We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing Xmas market what I have even visited!”

Mercato di Natale di Montreux (Montreux Noel)
Ranked #11 of 37 things to do in Montreux
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The most amazing Xmas market what I have even visited!”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Me and my boyfriend visited Montreux Noel market for several times. We always had amazing time. The atmosphare is full of Xmas, hot wine, punch, tea with some alcohol. I would say Montreux is not lovely only during Xmas time but also during summer. If you have time on the end of June/beg of July go and visit famous Montreux Jazz festival. I am sure you will love it! :)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 11Michelle02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    59
    16
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely Christmas market”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We caught a train from Geneva to Montreux and went to the Christmas market. It was great for having a relaxed look around and there plenty of gifts to look at. We enjoyed the hot wine and crepes! A short walk from the station, it is easy to find. The mountains make a beautiful backdrop. A very relaxing day out. Make sure you go on the big wheel for some excellent views of lake Geneva and the market. Well worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_Mc_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If you're around just simply stop by”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Amazing experience although we're not new to Xmas markets around Europe which are always nice, romantic and meaningful .
This one is much more than that and if you want really find out just go there and live the magic atmosphere, breath the sparkling air of Leman Lake under the snow, talk with people coming from every remote corner of the world, taste typical local food such as Tartiflette or Rosti drinking hot flavoured wine. Just one recommendation : do not waste your money and time by taking the train to go for visiting Saint Nicolaus village and house because it's costly and meaningless ! Even kids were disappointed and sad

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Spectacular ”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

The market is greatly organized. Everything is so festive! There are vendors selling Christmas accessories & toys as well as the ones serving traditional food & drinks! The atmosphere is so joyful!

Helpful?
1 Thank asyagrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worth a day trip - lots of pretty stalls”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were enticed by the Christmas Markets to visit Montreux for a weekend. In fact we could have seen the markets in one day but we still enjoyed it. We staying in the Grand Hotel Swiss Majestic which was perfectly situated so we could pop in and out. The market stall are along the lake front and it's a beautiful setting. With two children, it was definitely more pleasant in the daytime before the crowds arrived. The stalls were beautifully decorated and sold many beautiful items - glass, ceramics, woollens, soaps etc. There's a ferris wheel that gives a panoramic view of the lake and mountains. There was a great atmosphere at night but also the crowds and drinking made is more difficult to navigate with small children. We enjoyed the hot cider and crepes.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gingetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercato di Natale di Montreux (Montreux Noel) also viewed

Montreux, Canton of Vaud
 
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Mercato di Natale di Montreux (Montreux Noel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing