We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel: be choosy with the room selection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel: be choosy with the room selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights for a conference. Reading some of the other reviews it sounds like the amenities in the rooms vary quite considerably. My room was a good size, however the room didnt have any coffee making equipment at all, let alone a Nespresso machine.

This is an expensive, but nice hotel to stay in and the view is great. Do ask what facilities you have in your room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor to accentuate the view of the lake. There is also a nighclub nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    215
    77
    37
    17
See reviews for
281
606
53
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We went to Switzerland for part of our honeymoon In October 2012. I was probably the most excited about this hotel. I was so disappointed. The hotel is beautiful and the view is great. I found our room to be small, but it was ok. The service definitely lacked. We would have to call and have our room refreshed with coffee and things. This should have been done without us having to ask. I just think for the $$, this hotel didn't not meet my expectations. I think I would stay somewhere else. The hotel is boring. It has lots of just empty spaces. I love luxury hotels, but I could do without this one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

There is no doubt that you pay to stay at the Fairmont Le Montreux Palace but everything about the property makes it a worthwhile investment. This was only the 2nd time in our lives where the person who checked us in personally took us on a tour of the resort and our room and explained how everything worked - Lise, you started our trip off right!! We paid extra to get a larger room facing Lake Genève and WOW was it ever worth it!! The room itself was wonderfully appointed and spacious and had amenities from one end to the other. And the view was one of the best we’ve had anywhere in the world. The staff was helpful and pleasant throughout our stay and the fruit in the room daily was a nice touch. We even skipped a few of the local sites in order to spend more time relaxing in the room. All in all it was a memorable visit to a fun town. I don’t know how often we can afford it but we’ll try to figure a way to work out another trip there as we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, definately upgrade to a large, lakefront room - you will not be disappointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stillerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisele S, Responsable relations publiques at Fairmont Le Montreux Palace, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you very much for having published such kind words following your recent stay at Fairmont Le Montreux Palace.

We are striving for excellence in all areas of the hotel and are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass on your gratitude to all our staff members, especially to Lisa.

We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Montreux.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We've stayed there for two nights and although the weather was a little foggy the view we had from the lake was simply amazing! The room was small but recently remodeled and everything was very nice. The service was excellent and all the staff very friendly. The fitness room and the swimming pool are also very good. Excellent breakfast. We enjoyed the hotel a lot.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a classic beauty. The location is ideal and central in Montreux. The service excellent, the room was big and comfortable. The public places were clean and the breakfast was exceptional. It is in my favourite top 5 hotels.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dimigian-greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dragoer, Denmark
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights after driving from Copenhagen to Switzerland in two days. Parked the car in hotels parking and relaxed in Montreux. We did not see the montains on the other side of the lake due to misty weather. With The pass from the hotel we took the bus to a neighbor city and a cable bus up in the montains.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harald Cees C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Prime location for water and jazz. The hotel has wide halls, large rooms, great beds, and a wonderful attentive staff.
If you walk from the train station it is a little rigorous and has some steep downhill segments that can be negotiatied with a roller suitcase. Take a taxi back to the station, though (CHF 15).
Like - Harry's Bar - Great drinks, jazz music and good casual food.
Dislike - This may seem small, but you can judge - I am not a fan of the in-room toiletries and find the "Rose 31" fragrance to be something to avoid, not something to wake up to in a hot shower in the morning.
Tip - We enjoyed a dinner at Restaurant le Museum, a fondue, raclette, potato gratin, and charbonnade. While nearby, it is steep walk to get there and a little difficult to find.

Room Tip: Christmas Market - If you are lucky enough to be in Montreux during Advent, the hotel is at one end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SQBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
0.1 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eden Palace au Lac
Eden Palace au Lac
#12 of 17 in Montreux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#4 of 17 in Montreux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 17 in Montreux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Le Montreux Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Montreux Palace

Property: Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
Address: avenue Claude Nobs 2, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Montreux
#1 Green Hotel in Montreux
#1 Luxury Hotel in Montreux
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montreux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Le Montreux Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Nouveau Hotel set on the shore of Lake Geneva, 300 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Le Montreux Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace Hotel Montreux
Fairmont Montreux
Le Montreux Palace
Montreux Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing