We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch the blinds....”
Review of City Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
City Garden Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Zug
UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Watch the blinds....”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Like just about everywhere in Zug this is one expensive hotel at roughly CHF300/night. It isn't going to get any cheaper because its pretty much always full at least on Monday nights. Its my second visit and (when I can stop dwelling on the price) I quite like the modern trendy rooms with a couple of exceptions. Your key card operates an environmentally friendly system that resets itself each time you leave your room. It's chilly here but I prefer my room at 19'C rather than the default 22'C that the system resets to every time I leave it. I get the principle but this is just a waste of heat. Worse yet are the outside blinds (some rooms have curtains as well but not all). These tend to open when you leave the room (and occasionally at odd times during the night). Always worth checking in the morning before you turn on the light when you consider the open plan bathroom mentioned in other reviews. Breakfasts are good and if you're lucky enough to have stayed Sunday night they are free. Otherwise they are predictably expensive at CHF30. Overall it's the most modern, trendy choice to date in Zug. Doesn't necessarily mean its the best of course and for variety I'm going to try the other end of the scale next week at the two star station hotel. I'll let you know....

Room Tip: The lift is broken as I write this, if youre not good with stairs pick the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toby S.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    77
    21
    2
    4
See reviews for
2
15
6
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Outside the hotel is not very remarkablem however inside it is a strikingly interesting hotel. People may be divided on whether they like more modern sparse decor and I can love or hate it, this one I loved. The rooms are bare and spartan but they are superbly clean and the beds are wonderfully firm. The slightly bizarre open bathroom counter may not be for the sharing shy couple but I loved it travelling alone and would have found it fine if with my wife. The joining of the bathroom and bedroom spaces stopped the room from feeling too small as well. I note that I would not want to stay and work in the room. The downstairs bar and restaurant were very nice and the food and wine were superb, I had the deer entrecote and would recommend it. Overall a superb hotel I would have no trouble returning to.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YBOD98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

This hotel is very beautiful!
Very modern, disign!! We loved this hotel!!
The staff is kind, the room is amazing!! Transparent window separates the shower from the rest of the room!! Very nice!!
Everything very clean!! EXCEPT the glasses for water of the room... one was broken and the other was dirty. This is the kind of stuff you don't expect from an Hotel 4 stars wich charges more than 300 bucks per person, per night!!
Another thing is that to use the Wi-Fi, you have to pay 10.-ch!!! Wich is a bit unaceptable for an hotel so expesinve!! This same weekend I've been in a hotel 4 times cheaper wich the Wi-Fi was totally free!!! This kind of service is no long charged by the hotels nowadays!! Even at MacDonalds you have free Wi-Fi!!
Another thing is the parking of this hotel, it's not covered.
The breakfast was a bit limitated, few variety, but excelent quality.
But, this details aside, the hotel is the one of the bests I've been!!
We've been thare by a SmartBox. For this reason, our room was specially decorated with flowers... our dinner table as well... very romantic!!
I'd like to come back someday, even if you have to pay for Wi-Fi! I'll not use it, of course!
You can use the Imac from the Lobby... it's free!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I have stayed in most of the hotels within Zug, including the Park Hotel (sister hotel) and Hotel Lowen. It is a unique hotel and contemporary in its styling. The rooms are well sized and quiet. What differs in this hotel is its bathroom. The sink / mirror area is actually in the room not in a separate area or room. The mirror is double sided so you can get ready on the bed side or on the sink side. The shower is open to the bedroom. By open I mean that the shower door is glass and completely visible to the bedroom area. This hotel isn’t for the timid. I wouldn’t recommend it for families or friends who want to share a double. It does have a restaurant but I did not eat there. There is a bar area and patio for some evening cocktails. The prices are comparable to the area. The hotel offers WIFI for a one-time fee for the duration of the stay. It is located near the train station (approximately a 5 minute walk) making it convenient to commute to the rest of Switzerland if needed. It is also close to shopping centers and restaurants. If you can get over the openness of the room design, then you'll enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_NJ_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The rooms are unusual in this hotel, with a walk-in shower straight from the bedroom, and wash basin in a kind of breakfast bar arrangement.
I find the rooms very clean although possibly a little clinical (but that suits me!).
The restaurant is nice, small portions so what sounds like a heavy meal is actually just right. Lovely rustic breadsticks and olive oil before the meal!
Very good location, close to the station and centre of town.
Quiet rooms and very firm comfortable bed, I stay here frequently and sleep well every time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mumdad2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Rooms designed for the convenience of the cleaning personnel; why was warmth and welcome not in the specification? Better come single as there is only 1 chair installed per room.

The restaurant must have been forgotten in the Architect’s brief. Of course the lounge area may have been decommissioned to fill this function! Not only you are observed by all passers as you eat but the restaurant personnel were as sympathetic as ants, stifling any inclination to linger around.

The remaining lounge area consists of a handful of sofas, largely inadequate for a hotel this size.

The front desk personnel were cold and uninviting, helping the guests seemed not to be in their job description

On leaving you feel so pushed out and so very little about the place that there is no pleasure in paying the bill. Your only satisfaction is that you will never come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mart1llas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandersteg, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Perfect hotel.
Breakfast is absolutely brilliant.
Comfortable & spacious rooms.
Trendy and great fun

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank COKandersteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zug
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zugertor
Hotel Zugertor
#1 of 8 in Zug
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Zug
Parkhotel Zug
#2 of 8 in Zug
213 reviews
0.6 mi away
City-Hotel Ochsen Zug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lowen am See Zug
1.5 mi away
ibis Baar Zug
ibis Baar Zug
#1 of 1 in Baar
295 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Swisshotel Zug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Garden Hotel

Property: City Garden Hotel
Address: Metallstrasse 20 | 6300 Zug, Zug 6300, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zug > Zug
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Zug
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — City Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Garden Hotel stands out because of its attractive design and the modern materials which are in total harmony with the green surroundings on the edge of the forest. A combination of contrasts that works impressively, both inside and out. The three-dimensional facade covered in chromium steel panels and the rhythmising corridors lend the City Garden Hotel a unique character. Inside, we have concentrated on warm materials such as wood but also on rough elements such as concrete. Colours are used subtly but deliberately. The City Garden Hotel, together with the City Apartments, is an ambitious showcase project and gem that will not just enhance the hotel landscape of Central Switzerland in terms of quantity but also in terms of quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, HRS, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your City Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing