We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull view , good room size great breakfast !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Wonderfull view , good room size great breakfast !”
Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

Nature beauty what we call got from this hotel location . Wonderfull natural scenic view !!!! Great delicious breakfast !!!!! Great location . The size of the rooms is spacious especially with front lake view . Lot of space with good sitting arrangement . Staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hemanthjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreuxsuissehotels, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Guests,

We are delighted to hear your compliments.

We constantly try to do our best to satisfy our guests and our pleased to see your feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon to the hotel Royal Plaza Montreux & Spa.

We send you all the best from Montreux.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    236
    168
    92
    44
See reviews for
115
331
30
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for a weekend getaway end of March 2012, Other than the spectacular location of the hotel, everything else left something to be desired and room rates are stiff considering the general quality of the hotel. The spa was particularly a let-down....very small, the pool was not heated enough, the massage service was located quite far from the spa area. The hotel is in dire need of a total revamp....the bathroom in particular was terribly outdated. The bed was also uncomfortable as well as the hard cushions. Service was all right. We had a lake view junior suite which was quite spacious. The hotel does however have a very nice bar/lounge area on the lake side.....probably the nicest one on that whole stretch. It is well located with many good restaurants in walking reach. We would however not return as there was nothing memorable other than the pristine view.

Room Tip: lake view a definite must....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swisschilind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreuxsuissehotels, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear Sirs,

We thank you for your comments and for choosing Royal Plaza Montreux & Spa during your stay in Montreux .
We really appreciate your constructive feedback, and the satisfaction of all our guest is very important for us.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back with us again and in the meantime we remain at your entire disposal.

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

A lake view room here has spectacular views, and the hotel is next door to the Montreux Convention Centre. But the whole hotel needs a refurb it is out of date. The rooms are functional and have some nice features like block out shutters and retractable awnings. But the pillows are some of the most uncomfortable I have ever encountered.
There is a pool hidden away inside the spa, hard to find and small.
The service was pretty average all round.
I have stayed here twice, a year apart, and my experiences have been very consistent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel has excellent views of Lake Geneva (if you get a room on the lake side) Rooms are large and bright with a balcony.
The hotel is almost next door to the main exhibition/conference venue in Montreux the 2M2C. It is a 5 minute (or less) walk from your room to the conference hall and about 15 minutes walk into the center of Montreux. Harry's bar at the Fairmont is about 10 minutes away.
I didn't eat in the hotel so can not comment on the restaurants.

Room Tip: make sure you specify a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarfas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights while on business.

Hotel has a superb view of the lake from main lobby and I was fortunate to also have a semi lake view from room balcony. Room was clean and large, for 5 stars the interior in the room is in need of an update, but everything was functional just a little dated, and not what I would consider luxury.

One complaint was that my room was not made up on the first day, I think partly because my "please clean room" sign had fallen off and no one had bothered to check with me. This was rectified the following day however.

The walls were also a little thin, so be prepared for noise if you are unfortunate to have noisy neighbours.

Overall I would recommend.

Room Tip: even numbers = lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samdixey2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Good location next to the lake and some great views, but is let down by ageing interior and fairly poor service. For example, I was there for a 3 day conference and they couldn't lend me an iron once as they didn't have enough. They didn't offer any solution or alternatives.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are amazing, but slightly more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bairdini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreux hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This hotel professes to be 5 star but its really only 4 star. Nice people on front desk who were helpful sorting out a new room when my room was not ready for checkin. however i got a dud room next to service elevator (very noisy with staff coming in and out) and the cupboard door in the room was stuck closed. There were no irons available either. Everyhting al ittle bit shabby and needs a facelift. Breakfast was good 7-10 and quite a nice varied buffet. Would not rate this as 5 star.
Great location if you need to be next to the concert hall and hotel is right on lake

Room Tip: not next to service elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwwpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.3 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
753 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eden Palace au Lac
Eden Palace au Lac
#12 of 17 in Montreux
673 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel du Grand Lac Excelsior
1.0 mi away
Golf-Hotel Rene Capt
Golf-Hotel Rene Capt
#6 of 17 in Montreux
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux

Property: Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
Address: avenue Claude Nobs 7, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing