We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My honest opinion” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“My honest opinion”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in June 2013, we got a lake facing room (704) the view is stunning. The room was clean, nice wood floors, but very very small, and the bathroom was tiny, SO tiny!

The hotel could be improved so easily at a small cost - No complimentary water bottles, and no tea and coffee facilities in the room!? Its a 4 star hotel, and the room cost is 300 Swiss francs (325 dollars) a night, also, there was no ironing board or iron! No slippers and only one bathrobe, even though 2 of us were staying.

Breakfast was ok, good location on the terrace, but food was boring, and expensive, 26 francs per person! Better off going downstairs outside to the coffee shop called les cafe linos!

The staff were not too friendly, and when we asked for them to send a postcard for us, it seemed the hardest thing in the world! So I just took it back and said I'd do it myself!

Overall an average hotel and services, but amazing view!

Room Tip: Try get highest floor, otherwise the bar outside will keep you awake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisatkinsonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    357
    113
    36
    24
See reviews for
171
417
43
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We fetched up in their restaurant on a rainswept desperately cold May day at lunch time. While not exactly smartly dressed we still needed somewhere to eat. The staff could not have been more welcoming. We sat at a table overlooking the lake as a hail storm broke. The sommelier recommended a delicious bottle of the local wine - highly recommended - and then our food arrived. It was a perfect melange of bourgeois and nouvelle cousine and truly scrumptious. So was the dessert. The service was exquisite. Don't be deterred from eating here by the fact that this is a well-known luxury hotel. We found it very good value for money and hugely enjoyed the views over the lake, even on a rotten day.

Rene Weis
London

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rweis2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Brilliant value for money whether on business, short stay touring or first time visit to the area. Over the past two years we have used this hotel as our home away from home when in Vaud, Switzerland and as most recently in two occasions in the past 6 weeks.

The location is most convenient being opposite the Montreux train station and close to all the special train journeys and services that are on offer (Glacial express, chocolate train etc) and very close to public car parking for European drivers. The hotel has a beautiful scenic view from all rooms lakeside and there main restaurant and bar.

Best points are : location, location and location; value for money; fantastic and for brilliant views; local transport free card (all local transport on buses and trains during your stay); free wifi for multi devices; quality of food and room service staff and service; wonderful comfort of beds and pillows (can request additional pillows from housekeeping), multi language news and tv services; well appointed desk and ability to work from your room and bath as well as shower bathrooms (need to request in booking or at reception) and overall ambience and features of the hotel. In addition daily multi language newspapers are available in reception area and this hotel is brilliant for the independent mature business traveller/s and offers in comparison to other local Montreux hotels value for money.

Areas that would do with improving: 1. Access to the property (stairs and a slight ramp prior to any lifts) when you have a number of suitcases or not as nimble on your feet, 2. Reception staff where English is not their first language and their service skills, 3. Service from younger Restaurant staff at breakfast and overall pro-activity of staff.

Room Tip: Lakeside with queen bed rooms and make sure that you request a rate that includes breakfast, and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferJennJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel is in excellent location if you arrive by train. Literally across the street from the station, so you won't walk more than 100 meters between train door and hotel entrance.
The hotel is, probably on purpose, kept in parts in early XX century deco. If you like it you will enjoy it.
I was not lucky and did not get the lake view room. But that I enjoyed from hotel-bar terasse. The elevator is as slow as the check out in the morning. The three receptionists + backup, could not cope with a handful of guests checking out at the same time. Other 4* hotels I was staying in worldwide work much more professinally. However again, maybe it's a part of the old style and last century ambience of the palce.
CHF 26 breakfast I did not have a pleasure (and time...) to try.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Beware booking this hotel. I booked 4 rooms for September and unfortunately had to cancel in early May. Even with 3 months notice for the peak season they refused to refund any of the room cost. Rather arrogant response and the impression given that they are "up themselves".

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank bobcCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Clean, efficient, tastefully updated. The rooms are good quality with nice views over the lake on request. The bar is cold and functional but the staff try hard. The concierge services exist - but they have to be demanded and the welcome on arrival is not good. The restaurant food is excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside room. Book without breakfast - the cafe by the hotel (connected) offers much bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel on many occasions in my time as a Continental Coach Tour Driver, the hotel is beautiful outside, as well as inside. On 3 occasions i was lucky enough to be given a lake view-which is totally wonderful, to have the sun beaming into your room as you prepare for the day is up-lifting, to say the least. The food is TOP CLASS!!...i have never ever thought otherwise!! The buffet breakfast display is a feast for the eyes-.....fresh bread....croissant, pan chocolate, fresh fruit salads, fresh cheeses, freshly sliced cold meats...salami etc, freshly squeezed orange juice, apple juice, pineapple juice......the choice is well presented and wonderful. You will not be dissapointed with your evening meal either-count on it!!! As a driver on Coach Tours, i was away most days at lunch time, so the staff insisted that i take some food with me for the day out-so to speak-that included wine and water, i drank the water!!! To be lucky enough to have a balcony several times was a great thing..... i used to sit on the balcony after i had finished driving for the day and before evening dinner, and drink a glass or 2 of the wine i had been given,(kept in the fridge onboard my coach), as i watched the paddle boats bring in and take away visits to the town.....people watching can be fun!! Even though i was lucky enough to stay free of charge in the hotel due to my work-i would have no hesitation at all to pay to stay at this wonderful old hotel......The views across the lake to France were fantastic....and please pay a visit to Chateaux de Chillon...(just down the lake a bit)!!....which is steeped in history and well worth a look-i promise!! The town is wonderful, but the surrounding areas are stupendous-take a look around, but if you go by coach-problem sorted-it is all done for you!!!!.....enjoy your stay at the hotel-i ALWAYS did. The long drive to get there made the arrival even more sweet to the eye...thank you, Hotel Suisse Majestic-i will return.

Room Tip: Ask at reception politely.......you might be lucky and get a Lake view room......so ask-no harm in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lumpy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.1 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eden Palace au Lac
Eden Palace au Lac
#12 of 17 in Montreux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#4 of 17 in Montreux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Grand Lac Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic

Property: Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
Address: avenue des Alpes 45, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montreux
#3 Business Hotel in Montreux
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montreux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic 4.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Suisse-Majestic **** superior was built in 1870 in a "Belle Epoque" style by Eugene Jost and was entirely renovated in 2010. It is located just in front of the railway station in the heart of Montreux. For a good rest and a relaxing moment, for a weekend or for your events, the Grand Hotel Suisse-Majestic is the ideal place. Montreux offers a wide panel of activities like a cruise on Geneva Lake where steam boats offer marvelous trips to admire the region. The Lavaux region has recently been declared World Heritage by the UNESCO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Fastbooking and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suisse Majestic Grand Montreux
Hotel Suisse Majestic Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing