We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Byron, Shelley & co. couldn't have been wrong!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chateau de Chillon

Chateau de Chillon
Book In Advance
More Info
$224.09*
and up
Day Trip to Montreux, Chaplin's World Museum and Chillon Castle
Ranked #1 of 37 things to do in Montreux
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Paris, France
Level Contributor
164 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Well Byron, Shelley & co. couldn't have been wrong!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

A great castle visit. This well-preserved castle in a delightful setting by/on the lake must be one of the highlights of any visit to the lake Geneva area. You can easily spend an hour or two wandering from room to room and admiring the different viewpoints on the way. The free booklet is quite informative and I also appreciated the fact that some rooms had been restored whilst others were left with their original wall decoration - made an interesting comparison. I noted there had been a "horror" night recently - that must have been great fun! At dusk you can see the castle can be both serene on its lake or forbiddingly austere with its mountain backdrop.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank derekfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,956 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,995
    834
    115
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great castle experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time at the castle. We enjoyed learning about the history. Many of the exhibits were very informative. We especially enjoyed the temporary exhibit of the historical posters featuring the castle.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely way to spend the afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at Fairmont during our stay and decided to walk to the Chateau along the promenade. It was an absolutely lovely walk, much easier there than back due to distance. We took our time, plenty of breaks on benches.

When we arrived there were some tour groups, not overly crowded though. We really explored all over and the site is very accessible to experience and view. We enjoyed walking on the covered walkways that wrapped around the interior of the structure. The mountains, the lake, the flora...such a lovely backdrop. We were probably there an hour.

It was a lovely way to spend the afternoon and a must see when in town.

(We had not checked in yet so did not have the Montreux Card, but better to bring as discount on entrance, which is reasonable anyway).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmdubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
129 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Castle by the lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is one of the wonders of Switzerland and should not be missed, the entrance fee is not expensive, and you also have free WIFI near the entrance, I am not sure if the extra money for the automatic guide is worth it or not. Remember to walk a bit far to the pier to make some good photo opportunities !

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank FL360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Splendid fortress on the lake!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Chillon Castle is a beautifully preserved medieval fortress. The location is idyllic -- the Lake, the Alps, the awe-inspiring sunsets... Gorgeous! It is a perfect place for history lovers, photography buffs, wine enthusiasts (they make their own wine), and families, too! Take the time to tour the place, individually or in a group. They hold special events there from time to time, as well as temporary exhibitions. Right now (until May 2014), there is a very interesting one about Playmobil that will make many children happy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cecilevdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau de Chillon also viewed

Montreux, Canton of Vaud
 
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Chateau de Chillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing