We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the vegatarian place in Winterthur”
Review of tibits

tibits
Ranked #7 of 249 Restaurants in Winterthur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: tibits bietet ein reichhaltiges Buffet mit uber 40 leckeren und saisonal wechselnden vegetarischen und veganen Salaten, heissen Gerichten, Suppen, Sandwiches und Desserts an. Frisch und hausgemacht - fur alle, die gerne geniessen.--------tibits offers up a rich buffet with over 40 tasty and seasonally changing vegetarian and vegan salads, hot dishes, soups, sandwiches and desserts. Fresh and homemade - for all who like good food.
Winterthur, Schweiz
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the vegatarian place in Winterthur”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

always full e.g. means delicious food - but don't worry, after a while you'll find some space.
same chain you'll find as well in Zurich.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruno J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    108
    24
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent vegetarian restaurant”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

A great restaurant in the heart of the old part of Winterthur with a massive selection on the self service buffet, hot and cold main course dishes and desserts. Wine rather pricey but that's Switzerland everywhere. Attractive decor and ample comfortable seating.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Averil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch and dinner!”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I have only been in Winterthur a month now, and Tibits is already one of my absolute favorite locations - in fact, my first meal after a 15 hour bus ride from Poland was here! I love it! The ambiance, the food, the buffet arrangement and the incredible variety of vege and vegan dishes - I absolutely adore it. The staff are always very friendly (which matters when your German is rusty - they all speak great English) and the place, even though it's always quite busy, has a very cosy, almost home-like feel to it. My favorite? Falafel! To all the staff - merci vielmal! <3

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Vegetarian's heaven”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Tibits is a chain of self-serve restaurants offering exclusively vegetarian food. The Winterthur branch is conveniently situated on the main shopping street. During the warmer times they have outdoor seating as well as ample seating space on the inside. The atmosphere is laid back, at least outside peak hours, supported by really nice music and a cosy interior. A great place to meet with friends.

The food is a vegetarian's dream, of course. The self-serving buffet offers a vast amount of different meals, both warm and cold, as well as yummy desserts. The price of your meal is according to the amount of food taken, which in my case means I normally end up spending quite a bit, because I love to sample all the different dishes, so my plate is piled.

They also offer food containers and carry bags in case you want to take your meal with you and eat it later, plus healthy fresh fruit drinks.

The staff I have encountered so far was always friendly and helpful. Not the cheapest restaurant in town, but definitely worth the money. We eat there regularly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ralf F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Better than Tibits Zürich”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I have visited a few times in the Tiits Zürich. It's me & my friend's first visit in Winterthur, we don't know Winterthur well, knew there's a Tibits, were just too lazy to search for other places after a long half-day.

Food were as good as the one in Zurich, still too many dishes with onions (allergic to onions).

I found the interior is nicer decorated than the one in Zürich, it's more comfortable.

The outside area is still on the street but its more open and not like the one in Zurich which is located at an intersection with always a lot of cars passing by (eating with dust & pollution + smokers around).

And their juice of the day! It was so green that it looked disgusting to drink but the girl at the cashier let me tried a small sip and it's actually fabulous!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NumberThirtyFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed tibits also viewed

Winterthur, Canton of Zurich
Winterthur, Canton of Zurich
 
Winterthur, Canton of Zurich
Winterthur, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to tibits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing