We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great personal service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Le Montreux Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Great personal service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Went to celebrate a birthday and the staff really went out of their way to make it a memorable stay! The Willow Steam Spa is good and the facilities of high quality. The food in particular was great. The views of the lake steal the show and are well worth paying extra.

Room Tip: Get a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yousef M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,038
    213
    76
    37
    16
See reviews for
277
598
52
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

All that you would expect in a five star hotel. Great service and awesome location. Get a room facing the lake. My only very minor complaint was that the concierge was not always as personable as I would have liked.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the lake. Try to get a balcony if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rsmith90211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

It was our second on stay. We were there for 5 nights, and everything was almost perfect: great room, good brunch, very good service and facilities. Unfortunately our stay was spoiled by our spa experience. Funnily enough, it was meant to be the most relaxing part of our stay.

We had a massage on the arrival day. The staff offered me and my partner to share the same room.
- First we were ask to change in the treatment room but everyone in the park outside was just able to see us.
- Second the two therapists seemed very inexperienced. But worse was that on several occasions they were giggling (at us?).
- Third my therapists was ill. She was constantly sniffing which is not pleasant during a time meant for relaxation. But worse when giving me a head massage she literally sneezed on my face. No wonder 2 days later I was bed ridden with flue…

On the 3rd day, my partner had a treatment. It was meant to be a seaweed bath. However the therapist made a mistake and gave a flower bath. Not once did she come during the treatment to check if everything was fine.

As it was our second bad experience, we decided to have a word with the manager and to explain how I felt ill. The spa had hired temporary staff during this busy holiday season. The manager felt very sorry but only offered my partner to come back for a free treatment. Needless to say that after two such experiences the mood was not for a new treatment. In such a situation we would have expected a discount on the spoiled treatment we had. We were disappointed by the way the management responded to the situation.

It is not the kind of experience expected in a 5 star hotel when paying a steep price for massages/treatment. If the hotel wants to hire temporary staff it is fine but they must ensure the level of service remains high.

Room Tip: A lake facing room. They have wonderful views of the lake and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetravel004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
148 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Honestly, this hotel is over rated. the location is good for whoever interrested in shopping. however for whoever looking for a better lake view there are other hotels just on the lake.
2nd thing i will talk about my experience with this hotel. i booked a lake facing room and after i came they gave me a room you can see only 20% viewing the lake and the rest all u see are buildings. i refused to have this room finally they gave me another room at 4pm ( supposed to get the room at 3pm) i had kids were suffering for the long wait. the other unexpected thing i got shocked on was the room A/C is not working. this is my 2nd day and im spending it without A/C. the problem is the street is so noisy outside too much ppl talking n cars r hooting. but i have to open the balkony to get some cold air. im really dissapointed for the money value i spent on such over rated hotel. not recommended to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kismael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had a brilliant weekend in this fabulous hotel right on the lake. We chose the hotel and location as we were celebrating a special time with family. The best rooms to book are lake side to enjoy the view of the lake and snow capped mountains, autumn morning sunrise or be close to the shops, transport and best of what the location.

The highlight was a lazy saturday afternoon tea served to the room (on the balcony) with all the bells and whistles, then to enjoy a drawn bath before preparing for dinner.

The location is easily accessible by train from Geneva airport (thereabouts 1hour and 15 minutes to Montreux station) then a short walk down the hill and to the right or by car and taxi. The service is great in Australian, French, English or other major European languages and is attentive and available as required. The hotel offers refreshments / meals in a manner of choices with us enjoying the bar in easy format and street side restaurant for drinks and lazy late weekend breakfast. Extensive food selection and choices were available with the restaurant able to cater for requests or allergies requirements. The concierge also was able to recommend some quality local restaurants and arrange bookings and easy to follow directions. We dinned in a Swiss style open long tables on local cuisine and an Italian seafood restaurant all within easy reach of the hotel.


The bedrooms were well appointed with dreamy beds, numerous pillows ( and more on a quick housekeeping request), desk, wifi, tv with international programs and maps and planning material to explore the local area. The access to the lakeside walks is just across the road so it is easy to get in a little exercise to walk off any excesses, go for a serious run or just enjoy the perfect view.

Wonderful memories and family enjoyment were created from this old world establishment with yesteryear strong service standards with modern facilities. Well worth the value if you are looking for a location to linger and enjoy the time out.

Room Tip: Lake side with a balcony is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferJennJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We can't say enough about the stunning location, beautiful rooms and excellent service we had while in Montreux. We fell in love with the charming town and will definitely be back. Highly recommend getting a room with a glassed in terrace-- perfect for a leisurely meal while gazing at the mountains and the lake. We only wish we had more time in this magical place.

Room Tip: Get a water view, you simply must in this location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I spent 3 full day in this hotel for a business conference and I firmly reccomend it if you are selecting an hotel for this reason. I was there in April very low season but the service, the rooms and the food were all very impressive. I participate meny of such events but in this case I faud the hotel premises, the conference center, the meeting rooms, the spa etc etc all of very high standard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ziocut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
0.1 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eden Palace au Lac
Eden Palace au Lac
#12 of 17 in Montreux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#4 of 17 in Montreux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Grand Lac Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Le Montreux Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Montreux Palace

Property: Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
Address: avenue Claude Nobs 2, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Montreux
#1 Business Hotel in Montreux
#1 Luxury Hotel in Montreux
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montreux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Le Montreux Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Nouveau Hotel set on the shore of Lake Geneva, 300 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Fairmont Le Montreux Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace Hotel Montreux
Fairmont Montreux
Le Montreux Palace
Montreux Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing