We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent place for a pint”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mr. Pickwick Pub

Mr. Pickwick Pub
Ranked #45 of 116 Restaurants in Zug
Price range: $10 - $31
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Decent place for a pint”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I have been here many many times. Good place for a pint after work with your friends or colleagues. The food is average. The odd bit about this place is there are a lot of pick-pockets.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank RoundFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    42
    30
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good for a Reality Check”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Pickwicks is a good example of an English Pub .. right down to smell of beer soaked carpets. It is also a great place to go for a reminder of all that I DON'T miss about the U.K.

That said the beer is not bad ... i am not a real Ale fan so don't miss that at all and the food is typical pub grub, all pretty tasty if a little greasy.

Price wise - well this is Switzerland ... but it is still on the cheap and cheerful side.

Service was welcoming, friendly and quick. Pickwicks is a good choice for a good night out watching sport over a few beers.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
165 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Pleasant pub”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Food was very good. Busy and popular with locals. Famous landmark in Zug close to the station ;-)

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Advisor1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt Main
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Pub - Fun Hangout”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

what do you expect in a pub - beer, some greasy food and atmosphere - all this can be had at the Pickwick, and much more. Having moved here about a year ago, Zug can be awfully quiet and provincial. At Pickwick it is mostly crowded and most people do not talk Swiss German (don't misunderstand me, I really like the Swiss but once in a while a break is called for). The beer is expensive, but whoever wants to live cheaply is wrong in Zug anyway, leave alone the low taxes that should afford the odd beer or two. The food is actually really good when Yogi the cook is in - he does great curry and other specials. The staff is friendly and makes this pub a fun hangout place that I would not have expected to find here.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FraTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Only if you have to”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I have been there is few times. It's a pub so it does what it says on the tin. The beer is terrible though, sometimes I find myself pining for an Ale or Bitters, but it tastes somewhat rancid here. It's thin and fizzy, cold, pricey and generally unappealing.

The food is pub grub. I had the fish and chips which was reasonably well done but the piece of fish was shockingly small. It was more like a large goujon. It can't have been more than 120g. Really, three or four bites and it was gone.

The service is friendly and swift.

I won't hurry back but I know where it is in case I'm starving and nothing else will do. It's a pity as this town is gagging for a good, honest lunch.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swiss_gooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Pickwick Pub also viewed

 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Mr. Pickwick Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing