordable non-smoking hotel in the business district, just 5 minutes' drive from the train station. It is close to the museums and city center which is home to one of Europe's largest pedestrianized areas. The hotel has 84 comfortable rooms with air conditioning, free WIFI, paid parking and a nearby restaurant. Whether visiting as a couple, with your family or as a group, enjoy an affordable midweek or weekend break in Winterthur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ibis Budget Winterthur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing