We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not Majestic at all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Certificate of Excellence
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“not Majestic at all”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

If you like to sleep in a moving bed, this is your hotel.
If you like to sleep in the toilet, because your bed moved, when you turned around at night, this is your hotel.
If you like to stay hungry and thirsty, again, this is your place.
If you like a lady from the bar to hang up the phone, when she previously screamed, that she does not serve tea in the room, then, again this is your hotel.
However, if you get very very very annoyed, and you had called room service, bar, 10 times each, and you decide to complain seriously, then after all the efforts, you will be regarded with cold tea, from the receptionist. (For which I thank the young boy, but one bird does not make a spring.) And in a normal 4 * hotel, this would never happen I believe?
At the end, I need to mention that there are some good things as details in design. Lovely curtains, lamps, and corridors.
Again to mention at the reception there is one very young boy and one girl, with long blond hair, who are very courteous, and try their best. However, then comes some kind of short-hair blond reception female, who destroys all done before with her unique rudeness.
I honestly advise any of you who value service quality, and his/her nerves not to spend their money on this hotel.

Room Tip: request a bed, without wheels. Or choose another hotel. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalenaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Directeur général at Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Galena G,

We are extremely sorry that you didn’t spend a good time at our hotel. As you have probably noticed through the many good comments that we have received on TripAdvisor, this is not the kind of quality of service that we usually deliver.

If there is anything we can do to make you change your mind regarding our hotel, please do not hesitate to contact myself or Mr. Eric Meier, Sales & Marketing Coordinator (e.meier@suisse-majestic.ch).

We stay at your disposal for any further information or request and we wish you a very nice end of the year.

With our best regards,

Andrés Oppenheim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    382
    121
    40
    26
See reviews for
191
447
47
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night. Very conveniently located just across the road from the train station yet it boasts breath taking view of the lake. Rooms are very well appointed although a tad small. The restaurant served excellent French cuisine at a reasonable price. My favorite hotel in Switzerland this trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MYEL76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibizamotters
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Really enjoyed my one night stay in this hotel, the rooms are beautiful if a little strangely designed - the door opened up onto the bed almost, although there was space to put the bed a bit further over.

The best bit about the room was most definitely the large, beautiful bathroom, really stylish, clean and crisp. The only critical point I could make on the bathroom is the toiletries. Having just stayed in a Sofitel with the same brand range of toiletries, this hotel is a man's hotel - plenty of soap, two shampoos, no conditioner and no body lotion! I had plenty of toiletries so it didn't bother me and I'm pretty sure they would have provided them if asked, so not a real negative.

Lovely clean wooden floor too, no carpet which is great for me.

The reception staff were helpful - I needed an adaptor and also a second internet code so I could use my iphone and ipad., no problem, very helpful.

I had breakfast and this was the only reason for 4 stars not 5. The breakfast was good but lacking in choice. Good for me as I had lots of fresh fruit and birchers cereal, but if you like a full cooked breakfast you may be disappointed. Coffee was bland but if you ask they will make a fresh ground coffee for you.

Overall a very nice hotel, certainly would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibizamotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Chose this hotel for location (close to station which it was!) views of lake and overall ambiance. A very warm efficient welcome, security very good with key needed to access floors in lift, chose a lake view with WiFi and this was perfect for us. Bathroom was excellent which is very important to women! Grand staircase so easy to go down steps each day. Didn't use mini bar but it would have been good to have welcome water, tea/coffee maker but we appreciate it is a business and there was a cafe next door and supermarche across the road so no problem. Beds were a bit hard which is only reason I wouldn't give a 5 star rating. Didn't use bar or restaurant as very pricey but along the promenade down on the main road are lots of options including 'Paradise' fresh buffet all day catering to coach tours if you want to have a reasonable price meal. Free tram travel card given on arrival for duration given - nice!

Room Tip: splurge on lake view - gorgeous and tranquil!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoPalmManagement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Checked in at the hotel on the 2nd November, and had a standard double room which was well decorated and with wooden floors, which just makes it so much more pleasant, also from a hygenic point of view. All the rooms at the hotel have recently been renovated.
The bathroom was not big, but well lighted which unfortunately you dont find in many hotels today.
Great breakfast in a restaurant which overlooks the lake, with also beautiful mountain scenery. I have seen numerous complains about the breakfast, but as a seasoned business traveller, I can state that the breakfast is perfect with also freshly squeezed orange juice.

Parking is easy as there is a public garage right in front of the hotel!

All in all, a great hotel for both business and leisure travellers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosillo, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Excellent old charming hotel. Located a few steps from Montreux Gare (train Station) and incredible views to the lake. Rooms are very clean and spacious, wooden floors and balcony. Personnel was very friendly and atentive and the price is right.
Breakfast included with a variety of dishes (bufet style)

Room Tip: Choose your room with lake view. A little more $$$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chamukin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a fairly impersonal hotel but in a lovely position overlooking the lake. It is worth paying the extra for a lake view with small balcony. Our room was not large but had very comfortable beds and a clean and modern bathroom. In the evening we had a small meal in the bar area which is rather too bright and the meal was average, the main restaurant is probably better.
The highlight for me was the fantastic breakfast you must try the muesli, I dream of it now! The hotel is very central and moments from the lake.
While in Montreaux take a train up the mountains in order to appreciate the views.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.1 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
#10 of 17 in Montreux
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eden Palace au Lac
Eden Palace au Lac
#12 of 17 in Montreux
663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#5 of 17 in Montreux
519 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Grand Lac Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic

Property: Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
Address: Avenue des Alpes 45, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montreux
#3 Business Hotel in Montreux
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montreux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic 4.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Suisse-Majestic **** superior was built in 1870 in a "Belle Epoque" style by Eugene Jost and was entirely renovated in 2010. It is located just in front of the railway station in the heart of Montreux. For a good rest and a relaxing moment, for a weekend or for your events, the Grand Hotel Suisse-Majestic is the ideal place. Montreux offers a wide panel of activities like a cruise on Geneva Lake where steam boats offer marvelous trips to admire the region. The Lavaux region has recently been declared World Heritage by the UNESCO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suisse Majestic Grand Montreux
Hotel Suisse Majestic Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing