We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a fairly impersonal hotel but in a lovely position overlooking the lake. It is worth paying the extra for a lake view with small balcony. Our room was not large but had very comfortable beds and a clean and modern bathroom. In the evening we had a small meal in the bar area which is rather too bright and the meal was average, the main restaurant is probably better.
The highlight for me was the fantastic breakfast you must try the muesli, I dream of it now! The hotel is very central and moments from the lake.
While in Montreaux take a train up the mountains in order to appreciate the views.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

594 - 600 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

Old style hotel with fully renovated interior.
Stayed in lake view room for two nights October 2012.
Large, clean room with modern bathroom providing all facilities.
Suggest it worth paying extra to experience magnificent balcony view over Lake Geneva.
Centrally located directly opposite train station.
Expect to pay a bit more than the average tourist hotel but that is fairly typical of Switzerland.
Food and drink prices relatively high.
Beds hard if you like soft mattress it may not be for you.
No hesitation in recommending

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnrPerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had not done much research on this hotel and did not realise there was no parking. However, we were advised to park in the train station car park which is about 30 meters down the road and fairly convenient. Room had a lake view and small balcony, enough for 2 people to sit outside. All. Other amenities in the room were good. The entrance to the hotel was a little odd, I expected an entrance also lakeside but there was none and we had to take the steps on side streets to get down lakeside. Also only a single check in/out desk so had to wait a bit. Found the area a little quiet in the evenings.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mivvy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed there a couple of times and was absolutly positively surprised about the way the refurbished the hotel (done in 2010)! Although I had a really small room (with lake view), the room was really well laud out, clean and pleasant to be in. Also the reception and lobby area has been refurbished and that also looks great now. Breakfast was good with very friendly and fast service. Good place to stay when visiting the area and greatly situated across the street from the train station main entrance and next to the lake. Needles to state that it is not the cheapest place but you get someting in return.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dud64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We only got to stay a night in this hotel but it was a wonderful stay from start to finish. The hotel is situated literally opposite the train station so is convenient for rail travellers. Our room had a southerly aspect with balcony overlooking Lac Leman and the dramatic Alps. The room was spotless, spacious and we were provided with everything we needed, including an umbrella, which luckily we didn't need. The bathroom was stocked with good quality products. There is no tea and coffee provided...but there are ways and means around this if you are a seasoned traveller and need your tea on tap...
The hotel staff were professional and welcoming and with our room cards we were also provided a travel discount card for local buses etc.
The lakeside is a short walk from the hotel and you can follow the lake to the east and west and makes for a beautiful stroll.
We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant. The restaurant is a good size and overlooks the lake with part of it a balcony area so you have a real connection with the beautiful surroundings. It just felt relaxed and elegant.The menu is pricey but the food was good and of course for those with a wallet full of euros - they only accept Swiss francs or a credit card, but not euros.
We were regularly topped up with gorgeous bread and olive oil and enjoyed the standard of food and pleasant ambiance.
Breakfast was good, nothing overly fancy but healthy and wholesome - continental and cooked, also table service for teas and coffee. It was a joy taking breakfast on the balcony with a view of the Alps. We really loved our stay at this hotel. It's spacious and elegant and we had a wonderful room where we could sit on our private balcony and watch the sun set over the lake.The only shame was we were on a one night pass-through. Wanted to stay longer!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarwickshireOwenA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I work as an event manager and chose this fantastic hotel as a venue for one of our events. It went so well that we have rebooked it for next year.

The hotel itself is gorgeous inside and out. It's located right across the street from the train station - therefore extremely convenient for our guests. The hotel event coordinator was extremely prompt, professional and knowledgeable.

As with most establishments in Montreux, a lot of the rooms overlook Lake Geneva - absolutely exquisite view!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lapetitelucette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel some years ago and was really surprised to discover a full renovated interior. Looks amazing (when you still have past picture in mind) I definitely recommend this hotel, not only for the qualities of the amenities but also for its perfect location ( right in front of the train station) and at 1min from the so pleasant lake side where you can have a nice walk until chateau de chillon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.1 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#4 of 17 in Montreux
804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eden Palace au Lac
Eden Palace au Lac
#12 of 17 in Montreux
693 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golf-Hotel Rene Capt
Golf-Hotel Rene Capt
#7 of 17 in Montreux
598 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Grand Lac Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic

Address: Avenue des Alpes 45, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montreux
#3 Business Hotel in Montreux
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montreux
Price Range: $187 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic 4.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Suisse-Majestic **** superior was built in 1870 in a "Belle Epoque" style by Eugene Jost and was entirely renovated in 2010. It is located just in front of the railway station in the heart of Montreux. For a good rest and a relaxing moment, for a weekend or for your events, the Grand Hotel Suisse-Majestic is the ideal place. Montreux offers a wide panel of activities like a cruise on Geneva Lake where steam boats offer marvelous trips to admire the region. The Lavaux region has recently been declared World Heritage by the UNESCO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suisse Majestic Grand Montreux
Hotel Suisse Majestic Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing