We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal in Montreux ”

Restaurant La Rouvenaz
Ranked #18 of 135 Restaurants in Montreux
Price range: $22 - $65
Cuisines: Deli, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: In the centre of Montreux, an ode to Italy. A cosmopolitan Trattoria Brasserie serving Italian specialties and seafood, right in the centre of Montreux overlooking the lake. Relaxed atmosphere and unique décor, with tasty traditional cuisine according to the seasons.
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

We love Italian food and this place was just the right mix of Swiss flare and Italian cuisine.

We started with a bottle of wine and some homemade Focaccia with olive oil and rosemary. We followed that by sharing a perfectly cooked fresh pasta with fresh tomatoes, mozzarella and spicey olive oil. Amazing. Our final dish was sea bass, cooked in the traditional salt method. Of course, molten chocolate cake with popcorn ice cream. Highly recommend this spot!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank MattP252
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 1,493 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2019 via mobile

In some places, you just feel well. This is one for me. We were a big group, 10+, and despite the chaos that it causes (ordering, remembering the orders, the change of hearts), staff remained patient with us. Facilitated a table in our own little corner and the interior is nice and cosy. All pre-dishes and main dishes were just great: the sea food pâte dishes, the pizza’s, the burrata’s: fantastic honest food, honest prices, decent portions and great taste. Wines were nice and also properly priced. We had a wonderful evening, had good food and a great time facilitated by a great restaurant.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank SwizerlandRoisinDubh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

Very friendly staff and great Italian food with lots to choose from.
Desserts are original and athmosphere is vibrant and warm.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Paula V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2019 via mobile

La Rouvenaz has 2 spots in this area, the proper restaurant was about 50m away from the lake and the outdoor one that they called Terrasse La Rouvenaz.
Perfect spot to enjoy beautiful view of Lake Geneva in a perfect weather..❤️

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank blenchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2019 via mobile

We haven't been in the LA ROUVENAZ for years but always kept it in good memories. The 18th March we got a guest and were looking for a restaurant which is open on Monday evenings - not an easy task in Switzerland :-) - since our initial choice was closed.

We ended up at La Rouvenaz without a reservation, but instead of sending us away or treating us denying, they welcomed us friendly and searched a table for us. We were seated in the small, fully covered wintergarden left the entry - and it was a really cuddy place - nicely warmed by multiple heat radiators.

If you would ever be searching for a romantic place to handover an engangement ring...have a look here!

The service was super friendly and accomodating without being intrusive. Just the perfect mix. The menue is not too extensive (beside plenty of pizza options), but just sized right to ensure all gets made fresh (including house made pasta) and you'll find something for everybodys flavor.

Beside international (mainly italien) wine, the wine card contains plenty of local wines from the Montreux region / La Cote, surprisingly in an above average quality but at a fair price level. We gave it a try and were highly satisfied with the recommended local white wine from Montreux.

The mixed antipasti starter was large enough to be shared by us three and the main courses (Risotto, Pasta, Pizza) were perfectly made, of great taste, size and served at the right temperature.

In a nutshell - there was nothing missing to become a great memory. Once I picked up the bill I got my last surprise. Since I already collected some experience the last 20 years I am living in Switzerland, that a nice experience can be sometimes linked with punitive charges... I was prepared to get charged accordingly for the great service, great food, nice location and being located in the city center of Montreux..... but imagine - nothing happened!

160 CHF for 3 persons, including 1 bootle of wine plus one glass extra each - once the bottle was depleted, 1l of mineral water, 1 large starter, 3 main courses and coffee to finish is fair priced for Switzerland.

I can ensure we will get back more frequent anw will do a reservation since even on a Monday te restaurant was completely full.

Hint : During the winter season there is an outside bar, offering all kind of fresh seafood like oysters, lobster etc. fresh from the French north atlantic coast. Have a look at the pictures uploaded by other guests to view the stunning seafood bar and platters.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank 481hmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Rouvenaz also viewed

 
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Restaurant La Rouvenaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.