We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreams$146
Priceline$146
Agoda.com$146
Tripadvisor$146
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (605)
Filter reviews
605 results
Traveler rating
338
157
71
22
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
338
157
71
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station the ground floor small balcony chateau chillon lake view castle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 605 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2019

The hotel is in a great location of Montreaux. From the train station you walk about 100m then cross the street to look for an elevator that will ride you and your luggage down towards the street level of Grand-Rue. You'll walk for a about 50 meters and the hotel entrance is right there in between a restaurant and a cheese shop. The lobby or front desk is on the 3rd level so you need to ride the elevator up. It is an old building so the floors will squeak, no aircondition but they provide an electric fan. We were there in early June so the weather at night is not too warm which was fine. We open the window and we had a room facing the lake. There is an additional cost to get a room facing the lake but it is a bit noisy from the trucks and buses in the middle of the night or early morning. The room faces west so the sun is hard in the afternoon. The shower area is small so the shower curtain would normally stick to your body when you are inside. The bathroom is small even when we had a 3 bed room. The location is quite good, just across the hotel is the lake cruise boat. The bus also stop near the entrance of the hotel. The tourist info center is just diagonally across the entrance. There is a small mall which has some grocery and restaurants a few meters away. The breakfast is a bit limited but fine. The person on the front desk would greet you by name and would give advices on where to go during the day. The cleaning could be improved, they normally just fixed the bed and replace the towels but didn't really vacuumed or clean the floors well especially under the bed. It really is a 3 star or less of a hotel but the location is great.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bidaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2019

This hotel has a wonderful central lakeside position. The building dates back to 1904 and some areas of the hotel are in need of updating. The current owner is undergoing upgrading the hotel. That said our high ceiling room had been renovated with a first class bed and lovely new bathroom. We managed to soak up the late afternoon sun on our balcony sipping wine overlooking the lake and watching the world go by. The manager David is really friendly and helpful- he made us very welcome. We were only here for one night but would have been very happy to stay longer. I would thoroughly recommend a stay at this hotel as it is very good value and the character of the place is a refreshing change from the modern corporate style hotels.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2019

family-run Splendid hotel in Montreux was built in 1904 and offers panoramic views over Lake Geneva and free Wi-Fi in all the rooms The lakeside rooms have their own terrace or balcony. Hotel is run by owner Mr. David, nice gentleman. speak Italian and German. Rooms are small and bathroom also small. breakfast option is very limited. rooms dont have tea makers and dryer because of old heritage building. hotel has two entry from back side you can go to train stations. over all its good hotel.

Room tip: room no 250
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank krishnendu40
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2019

What a great little find this was.

Staying three nights in Montreux we were after something at a reasonable price with a bed for the night. Wasn’t necessarily bothered about lots of amenities (pool, bar and gym etc). Decided to opt for Splendid after a bit of TA research.

The hotel was actually very quiet during our stay and as such we were upgraded to a lake view room rather than the courtyard we had booked. A nice touch. The hotel is of quite an old style and one floor was undergoing renovation.

Pros
A. Very near the station. Five minutes walk.
B. Good lake front location
C. Bus stop right outside the door. Note guests in Montreux hotels get a free bus pass for local buses during their stay. Very handy
D. Pleasant and very helpful staff (particularly David)
E. Nice continental breakfast.
F. Large bedroom. Very comfortable electric bed
G. Lake view rooms have a fabulous view.

Cons
A. Bathroom is quite compact. Decent shower though.
B. No in-room safe (only a small issue really)
C. Décor/furniture a little old style but more than functional.
D. A shisha cafe sits immediately to the left of the entrance to the hotel. No issue on two of our nights but on the Friday, it was very busy until the early hours. Noise may be an issue at times if the window is open. But well sound proofed if the balcony door is kept shut.

For our needs the hotel was perfect in terms of service, location and comfort. Gave us all we required without a ridiculous price.

Room tip: Stunning lake views, from front rooms. Need to offset the potential noise thought from street and café below.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank A380ManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018 via mobile

Steps away from the elevator that goes to the train station and across the Grand Rue from the Lake Geneva promenade, this hotel is dead center in Montreux. The Freddie Mercury statue is practically across the street and the Chateau de Chillon is a beautiful 45 minute walk away. While it’s an older building, it’s well kept. Everyone, especially M. Marzio, who helped me with our reservations is very friendly and welcoming. Great breakfast too! And loved the psychedelic showerheads!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank T1296LFkarenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews