We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was ok”
Review of City Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
City Garden Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Zug
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Friends of mine stayed at the City Garden for an entire week. Rooms were very nice & clean, but for that price it can be expected.

What really was terrible to hear from them, is that they a) couldn't order room service nor b) have a byte to eat at the hotel on Sunday. They had to go to the partner hotel (Parkhotel) where the food was definitely below average.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vak0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for City Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 148 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

City Garden Hotel is a four stars modern hotel in good quiet location.

Positive:
- goold location (5-10 minutes walk from the train station and to the city centre the and lake's area)
- very clean
- interesting new design of this hotel and rooms
- partly-open bathroom (if you like it)
- comfortable bed
- helpfull staff
- Free Mac in the lobby

Negative
- limited range of brakfast
- higher price per room
- not free wi-fi
- modern design and partly open bathroom if you do not like it (personally I am fine with it)

I can recommend this hotel for its quality and location and I will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielJanecek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

what a lovely surprise to find such a modern and clean hotel. the styling of the rooms is very nice and unique. a comfortable bed, lovely bathroom and nice reception.
breakfast was also good. will go back for sure

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Lovely place in the heart of Zug but in a quiet location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saji S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Booked through my travel agent but couldn't check-in on first night due to a medical emergency which meant I was in the hospital. Wrote to the hotel 24 hours before my scheduled arrival to amend my booking but they charged my card for the full duration of stay citing that the booking was non-refundable. When pointed out by my travel agent that the booking terms state a 48 hours notice so legally they could only charge me for the first night, it took 3 days of convincing and endless phone calls/e-mails before they accepted their mistake and managed a refund. And I am a regular customer of this hotel having stayed at their apartments just in the last week and many weeks in 2011. Clearly they are either out to make money by hiding behind a cloak of bureaucracry or the reservation team is totally inept in understanding their own booking terms. I have cancelled the next three weeks that I was planning to stay here and have vowed never to return again.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank Globologus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Great location
nive big modern room
nich terasse out to the forest
gerat food at the Casino Restaurant
Fantastic long sleeper berakfast till to 2pm on sunday
Won't be the last time

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beatlaure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Staying here on business this week and next. It's a very modern looking hotel at the end of a road, a few streets away from the main railway station and bars.
All staff are lovely. Rooms are great and beds very comfy.
Breakfast and evening meals are of high standard.
If this place had a swimming pool \ sauna etc it would be perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Bentons_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zug
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Zug
Parkhotel Zug
#2 of 8 in Zug
216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zugertor
Hotel Zugertor
#1 of 8 in Zug
165 reviews
0.6 mi away
City-Hotel Ochsen Zug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lowen am See Zug
1.5 mi away
ibis Baar Zug
ibis Baar Zug
#1 of 1 in Baar
302 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Swisshotel Zug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Garden Hotel

Address: Metallstrasse 20 | 6300 Zug, Zug 6300, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zug > Zug
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Zug
Price Range: $268 - $507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Garden Hotel stands out because of its attractive design and the modern materials which are in total harmony with the green surroundings on the edge of the forest. A combination of contrasts that works impressively, both inside and out. The three-dimensional facade covered in chromium steel panels and the rhythmising corridors lend the City Garden Hotel a unique character. Inside, we have concentrated on warm materials such as wood but also on rough elements such as concrete. Colours are used subtly but deliberately. The City Garden Hotel, together with the City Apartments, is an ambitious showcase project and gem that will not just enhance the hotel landscape of Central Switzerland in terms of quantity but also in terms of quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing