We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Lowen am See Zug
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Zug
Reviewed January 31, 2014

While I would normally give this hotel a strong 4, it was the excellent service that makes me believe it's a 5. The rooms were very clean, with comfortable beds, fast wifi (not always a guarantee in many hotels), a Nespsso machine, and a very nice breakfast. The difference to me, and why we will certainly return, was the service. The front desk employees were excellent. We were traveling with a baby, and they went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed, including even giving us a bigger room on arrival, and also a later check out, all done with a smile. In addition, even for a small city like Zug, the hotel was ideally placed! Definitely recommended.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank BRonVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 169 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

The Hotel Lowen am See is in a lovely building right on the lake in Zug and overlooking a pretty square. The location in the heart of the old town is charming and ideal. That said, I'd call it a basic business hotel and not much more.

The staff (and owners, who I think were on site) were very nice and very helpful. While the room was extremely clean and well-maintained, the decor was a weird mix of a few modern pieces and fabric prints straight out of the 1980s (even though the materials were newer). I can't speak for all rooms but this one was also tiny, with not much more than a single bed and a desk. The bathroom was modern but there was hardly room to turn around in it and the shower stall was so small that when I dropped my shampoo, I had to open the door in order to be able to pick it up (and I'm a very normal sized person). The breakfast was good with a wide variety of foods from which to choose. The number of people in suits at breakfast told me that this must be commonly used as a business hotel.

Basically, it's clean and well located but isn't going to impress anyone in terms of atmosphere. Don't hesitate to stay but don't look for any luxury here other than the location on the lake.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYC304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I have currently been in Zug for the last two weeks for work and stayed at the Hotel Lowen. It has literally been my home away from home. I have traveled all around the world and stayed in many nice hotels, but the service here is just unmatchable! The hotel is quaint and in a great location right by the lake in the old part of town. The rooms are okay, nothing fancy, but the staff has been absolutely lovely and have made my stay here wonderful! Thank you so much!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The hotel itself does not have anything which you can be extremely excited about, this is just a "hotel". However it's location with proximity to major business and leisure attractions around Zug makes it a nice place for both relaxation during business trips and short getaways.
for sure the location of the hotel is a major driver for the rooms being above 200 Swiss Francs per night, however this is quite common for the area. You can enjoy the same quality at slightly distant locations for 50..70 SFR less... If you want.
The rooms are very generic and offer just on the edge what you need as a business traveller, but I assume that those arrived for leisure will be slightly upset with the absence of "schic". Again, this is just a hotel, although perfect (perfect!) for business trips. However you also get the quality and reliability of swiss hospitality, which in tough business situations can be a winning benefit.
There is a nice walking experience from Zug train station along the coast of Zugersee and also there are a lot of nice restaurants around. Ironing boards are on request only.

Room Tip: All rooms are generally okay, but do not expect the extreme luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turist00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Situated on the edge of the lake, this hotel is well located for local bars and restaurants. Whilst slightly pricey offers good, comfortable accommodation with an exemplary level of efficiency and cleanliness. No on site restaurant though there is one adjoining (Domus) which is excellent. Breakfast is on the first floor which is very good..

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowersrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

A very nice hotel in a perfect location. we booked this hotel just for one night while in transit to Italy. Next time we will definitely spend more time here. The room was comfortable, the views great and the service friendly. Lots of good restaurant adjacent to the hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank pmlJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed for three nights attending a conference and had a lake view room with chairs and a nice bathroom. Not huge by American standards, but big enough by British! The beds were very comfy and the hotel reception staff were very friendly, and there are toblerones on the counter. The lift was small but efficient with luggage, and although we had a view of the lake maybe we should have splashed out for a balcony as we saw some had them. The square can get noisy at night but there is air con if it's hot, and wind down blinds. It was nice to wake up on Saturday and find a little market had appeared in the square. The cake shop next to the hotel does takeaway coffee too. If you go to the gift shop next to the lovely clock tower, the shopkeeper will give you the keys to walk to the top. Worth doing on a nice day as it's a steep walk. Breakfasts at the hotel were very efficient. Lovely fruit and pastries, and the BEST coffee with hot milk I have had in ages. Loved the short stay in Zug.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank BoldlyGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zug
0.1 mi away
City-Hotel Ochsen Zug
0.8 mi away
Hotel Zugertor
Hotel Zugertor
#1 of 8 in Zug
170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parkhotel Zug
Parkhotel Zug
#3 of 8 in Zug
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
City Garden Hotel
2.0 mi away
ibis Baar Zug
ibis Baar Zug
#1 of 1 in Baar
304 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Swisshotel Zug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lowen am See Zug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lowen am See Zug

Address: Landsgemeindeplatz 1 | 6300 Zug, Zug 6300, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zug > Zug
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Zug
Price Range: $244 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lowen am See Zug 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Hotel Löwen am See is situated in Zug's quiet historic center, on the shore of the beautiful lake Zug. 47 comfortable guests rooms with all modern amenities offer a breath-taking view of Zyt Tower, the historical district and the imposing Swiss Alps. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Lowen am See Zug reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing