We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple no fuss clean rooms”
Review of Hotel Zugertor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Zugertor
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Zug
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

One/two star hotel. Very basic room with attached shower. Pillow a bit too soft for my liking - and they only provide 1 pillow for a super single bed. Breakie is super basic. Room on first floor is a bit noisy. However staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CodyKow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 170 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

A nice tidy little hotel located in the north of the town 15-20 minutes walk from the lake side and less than 10 minutes from the station.
Staff very helpful, room clean but a bit basic.
The air conditioning in my room wasn't working so I was forced to keep a window open which meant I was disturbed by traffic noise throughout the night and building work opposite from 6:40 am.
Good wifi connection and plenty of UK TV channels available.
The hotel only serves breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

On the positive the bedroom was clean, the bathroom and shower good, the staff friendly and helpful and the breakfast good. Unfortunately the noise insulation between rooms is poor - the building is a concrete box with noise vibrating from other rooms and floors throughout the night making sleep difficult.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMDBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel is in a very good location. Good view from the windows. Comfortable and cosy. Very friendly staff, good facilities. The stay was really worth it. I am looking forward to visit Zug again very soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is the 2nd time I stay in this hotel and again it was everything OK. The Hotel is very quiet, with large bedrooms and bathroom. The continental breakfast included in the price is absolutely of 1st class. The position of the Hotel is not central, but it is at 10' walking from the Railway Station and the commercial Centre. The Lake and the Old Town is at 15' from the Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side streets are quieter, even if the main street noise is very low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank massimo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Extremely warm atmosphere. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful. There are a variety of rooms however all of them are comfortable, decently sized, bright and above all always clean. We stay here whenever we come to Zug and always have a great stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonaBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Over the past 5 years, I have stayed at the Zugertor over 20+ times. Each time I find the staff very friendly and helpful. There are a variety of rooms, so if you need additional space, inquire. The rooms are very clean. Internet access is good and the location is very convenient - only about 5 minutes walk from the train station. 10 minutes to old Zug, the charming historic area. Zug restaurants are also nearby for convenience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zug
0.9 mi away
City-Hotel Ochsen Zug
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lowen am See Zug
0.4 mi away
Parkhotel Zug
Parkhotel Zug
#3 of 8 in Zug
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
ibis Baar Zug
ibis Baar Zug
#1 of 1 in Baar
305 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Garden Hotel
1.6 mi away
Quality Swisshotel Zug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zugertor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zugertor

Address: Baarerstrasse 97 | 6300 Zug, Zug 6300, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zug > Zug
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Zug
Price Range: $171 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zugertor 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Zugertor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing