We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good discovery. We can only highly recommend it.”

Barrel Oak, The Irish Pub
Reserve with
Barrel Oak, The Irish Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 129 Restaurants in Montreux
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: European, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: At Barrel Oak we strive to create a fresh, contemporary culinary experience in a historic Irish atmosphere. We offer you a wide variety of foods from Irish pub fayre to classic European platters. The bar boasts an extensive whiskey list, with a full range of imported and domestic beers, wine and liquors. We are the Premier Sports Bar with HDTV's, big screen and virtually every major satellite/cable package available, and ready to accommodate any sports request you have. The staffs here are so friendly, yet at your service to cater to all your needs. Hoping that this places gets into your favourite list for business lunches or for just having a drink with friends at the end of the day, or just a stress buster for your week-ends. We welcome you to come over for a drink or spend some time enjoying daily Irish delicacies, seafood specialties & our famous burgers with your friends and colleagues or just simply by yourself... After all "There are no strangers here only friends we have yet to meet..." Just waiting to "experience life". Your special occasion and we will ensure it's a memorable one for life... Come join us for the best Irish beer, fresh food, friendly service and a perfect seating located just across the waterfront, sitting in the heart of Montreux.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We always passed, without stopping even if we noticed a very interresting menu of the day.
Last week, we finally decided to try.
And what a surprise !
A very warm welcome and attentive service.
Today was only our third visit and we were recognized and welcomed as regular customers. We felt at home.
A beautiful view overlooking the lake (you are on the first floor), without the drawbacks of noise and pollution which the terraces roadside encounter.
The food is very good and fresh.
On my first visit I had a chicken burger, made with a supreme of chicken marinated in Cajun spices. The taste was really nice and it is served with french fries (not over cooked) and on the side a choice of mayonnaise and ketchup. For 14 francs it is a very good value and more plentiful, fresh and less fat than a fastfood chain.
On my second visit, i tryed the club sandwich. I should say i never had one of that quality in any hotel worldwide i stayed. Again, it was well served and not dry at all. Again for 14 francs it is also a very good value for money.
Today, i took again the chicken burger. I just love it.
We have to try the menu of the day now ! See you soon folks for an other report.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank DominoVe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrel O, Public Relations Manager at Barrel Oak, The Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Hi DominoVe,

Thank you for taking time out to write a review for us. We are glad you liked the atmosphere and ambiance here at Barrel Oak. We would want you to keep visiting us and create more wonderful memories enjoying the Live Music, Liver Matches or even to play a Dart game. Come one Come all !

Regards,
Team Barrel Oak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 189 of 287 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed May 28, 2014

As native Irish people, the news of an Irish bar opening in Montreux came with great excitement to myself, family and colleagues. The Barrel Oak has more than exceeded our expectations - from the welcoming staff to the delectable menu. All efforts are made to ensure a great time is had by all.
I highly recommend this establishment, where ceol, ol and craic have become synonymous with the unique Irish ambience. A cead mile failte is a guarantee!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrel O, Public Relations Manager at Barrel Oak, The Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for taking time to write a review for us. We are glad we were able to bring you the Irish authenticity. We welcome you to visit us to enjoy your favorite games, live music or just to have delicious food. come one come all.. and create memories.

Regards,
Team Barrel Oak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Only place who served Fresh Tapas, mouth watering Burgers at a realisable price with a great view over looking the Lake. If you are interested in special Indian banquet can be arrange in advance with private section. I enjoy my favourite sport on big screen, the only place in Montreux.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank BipinS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrel O, Public Relations Manager at Barrel Oak, The Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Hi Bipin,

Thank you for taking time out to write a review for us. We are glad you enjoy the food here at Barrel Oak, We will be more keen to serve you your favorites. Also we do suggest you to conbine your food leisure along with live games and Music at Barrel Oak. I am sure the memories then created will be memorable.

Regards,
Team Barrel Oak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I visited the Barrel Oak yesterday night for the first time and I was really surprised in a positiv way. nice choice of beer and good food (i ate the Special Barrel Oak Burger). Nice music played by a local band. The service was ok (not bad but not really friendly, just average)

The only thing i missed in this Pub was a place to play Dart or Pool.

for sure I will come back to enjoy a few drinks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Mamu1630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrel O, Public Relations Manager at Barrel Oak, The Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for writing to us on Trip Advisor and providing us with your valued feedback. Apologies that you found the staff unfriendly we will groom our staff further, so that on your next visit you have a wonderful experience. And to give add to the missing quotient we are going to have a dart game set up shortly, so you can have more fun time with your friends. We welcome your suggestions on the path to improvement.

Regards,
Team Barrel Oak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We watched the Rugby whilst we their. They have lots of TVs so 4 games can be watched at a time! The staff where amazing so friendly. The food was also excellent and more importantly it was right next to our hotel.

1  Thank wendy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrel O, Public Relations Manager at Barrel Oak, The Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Hi Wendy,

Thank you for writing to us on Trip Advisor and providing us with your valued feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Montreux. Sports on HD TV are our forte, and we would like to know more of your experience here. Hence we would request you to provide us with any feedback you would have for us as we would like to make this place one of your favorite places, so that you can recommend it to others as well.

Regards,
Team Barrel Oak.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrel Oak, The Irish Pub also viewed

Montreux, Canton of Vaud
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
 
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
 
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Barrel Oak, The Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing