We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$147
eDreams$147
Agoda.com$147
Tripadvisor$147
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (605)
Filter reviews
605 results
Traveler rating
338
157
71
22
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
338
157
71
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station the ground floor small balcony chateau chillon lake view castle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 605 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2018

Hotel Splendid was the best hotel my wife an I stayed in during our one week trip in Switzerland. We stayed in two more cities but our stay in Montreux and at Splendid came out as the best. Breakfast was superb with very friendly Franca taking good care of us making delicious omelets per order. The view from the restaurant was great with lake Geneva and mountains around it clearly visible while enjoying high quality breakfast. You could even sit in the little balcony if you came in early in the morning for a nice outdoors breakfast with cool breeze from lake Geneva and beautiful view of the lake. One of the outstanding features of hotel Splendid was its friendly staff and especially Mr. Yvan the owner of Mayfair restaurant. He would greet us every evening as we got back to a cup of tea and would give us wealth of information about Montreux and Switzerland. His suggestions to visit places and very little known areas around town, as well as cultural information about Switzerland were priceless. He also gave us some very interesting facts about Hotel Splendid and how some historic icons spent time there. We truly enjoyed chatting with him and look forward to seeing him and the rest of the staff again. Lastly, for prospectus travelers who are looking for a good value hotel with access to most active parts of town and reasonable price with friendly staff and excellent breakfast: Splendid is true to its name!

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Reza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2018

"The good: Upon checkin, Yvan was very friendly. We needed to check out early (07.45am) the next day so would have missed breakfast. He went above and beyond to have the kitchen open early for us to eat before we left. The location is excellent with plenty of public parking nearby. The views of the lake are beautiful and our room was huge! They had the most comfortable adjustable beds. A true family run hotel which has been in the family for generations. Excellent customer service.

The bad: They could use a better variety of milk at breakfast, there was no soy or lowfat options. The meat and cheese platters were very plain but they did cook delicious eggs on request. No cutup fruit, only whole pieces. Also above a hookah bar which had some interesting patrons.

Room tip: Upgrade to the lake view! Mountains are spectacular.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Natianan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2018

The room had a fantastic view of the Montreux Promenade. The double room was a very good size for two adults and a child in a portable crib. The beds were electric and allowed to set positions, which was a very nice extra. Shower was modern and had fantastic water pressure. The staff was welcoming and inviting, and gave fantastic local recommendations. The location of the hotel cannot be beat, very walkable.

Room tip: Make sure to get a room that faces the water.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Splendid! The beds were very comfortable and the location was fantastic. We walked everywhere. David was so nice and helpful. We enjoyed breakfast in their pretty room overlooking the lake. Breads, jams, juice, coffee, fruit and eggs gave us a great start to the day. It was a great visit!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
4  Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2018 via mobile

Very pretty exterior and view, but we wouldn't stay here again. David who runs the place was awesome, but the room was lacking. Pillows are so thin. Walls were dusty and bathtub was stained. Hotel needs some renovations. Also, it's above a hookah bar so there's constantly people smoking. I imagine the noise and smells are worse during warmer months. Good location but that's about it.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank brigittemeehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews