We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Lake View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Atlanta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Lake View”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

The lake view from our room in this hotel was beautiful but the hotel itself needs some updating. The carpet in our room was dirty and patched, black gunk came out of the shower drain, the tub/shower is very narrow with the 1/2 glass door and hand held shower. It was very hard not to get water all over the bathroom floor. The location of the hotel was great - right across the street from the lake. We were only here for 1 night so really did not get out to do much exploring.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravelAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    227
    159
    85
    41
See reviews for
110
317
28
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Estero, FL
Level Contributor
139 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

The best thing about this hotel was that it was situated on the lake and the view from the lobby and other common areas was stunning. We also found the location to be good as there is a bus stop right outside the door which will take you either to the castle or to Vevey. (Just make sure that you ask the front desk for the free bus card because we were not offered them until we asked.) Another positive was the continental breakfast buffet which for 15 francs was a good value. The coffee was good and the pastries were delicious.

On the negative side 80% of the staff that we came into contact with had an attitude of disinterest and were a little condescending which was surprising since the hotel wasn't that nice and was showing its age every where you looked. This hotel may be a lot of things, 5 stars, it is not.

Our room was a mountain view located in the front of the hotel and the street noise made it near impossible to sleep. (After we inquired about an upgrade at check in, we were offered a lake view room for ~$100 and should have taken it.) The decor in the room was nothing special but the bath tub ledge was very high and seemed a little dangerous getting into and out of. If you have mobility issues, you might want to see if they have an accessible room.

We ordered a hamburger from room service (which does not add a surcharge) and it was so bad that I refused to eat another hamburger for the entire trip. It was over-cooked and reminded me of a hockey puck. It was pretty disgusting.

Overall, this hotel is a 3.5 star hotel hiding in a 5 star hotel's building and I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a lakeview
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hopebh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreux hotels

Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
259 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

This clean hotel is on a wonderful site, right on Lake Geneva. From the lobby, the lake and the mountains on the French side are full frame and beautiful. On clear days, this is quite s site. Half of the rooms have this exact view and half have a view on the houses and rooftops up to Old Montreux. The hotel backs on to the walkway bordered by beautiful flower beds on a walking path to the core of Montreux.
Its location is average compared to most of the other hotels since it is a 5 to 10 minute walk to the center of town, the shops and array of restaurants.
As for rest, it has its good and bad parts. The outside of the hotel has cement sections which look dirty from dusty rain running down. The lobby is expansive with a reflective ceiling which it inviting and bright.
The elevators work well and lead you to corridors whose carpets have seen better days. The carpets on our floor seemed to lost color in spots due to bleach.
The rooms are very large by european standards and large by north american standards. The bed is covered by a duvet. Our was comfortable but consisted of double beds which can easily spread if you roll a little too far. The bathroom had dark blue ceramic on the walls and floor which was nice but made it dark. The lighting was adequate to allowyou to accomplish shaving or make-up easily. The shower had a half wall to keep water from spraying out and it did. Our bathroom had a permanent little puddle beside the bath. A bidet was available.
The closet space and safe were handy.
The shades were outside the windows and motorized. You had to press a switch at night to close them. That's fine as long as they work. Thy did nit on our last night of 3 and we were awakened by the morning earlier than we would have liked.
The front desk made reservations for us twice but forgot to confirm the second one to us. We had to ask them again but they nade the reservation so everything worked out.
The breakfast buffet staff were efficient and pleasant.
The rooms although very adequate have an older style to them, with pale wood trims as in 60's or 70's. It is not ugly, just not appealing and it seems a little bit dated.
Their laundry service was very good.
Our stay went fine but, if you do not expect much from this hotel, you will be happy. We did not try the spa or treatment, pool or gym facilities but they are all available.

Room Tip: Lake side is an obviously superior choice if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 432JamesD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel is all about location and the location is a 5 star. I would give the rooms a 3 star and service/restaurants/bar a 4 star. Agree with most of the reviews about views from the room. Breakfast buffet had ample choices and everything was fresh.

Room Tip: please please book a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yauvan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We took my Mum to this hotel for her 70th birthday. I requested a room with a lake view and the staff not only honoured this request they upgraded her room to a junior suite with a huge balcony and the most amazing view of the lake! It was beautiful and she loved it; they'd even put a 'happy birthday' message in her room with some chocolate. Not only that, the hotel upgraded me and my three sisters to lake-view rooms even though we had only paid for cheaper rooms for ourselves. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly throughout the hotel (reception, breakfast room and Sinatra's bar) and we felt very welcome. The breakfast was very generous, everything you could possibly want and more- fresh fruits, cooked food, cheeses, pastries, cereals etc. The spa area was peaceful and spotlessly clean with lots of clean towels and comfortable places to rest- very relaxing. On the whole i couldn't fault this hotel and would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are well worth paying that bit extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsRudlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights to celebrate my Mum's milestone birthday.
We had emailed ahead to state the reason for our trip and on arrival we were delighted to be told that her room had been upgraded to a junior suite and the other two rooms had been upgraded to a lake view.
We were all impressed with the facilities in the rooms which were large, spotlessly clean, well equipped ( I always appreciate slippers and a robe) and with a view to take your breath away.
Breakfast was plentiful - something for everyone!
After a full day of walking and sightseeing the pool, jacuzzi and steam room was very welcome and again we found this to be spotlessly clean.
Above all, I would like to praise the excellent service we experienced from ALL staff; those serving breakfast, the young man who made our cocktails in Sinatras bar, the housekeeping staff and the friendly and courteous young people on the reception desk who greeted us always with a smile and were incredibly helpful.
I intend to show my husband the delights of Montreux/ Vevey and I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Besancon, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We were a newly married couple when we booked and stayed at the hotel, looking for a weekend getaway in a nice hotel where we can relax in while soaking the sights. I didn't realise that I booked a hotel that was not facing the lake and so I asked the receptionist if he could upgrade us without any charge and at first he hesitated...it was not really his place to do so I suppose but seeing my disappointed face, he agreed! There we were, from the balcony, we could see the Alps, lake everything was magic. The room was surprisingly small for a standard room - and it really doesn't have the spirit of a 5 star hotel. Nevertheless, the service was excellent, the room was clean and the pool and jacuzzi was superb. Wouldnt hesitate to go back. We were happy when we left and very much relaxed so it was a successful trip.

Room Tip: Make sure you book the rooms that are facing the lake! So worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeeDk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.3 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eden Palace au Lac
Eden Palace au Lac
#11 of 17 in Montreux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel du Grand Lac Excelsior
0.5 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#4 of 17 in Montreux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux

Property: Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
Address: avenue Claude Nobs 7, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Fastbooking, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing