We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a pleasure, never a chore!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure, never a chore!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel on many occasions in my time as a Continental Coach Tour Driver, the hotel is beautiful outside, as well as inside. On 3 occasions i was lucky enough to be given a lake view-which is totally wonderful, to have the sun beaming into your room as you prepare for the day is up-lifting, to say the least. The food is TOP CLASS!!...i have never ever thought otherwise!! The buffet breakfast display is a feast for the eyes-.....fresh bread....croissant, pan chocolate, fresh fruit salads, fresh cheeses, freshly sliced cold meats...salami etc, freshly squeezed orange juice, apple juice, pineapple juice......the choice is well presented and wonderful. You will not be dissapointed with your evening meal either-count on it!!! As a driver on Coach Tours, i was away most days at lunch time, so the staff insisted that i take some food with me for the day out-so to speak-that included wine and water, i drank the water!!! To be lucky enough to have a balcony several times was a great thing..... i used to sit on the balcony after i had finished driving for the day and before evening dinner, and drink a glass or 2 of the wine i had been given,(kept in the fridge onboard my coach), as i watched the paddle boats bring in and take away visits to the town.....people watching can be fun!! Even though i was lucky enough to stay free of charge in the hotel due to my work-i would have no hesitation at all to pay to stay at this wonderful old hotel......The views across the lake to France were fantastic....and please pay a visit to Chateaux de Chillon...(just down the lake a bit)!!....which is steeped in history and well worth a look-i promise!! The town is wonderful, but the surrounding areas are stupendous-take a look around, but if you go by coach-problem sorted-it is all done for you!!!!.....enjoy your stay at the hotel-i ALWAYS did. The long drive to get there made the arrival even more sweet to the eye...thank you, Hotel Suisse Majestic-i will return.

Room Tip: Ask at reception politely.......you might be lucky and get a Lake view room......so ask-no harm in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lumpy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    363
    115
    38
    24
See reviews for
174
423
44
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
londonderry
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed here with my husband and 3 young children December 2012 for 3 nights. We had a junior suite on the 2nd floor which was very comfortable and a fine size for our family. Large sofa bed for 2 of the children and crib for baby. The best thing about this hotel is the view of the alps and lake geneva from the balcony of our room and again the view when you are having breakfast is just spectacular. Breakfast was good for us as we like cooked and not just continental. Bacon, sausage, egg and the usual cereals, breads etc. The main reason we booked this hotel was for its location, train station on one side and the christmas market on the other side. Location couldnt have been more convenient for us and our room even overlooked the market stalls. We didnt really have any dealings with the staff as we ate out but for check-in etc i found them to be fine. The cleaning staff were excellent and every morning we would come back from breakfast to find our room spotless. Would love to come back to Montreuxs christmas market and stay in this hotel again if only to eat breakfast with that incredible view!

Room Tip: pay the extra for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonderryFlowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We enjoyed the Swisse Majestic in Montreux. After getting off train and 30 hours of travel it was a delight to my eyes and I was grateful that it was so close to the Montreux train station. Somehow once in the doors it far removed from the station. Check in was fast and efficient. Our rooms were very comfortable and the view of the lake was breathtaking. We stayed four nights just so we could acclaimate and get ourselves on Swiss time. The breakfast at the restaurant was very good and the view made it even better. The usual breakfast selections. Eggs, sausage, bacon, cereals, great fresh breads, fruits, yogurts. The restaurant for dinner was very good. The sole was excellent. Four of the 6 of us had the sole and enjoyed it. The servers were attentive and helpful with the wine selections. I think we would all be happy to return to Montreux and the Swisse Majestic.

Room Tip: Any room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleeenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Surely one of the best views from a hotel, anywhere. I didn't want to leave the room's balcony it was so stunning. And just over the road from the station which was perfect after a long journey. Lovely room, great service. Only criticism is the hugely overrated restaurant. Michelin rating for the view perhaps but not for the boring expensive food

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicholasSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over the May bank holiday and it was stunning. Literally across the road from Montreux railway station (which we never heard once whilst in the hotel). We booked a deluxe room with balcony overlooking Lake Geneva and it was spectacular with the view of the lake and the mountains in the background. The staff were very friendly, rooms were immaculate and the cleanliness of the hotel was extremely good.

The gym equipment was minimal but did have a running machine, bike, sauna, steam room and a couple of warm wooden type beds you lied on. The décor in the rooms was superb.

Our only and it was only issue was no tea and coffee facilities in the room - however, they did have a mini bar and a safe in the room.

An excellent hotel overall.

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony overlooking Lake Geneva are well worth paying that little bit extra for. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigersbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

6 of us stayed at this hotel for a 60th birthday celebration - fantastic location 100 yards from the station - we flew to Geneva and got the train to Montreux. Lovely rooms with balcony overlooking Lake Geneva and the rooms were very comfy (no tea or coffee facilities - when will they learn?!) Ideally situated for shops and restaurants - and being near the station was ideal for the Panoramic Train to Gstaad; also on the lake for the boat trip across. Ate out apart from the Saturday night when we donned posh frocks and hit the Restaurant 45. Exorbitant prices but as you can't take it with you we splashed out; £25 for a lobster tail starter was well worth it! However the service after this was terrible - we waited nearly an hour for the second course and with the cheapest wine at £30 a bottle we weren't prepared to drink too much of that. Our birthday girl's main was pasta on a sauce - which was cold - and when we complained we were told 'that is how it is supposed to be' Not good enough I'm afraid but as there wasn't a tip included that we couldn't pay..?! Not value for money at all but as it was a birthday do we weren't prepared to kick up a fuss. Breakfasts good but tiny coffee cups and not very attentive staff meant lots of waiting for refills

Room Tip: Overlooking the lake - we heard nothing from the train station but as it's so near I'm not s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v0dkalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The elevator is small and just stainless plain like a train station one. The room obviously was just remodled, white, new but small and a little cheap. To look details, you'll feel the material is a little cheap, such as plastic light tube above countertop in bathroom, no bathtub, not bounce back toilet button, strange noise from the bed, not functional light button...etc. They don't serve complementory water or even coffe & tea or hot water maker. Overall, a little dispointed after comparing with 4 star hotels in luzern and Lugano.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
0.1 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eden Palace au Lac
Eden Palace au Lac
#11 of 17 in Montreux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#4 of 17 in Montreux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Grand Lac Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic

Property: Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
Address: avenue des Alpes 45, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montreux
#3 Business Hotel in Montreux
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montreux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic 4.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Suisse-Majestic **** superior was built in 1870 in a "Belle Epoque" style by Eugene Jost and was entirely renovated in 2010. It is located just in front of the railway station in the heart of Montreux. For a good rest and a relaxing moment, for a weekend or for your events, the Grand Hotel Suisse-Majestic is the ideal place. Montreux offers a wide panel of activities like a cruise on Geneva Lake where steam boats offer marvelous trips to admire the region. The Lavaux region has recently been declared World Heritage by the UNESCO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suisse Majestic Grand Montreux
Hotel Suisse Majestic Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing