We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Does Not Get Any Better In Montreux.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“It Does Not Get Any Better In Montreux.”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Each time I visit Fairmont’s Le Montreux Palace I feel like it just keeps getting better – which is truly saying something since my visits over the past few years continue to be flawless. The Palace is indeed THE address in Montreux. From the moment you arrive at the hotel you are transported back in time – to a time when service and luxury were the norm rather than the exception.

This trip we had a Signature Lakefront Suite which was stunning. It had a large marble foyer with a half-bath off of the entry. There was a large comfortable living room featuring a work area and double doors out to a large terrace with a table and chairs overlooking the lake. The separate bedroom was large and also has double doors out to the terrace. The master bathroom was extremely large with double sink, separate glass enclosed shower and a large soaking tub all in lovely grey marble.

Perhaps it is some of the little touches that make the Palace so special. There is a daily fresh fruit presentation that is changed throughout the stay, twice daily maid service including turn-down (that is hands down the most attentive I have come across – it’s like they know when you are out and work their magic so that when you return it is always to a fresh room), and the large bottles of complementary water left bedside each day – and of course the Swiss chocolate at turn-down (when the room is perfectly prepared for a comfortable night’s sleep).

Daily breakfast in the La Palmeraie is something not to be missed (and all the better if you can secure a rate with breakfast included). As a food allergic traveler with Celiac Disease, the Fairmont Le Montreux Palace definitely looks out for me and in addition to the amazing standard hot and cold breakfast options (including eggs made to order) they always have a selection of gluten-free goodies for me to select from throughout my stay. Fairmont in general cater to special dietary needs better than any chain that I have come across with dedicated menus at all of their hotels that meet the needs of a range of food restrictions and preferences via their Lifestyle Cuisine Plus program.

Everyone from the front desk to the concierge cannot do enough to make sure your stay exceeds expectations. All you need to do is ask – from dining recommendations to reservations – all is taken care of immediately. There truly is no other hotel in Montreux that can compete with this grande dame. Each visit truly feels like coming home.

Room Tip: Lakeview Rooms offer magnificent vistas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,092
    230
    78
    45
    18
See reviews for
295
635
53
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Great location, great rooms with view of the lake.Fresh fruit in room on arrival was welcome.
Check in service was so so but Concierge Jose made up for that. He helped us plan our short trip
superbly.
Spa was excellent and complimented the other services at the hotel.it was nice to be able to relax at the end of the day.
Would would love to come back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harsh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

the best hotel experience I had in the lasty year or two. Here are the details, we were not sure to stay in Montreux or Lausanne, ended up in Montreux, really not much diffence between the two I feel,apart from the hotel! it made this stay special. We took two adjoining rooms as we had 3 kids, and from emailing our special requests before arrival to the final goodbuy from the bell"boy", the experience was great. wide clean hallways, luxury all over, rooms very spaceuos even for North AAAmerican standards, and extremely comfy beds, sunny and airy and breathless view (not exagerating). Excellent washroom and ameneties, breakfast is superb, worth it to pay extra for sure. All staff were tolerant of our kids roaming around, never had anything but smiles and welcomg remarks. I also tried the inroom dining, definately 5 stars chef, unlike other 5 star swiss hotels. Conceriege desk was very helpful and really used them to plan wonderful 5 night stay. W truely enjoyed the trip. This was 1 hotel of 7 hotels we managed to land in in our vacation in Swiss, Italy and France, and it came first in terms of enjoyment by us and also the kids. Very nice kids gift, they still play with them. too many nice emplyees to name specifcally, kudos for a fantastic team.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I loved this hotel from the minute I arrived by car. My check-in process was fast and very professional. I was taken to my room and everything explained to me. The room was a king size with lake views on the fourth floor. It was large and with stunning views. There was fresh fruit for my arrival and a Nespresso coffee machine in the room. I was told about the room service 24 hours/day, which I don't usually do, but when the hotel staff suggested I could have breakfast served on my balcony I was convinced. How could you not enjoy sitting in your dressing gown and slippers in 25 degree and sunshine overlooking Lake Geneva and enjoying your perfectly cooked eggs benedict and reading the paper. Absolutely loved the fact that doors opened to the balcony (had the doors open every opportunity I had).
The next day I borrowed a hotel bike (free of charge) and rode along the waterfront to visit Chateau de Chillon. A lovely ride, or you could walk it, along the waterfront with all the sculptures along the way and the statue of Freddie Mercury. In the afternoon I went to the Willowstream Spa, where they have treatments (not included in the price), steam room, sauna, whirlpool, spa, indoor and outdoor pools, fitness room, quiet resting room and sun lounges on the lawn outside. Very relaxing. I also went exploring in the hotel briefly checking out some of the halls and ball rooms with their beautiful decor and ornate ceilings.
I would definitely come back here again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money to have a lakeside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

