We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
Nearby Hotels
$225
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$231
$191
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Golf-Hotel Rene Capt(Montreux)(Great Value!)
$176
$167
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Eurotel Riviera Montreux(Montreux)(Great Value!)
$299
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$329
$316
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tralala Hotel Montreux(Montreux)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Splendid(Montreux)(Great Value!)
$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Victoria(Montreux)
$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel & Spa Bristol(Territet)(Great Value!)
$143
$139
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel-Restaurant de la Rouvenaz(Montreux)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (803)
Filter reviews
803 results
Traveler rating
214
268
179
96
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
268
179
96
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal plazalake viewlake genevajazz festivalstunning locationneeds renovationnice balconyan upgradeexcellent viewdecent sizestreet noiselakeside roomloved this hotelseen better dayshotel staffdeluxe roomenjoy the view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 803 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Just returned from 5 nights at Hotel Royal Plaza, The hotel and location were spectacular. However the best was the excellent service and attitude of the people. Everyone from front desk to restaurant employees were very nice and helpful. With zero knowledge of French I found everyone happy and willing to speak English and just so incredibly nice. For the hotel we had a beautiful and large room with a balcony overlooking the Lake. We arrived early and the hotel did everything they could to accomodate. My only complaint - a small matter - was that no coffee/tea making was in the room. I asked and was told they could provide us a kettle for $10/day, the only sour point on the hotel and minor. They even had a large umbrella in the room just in case it rained or and loaned us a convertor when ours did not support the computer. Yes food is expensive in Switzerland, but not complaining I can buy a $3 hamburger in Houston. In all a magical location and great place to stay, we took advantage of the Easter specials and WOW!

Room Tip: Lake view with balcony
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank houstonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Just come back from a weekend break at the Royal Plaza and we absolutely enjoyed our stay. Nice place, spectacular Lake view, nice staff, beautiful terrace and great food. Even if the place is not fully refurbished, the Royal Plazza have a great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swiss1820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

This hotel is in a gorgeous location in Montreux. The rooms are decent but in need of some updating. The views are spectacular. Unfortunately, the snooty service of the front desk ruined my family's experience. My wife and I were there with our baby and knowing that we were arriving early in the morning, I paid for early checkin. We arrived at the hotel at 9am and were told that our room would not be available until regular checkin time despite watching over 100 conventioneers leaving in the morning. There were no apologies as my family waited in the lobby while those at the front desk smirked in our direction. I was so soured on the hotel at this point as we lost nearly a full day of sightseeing due to this. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sixluv6060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreuxsuissehotels, Responsable réception at Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2012

Dear Sirs,

We would like to thank you for your comment.
We understand the situation and we apologies for the inconvenients caused.
We have received the note from the reservations service regarding your early check in but the Hotel was fully booked the night before and we do our best to give you the room earliest as possible. The early check in was not confirmed as we know that the Hotel is full on this date.We understand that it was long wait in the lobby during this time with your family .One more time we would like to assure you that we sympathize with your disappointment.
We also inform you that some restrictions has been already taken regarding to your comment and to the attitude of our Front Office staff.We will avoid in the futur any such situation .

We send you all our best regards from Montreux and we hope that you will consider our reply.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We booked for a family of 5 in The Villa Toscana across the street from The Royal Plaza Hotel. Upon check-in we discoverd there was a mistake made regarding the amount of people that can stay in The Villa Toscana. Within no-time we got offerd an upgrade to the Royal Plaza Hotel at no extra cost. The checked us in to the executive suite and before we were upstairs, the extra beds for the kids were already in the room ! The room was very large and had a great view of lake Geneva. After a good night sleep we went downstairs for breakfast. I should write 'breakfeast' because it was a great breakfast with about everything you can wish for. A wonderful stay in a wonderful hotel !

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the lake side.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milo1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreuxsuissehotels, Responsable réception at Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2012

Dear Sirs,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment.
It was a great pleasure to welcome you to the Royal Plaza Montreux & Spa.

Our best regards from sunny Montreux!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

From the moment we arrived we somehow knew it was not going to live up to our hopes and expectations. On arrival at the front of the hotel there were no staff around to assist with luggage, we had two large, one medium suitcase and two smaller bags. We found the front desk staff unhelpful, morose and uncaring. We asked for assistance to take the bags to our room and the dour and unsmiling Mansoor reluctantly brought them a few minutes later. He stayed long enough to leave the bags, did not even bother to explain how things worked in the room and left.
In the four days we were there there was no warmth or friendliness from the front desk staff.
On our first night, after travelling all day from Pontresina, we opted to have dinner in the Sinatra Bar. Big mistake. There was only one other table occupied and one bar stool taken. Even so it took over 10 minutes for the waitress/barmaid to bring us a menu. We both opted for the pasta with pesto. When it eventually came it was undercooked, and accompanied by toasted pine nuts. Now my idea of pesto is a mixture of pine nuts, garlic, basil, olive oil and Permesan. Apart from the pine nuts the other ingredients seemed to be missing. When asked if we had enjoyed our meal we said no, and gave our reasons why. This was met with "Oh". That was it, suffice to say we never opted to eat in the main restaurant during the remainder of our stay.
Breakfast and the breakfast staff were very good, as was the view from our De Luxe lake view room, but that was the sum total of the good parts.
Housekeeping was sloppy, we assumed the bedroom carpet was not vacuumed as the same piece of black plastic stayed in situ during the whole of our stay. on two days we had to ring down for shower gel that was not left in the bathroom after the room had been cleaned. On one other occasion we had to ring down for a toilet roll as there was hardly any paper left on the one still left there following the housekeeping visit.
The part that summed up our stay was on Christmas Day morning. I strolled through the lobby at around 08.20, no other guests around, just Mansoor on the desk. As I passed he never bothered to raise his head to say good morning or even, as one might have expected, Merry Christmas. This attitude just about sums up our experience.
We left later that morning, following another run-in with Mansoor. The room information offered guests who eat/drink in the hotel a discount of % from food/drink prices. Mansoor insisted this was for VIP guests only. However, on checking the wording again in our room the VIP part is not mentioned. After a bit of a stand off he very reluctantly took CHF10 from our bill. There was no "I hope you enjoyed your stay" or even "Can I ring for a taxi for you?". Please, do yourself a favour, forget the view, which was amazing, find a more friendly hotel in town. We ate one eveing at the Majestic Hotel, restaurant #45 - brilliant, food and staff a complete contrast to the Royal Plaza.

Room Tip: If you must stay at this hotel, so for a De Luxe lake view
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank banes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews