We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magic setting right on the lake”
Review of L'Ermitage - CLOSED

L'Ermitage
Price range: $92 - $185
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Nice, France
Level Contributor
104 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A magic setting right on the lake”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is one of our favourite restaurants in the Montreux region and the food never disappoints.
The setting has to be one of the best waterside positions anywhere in the world and the service is always professional and friendly, this is a place where you feel very relaxed and comfortable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    15
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lilyfield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lunch on verander 27Sept13”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Lovely warm day with equal welcome. Competent efficient staff. Al la Carte 58Sfr each entrée, a whopping 80 Sfr each for mains consisting of tasty small pieces lamb and some chickpeas and stuffed courgette flower (not haute cuisine!). Desserts satisfactory.
Al-in-all an enjoyable experience, and so it should be at 504.50Sfr including half- bottle Armigne, bottle Humagne Rouge and two glasses sweet petite arvine!

For what we were served including amuse bouche, bread and water, I think it was a little pricey, but the establishment is undoubtedly well run and sets a high standard barring the above.

Would I go again? Possibly, but look around first.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lilyfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A very special treat”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Visited this lovely restaurant and enjoyed the menu "Saveurs". Expensive but delicious with excellent service. The tuna bon bon which was part of the amuse bouche was outstanding and set the scene for a wonderful meal. The paella revisited was unique and delightful. I had mentioned that it was my husband's birthday when I made the booking and he was surprised with a dessert which was beautifully decorated with Happy Birthday and a candle. We had a lovely evening and enjoyed coffee and petits fours on the veranda - too full to finish!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unforgetable lunch”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I visited l'ermitage with persons who know the place and have been there many times. For me it was the first time and I left with the best impressions from the restaurant. For sure the prices are high, but it worths and also the portions are just fine, not minuscule not much. We had one of the proposed menus for the whole table. Everything arrived on time, the food was delicious and nicely presented and the service quite quick and efficient. The view from the restaurant is pleasant and outside of the noisy centre of Montreux. It is an oasis by the lake. If you don't mind spending a bit more then I absolutely recommend it.
Lunch for 4 with table menu=about 650 CHF

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill_R0me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect view, excellent service and great food”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Gourmet food at expected (Swiss) prices. The view and location are worth the extra $$$. Also a hit for wine lovers as they have an interesting selection of small vineries.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carolineZirakzadeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ermitage also viewed

Montreux, Canton of Vaud
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing