We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property at a Great Location and Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Staff very courteous at arrival.
Very friendly all the way
Decided to have a drink before going to the room at the pool bar. Staff very friendly but beer and champagne were not cold enough, and they seemed surprised.
Staff Always with a smile and trying to be helpful.
Asked concierge for a rent a car for the next day (Sunday) as rent a car in hotel was closed and within minutes he got one.

Breakfast down was very good. Elegant and good staff.
Bar by the reception had a small bar area but staff were good.
Ordered the caviar and amazing presentation.

Lady from Hungary at the Lobby Bar was extremely courteous and helpful

Concierge from Spain was quick at getting the car I ordered and paperwork done.

Overall good property and excellent service all around.
They had charged for breakfast in the bill and the reception staff without even asking me noticed it was wring and modified it without needing to be reminds by me. Well done.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ArBy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisele S, Responsable relations publiques at Fairmont Le Montreux Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to write such a nice comment following your recent stay at Fairmont Le Montreux Palace.

We are striving for excellence in all areas of the hotel and are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass on your gratitude to all our staff members.

It is always gratifying to know that we have been able to please our guests and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Montreux.
Kind regards
Gisèle Sommer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,506)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 1,508 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

We loved staying at this majestic hotel. It is clearly one of the most beautiful hotels in town. We splurged and reserved a Deluxe Lake View room and were not disappointed. The service, with the exception of dinner at La Terrasse Restaurant (reviewed under restaurants), was first class. Every employee was friendly, helpful and efficient.
Our room, on a high floor, was very grand. There were two small balconies which were perfect for enjoying a glass of wine. The room was recently refurbished and everything was bright and fresh, yet still very elegant. The king bed was enormous with high quality sheets and fluffy down pillows. There was a sofa that folded into a bed for my son. It was great having a nespresso machine. The internet was really fast and included. Our son loved the tray of chocolate fondue as a welcome snack.
The granite bathroom was luxurious--with plenty of counter space and a huge separate tub. The blow dryer was the older style that is attached to the wall and not very high powered.
On the ground floor there is beautiful, warm, indoor pool and outdoor lounge area. There are lovely historic areas and lounges which were fun to explore.
We got a bed and breakfast package and really enjoyed the buffet. It was very crowded but we found a perfect spot outdoors with a view of the lake. Service was quick and there were tons of yummy options including crepes, smoked fish and pastries.
One tip, if you plan on visiting Chateau de Chillon, the Fairmont has discount passes for the guests, so check in before you go to the castle.

Room Tip: A deluxe lake view room was worth the extra price. A room high up offers a better view and less noi...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sparky22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisele S, Responsable relations publiques at Fairmont Le Montreux Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Sparky,

Thank you for having taken the time to write such a nice comment following your recent stay at Fairmont Le Montreux Palace.

We are striving for excellence in all areas of the hotel and are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass on your gratitude to all our staff members.

It is always gratifying to know that we have been able to please our guests and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Montreux.

Kind regards
Gisèle Sommer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a beautiful historic building. The room however was bright and modern. The heated bathroom floor was a nice luxury. The service is amazing.
The beds are extremely uncomfortable and I thought based on all the pictures that the hotel was directly on the water. It's not. It's across the street. The views are amazing but there is a busy road in front of the hotel which surprised me.
All in all, it's a good hotel with a nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachy751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisele S, Responsable relations publiques at Fairmont Le Montreux Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Many thanks for having taken the time to write your comment. I am glad to read, that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have informed our housekeeping departement concerning your comments for the bed.
We sincerely hope to welcome you again at Fairmont Le Montreux Palace.
Best regards
Gisèle Sommer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights immediately prior to the jazz festival in Montreux. The whole town was very quiet, the calm before the storm, apart from the workmen preparing the hospitality tents, etc for the big event. The hotel is in a great position, the staff were extremely helpful & polite, and our room which overlooked the lake was very comfortable. We ate an excellent but VERY expensive breakfast there because it was too far to an alternative. Congratulations to Fairmont for FREE & effective wifi everywhere.

Room Tip: Lake view is worth every penny.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisele S, Responsable relations publiques at Fairmont Le Montreux Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Alan M.,

Thank you for having taken the time to write such a nice comment following your recent stay at Fairmont Le Montreux Palace.

We are striving for excellence in all areas of the hotel and are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass on your gratitude to all our staff members.

It is always gratifying to know that we have been able to please our guests and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Montreux.

Best regards
Gisèle Sommer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We spent a night as part of a groupon package with hotel-room, access to spa and dinner. We had a big room (from my standards at least!) with direct view of the lake. As we were on the first floor there was no balcony and noise from the floor below so I would ask for a room on the higher floors (at least 2nd). We went to the hotel-spa and spent a few hours in one of the best of the kind we have been to. The hotel restaurant where we had a set menu was recently decorated in a New York style. On reflection we should have asked for the menu-card since the 3 course menu was not very exciting. The hotel is located right next to the lake-shore so going for a long stroll looking at the scenary is very pleasant.

Room Tip: At least 2nd floor
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lkjcern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisele S, Responsable relations publiques at Fairmont Le Montreux Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

I sincerely want to thank you for your review and I will pass your compliments to our staff.
I am very pleased that you had a good stay with us and we all hope to see you soon again at Fairmont Le Montreux Palace.
Kind regards
Gisèle Sommer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Very beautiful and very expensive historic hotel on the shores of Lake Geneva. Super location which is only a 2 minute from the train station. The views are amazing (rooms with lake view) and is the ideal place to start a walk along the waterfront. The room was great, beautiful design in white but was very small, although it was written that it was 28 meters, I wouldn't say that, even with the bathroom included, I would guess 20 at a push. We really enjoyed the breakfast which had a fantastic selection of meats and cheeses and the usual very high standard buffet. The Hall was equally impressive and the staff were impeccable we also loved the restaurant within the building. We had a babysitter for 5 hours and were charged 240 Francs for 5 Hours (£210) which is by far the most expensive service we have ever encountered from a Hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisele S, Responsable relations publiques at Fairmont Le Montreux Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your feedback and your kind words. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Fairmont Le Montreux Palace and hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Gisèle Sommer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Wow...This hotel has it all, beautiful large well appointed rooms, within a building of quite stunning architecture on the shores of Lake Geneva with incredible views as far as the eye can see. When you tire of the view then the gym and the spa are as good as I have ever seen in a hotel.
All you have to do is cross the road for a stroll along the lake front, sit and watch the world go by before returning to the cocoon of luxury that is the hotel. Quite superb

Room Tip: Get a lake facing room as high up as you can - the view is worth it every time you look out of the w...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bedfordians23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisele S, Responsable relations publiques at Fairmont Le Montreux Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Swiss Riviera and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Le Montreux Palace.
Kind regards
Gisèle Sommer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
0.1 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
786 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eden Palace au Lac
Eden Palace au Lac
#12 of 17 in Montreux
686 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 17 in Montreux
239 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golf-Hotel Rene Capt
Golf-Hotel Rene Capt
#7 of 17 in Montreux
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Le Montreux Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Montreux Palace

Address: Avenue Claude Nobs 2, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Montreux
#1 Green Hotel in Montreux
#1 Spa Hotel in Montreux
#1 Business Hotel in Montreux
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montreux
Price Range: $345 - $549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Le Montreux Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace is a unique five-star luxury hotel situated on the shores of Lake Geneva in Switzerland, overlooking the Alps. Built in 1906, this Jewel of Belle-Epoque architecture offers a traditional and elegant atmosphere, and personalized and attentive service in true Swiss style. The Montreux Palace offers 236 rooms and suites that are luxuriously furnished, designed with five star standards and amenities and equipped with the latest technology. Our guests in Montreux can experience a culinary journey around the world with our dining venues within the hotel: MP'S Bar & Grill, Montreux Jazz Cafe, Funky Claude's Bar, The Lounge and La Terrasse du Petit Palais. Enjoy our wellness facility at the Willow Stream spa and pamper yourself. Get out of the boardroom for meetings and social events boastin 40,000 square feet of exclusive ballroom and conference space. Fairmont le Montreux Palace has become the destination for unique and unforgettable weddings and proposals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Le Montreux Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace Hotel Montreux
Fairmont Montreux
Le Montreux Palace
Montreux Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing