We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Choice to Eat in Montreux”
Review of Montreux Jazz Cafe

Montreux Jazz Cafe
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 6/25
8:00 PM
Ranked #5 of 129 Restaurants in Montreux
Price range: $56 - $112
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: An especially laid-back slice of luxury, directly inspired by the atmosphere of the legendary music festival, and decorated with a plethora of Claude Nobs memorabilia. The generous cuisine, combined with a selection of the region's best wines and irresistibly-named aperitifs, make it the perfect venue to share an informal moment enveloped by that special festival feel. Pulsing to the jazz rhythms of the greatest concerts, immersed in surroundings filled with emotion - or indeed sitting at the Chef's table - the Montreux Jazz Cafe embodies the event's inimitable vibe as it reverberates out along the Riviera - and echoes endlessly across the planet, as it has done ever since 1967. Please, note that pets are not allowed at the Montreux Jazz Cafe.
Reviewed August 16, 2016

Connected to Funky Claude's Bar by a cut through, it lets you hear the jazz performers in there while you have your meal in a quieter setting. Inside and outside dining. Nice menu selections. My wife and I split a Caesar Salad with shrimp to start. Should have split the BB King burger as it is too big for a normal human being. Very nice sauce. Really restful atmosphere compared to some of the craziness going on outside during the Jazz Festival. Good selection of wines. Ask for a recommendation from the manager for a Swiss wine as they have some world class choices from just down the road that are not usually available outside Switzerland. Friendly staff. Really fills up after 7:30pm. Not cheap, but OK for Switzerland. Part of the Fairmont complex. One of the places on the "To Do" list in Montreux.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank gatorboyOrlando_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MarcDurso, Food and Beverage Manager at Montreux Jazz Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review on Montreux Jazz Café. I am delighted to hear that you spent such a wonderful evening with us and that you enjoyed the atmosphere, the team and the food. I have passed your comments onto the team who were delighted to have been a part of your experience. Hoping to welcome you back to Montreux again soon.

Kind Regards,
Marc d'Urso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 174 of 547 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2016

The interior is beautiful contemporary, the view to the street, and beyond to the lake, is delightful and the food is delicious, perfectly prepared and presented.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MarcDurso, Food and Beverage Manager at Montreux Jazz Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review on The Montreux Jazz Café. We are delighted that you appreciated the quirky interiors of the restaurant and that you also enjoyed the breath taking views and the food on offer. Hoping to welcome you back to montreux again soon.

Kind Regards,
Marc d'Urso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile

We dine here during jazz festival, just before attending a concert. Restaurant was fully booked however the manager and the hostess found us a nice table, the food and the service were superb, special note on the steak tartare, stunning. Dishes are well presented and the jazzy mood is present at each corner of the room. Worth a visit when you are in Montreux.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MarcDurso, Food and Beverage Manager at Montreux Jazz Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with us and that you frequent our restaurant often during the jazz. I have passed your comments onto the staff at The Montreux Jazz Café who were delighted to have made your experience so memorable. Hoping to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Marc d'Urso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2016

A BB Burger and a Montreux Jazz Club Sandwich in an atmosphere of Jazz Festival music surrounded by pictures of great artists, a very nice even if expensive experience.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PanayoteDim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MarcDurso, Food and Beverage Manager at Montreux Jazz Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2016

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and you enjoyed the atmosphere of the Jazz festival. Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Marc d'Urso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2016 via mobile

It was quite and the host was polite and welcomed me in. I was not that hungry so I wanted something light. The waiter suggested the perfect dish keep me going for the afternoon.

Date of visit: July 2016
2  Thank Hassan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MarcDurso, Food and Beverage Manager at Montreux Jazz Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review on The Montreux Jazz Café. I am delighted to hear that our teams suggestions were able to keep you going. Hoping to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Marc d'Urso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montreux Jazz Cafe also viewed

 
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Montreux Jazz Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.