A wonderful hotel that easily deserves 5 star rating. The staff are exceptional too. Ready to help, warm and friendly and making the whole place tick (like a Swiss watch). Very well appointed rooms - although we would have preferred a Lake view. Comfortable beds ensured we had a good night's sleep. The location is perfect too, right on the edge of the lake and the centre of town. Despite our street side location the noisy traffic did not affect our stay as the room was adequately insulated. A 'must return' hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woldwidetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Elegant hotel with excellent service, fresh fruit in the very comfortable room every day, very helpful and knowledgeable concierge, a lovely welcome when we arrived at midnight, a very efficient reception, wonderful spa. The hotel is in a lovely location, close to the lakeside, the station and the bus stop. Enjoyed the benefits of the Riviera card the hotel gave us for free which gave us perks like free bus trips and 50% discount on the boats and at some attractions. The hotel also surprised us with a delicious lovely birthday cake in our bedroom.

Room Tip: Had room with Alps view - behind a building - but room was very comfortable and quiet and very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

It is very easy and pleasant to get to this hotel from the Geneva Airport by train. The trains are frequent and the hotel is about five minutes walking distance from the Montreux train station. The building, the decoration, the gardens, the swimming pools, the fitness center, the restaurants and the rooms are beautiful. The scenery with the Alps, the Geneva Lake and the flora is fascinating. A lake view room with a verenda is much better than a room with a balcony. It is a huge building and it is spotlessly clean. The amenities are of high quality and plenty, the daily newspaper, free bottles of water and fruit, meteo information card were very pleasing. But make sure that you do not have a neighbour with three young children! The soundproofing of the our lake view room with verenda was insuficient. The parents were speaking very loudly, the children were screaming, shouting and crying the whole night...It was very unpleasant to spend three nights under such conditions. It was inconsiderate of the reservation department to put a family with three children next to a mature couple withour children.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gulgezen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
0.1 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
#10 of 17 in Montreux
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eden Palace au Lac
Eden Palace au Lac
#12 of 17 in Montreux
663 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#5 of 17 in Montreux
519 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 17 in Montreux
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Le Montreux Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Montreux Palace

Property: Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
Address: Avenue Claude Nobs 2, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Montreux
#1 Luxury Hotel in Montreux
#1 Business Hotel in Montreux
#1 Green Hotel in Montreux
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montreux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Le Montreux Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace is situated on the shores of Lake Geneva in Switzerland, overlooking the Alps. Built in 1906, this Jewel of Belle-Epoque architecture offers a traditional and elegant atmosphere, and personalized and attentive service in true Swiss style. Fairmont Le Montreux Palace is a unique five-star luxury hotel on Lake Geneva; member of Leading Hotels of the World and Swiss Deluxe Hotels. In addition to being one of the most prestigious hotels in Switzerland, Fairmont le Montreux Palace is one of the largest hotels in the Swiss Riviera region. The Montreux Palace offers 236 rooms and suites that are luxuriously furnished, designed with five star standards and amenities and equipped with the latest technology. Our guests in Montreux can experience a culinary journey around the world with our distinct dining venues within the hotel: MP'S Bar & Grill, Montreux Jazz Cafe, Funky Claude's Bar, The Lounge and La Terrasse du Petit Palais. Looking to sooth those tired muscles? Enjoy our wellness facility at the Willow Stream spa. Before your treatment, step into our Jacuzzis, hammam, Sauna or one of our two swimming pools. Get out of the boardroom for meetings and social events - our downtown Switzerland resort boasts 15,000 square feet of exclusive ballroom and conference space and is close to the Montreux Music Convention Centre. Fairmont le Montreux Palace has become the destination for unique and unforgettable weddings and proposals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Le Montreux Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace Hotel Montreux
Fairmont Montreux
Le Montreux Palace
Montreux Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing