We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value for money hostel !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montreux Youth Hostel
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 549 helpful votes
“Poor value for money hostel !”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Its sad, but true!
We chose this hostel, cos it was the cheapest we could find near Montreux & the location looked decent.
We knew chk in was only 2 hrs from 5--7pm, so we planned a longer stay at Zermatt in order to reach by 4.45pm.
The owner arrived at 5pm & chk in was smooth. We paid a huge amount for 6N & were surprised when he gave us 4 beddings & told us to do our own beds. In no other hotel or hostel in Swiss or anywhere in Europe did we have to make our own beds. We felt like school kids at a camp!
There are a whole lot of rules & regulations pasted at the entrance which U must follow, just like a boarding school.
Chk out is ONLY from 7--10am & chk in ONLY from 5--7pm. So U have to mn take this fit into ur itinerary.
Breakfast time is fixed & they offer a good FREE breakfast with 5 types of coffee, berry yoghurt, FRESH FRUITS, egg & cold cuts. Also, a warning that U got to pay ( @CHF 3 for each sandwich) if U make or pack sandwiches!!!. Never seen this anywhere in Europe or the rest of the world!
U also have to pay extra for small packs of soap & shampoo..With the price the charge (CHF 159 per night for 2 bunk beds in a tiny room, up a steep stairway with NO attached bath or toilet) they shd have at least given soaps free.
The bathroom light goes OFF after 5 mins, so U got to grope in the dark to switch it on again
The shower stops after 2 mins (to save water), but U can press it on again
A very small room, with 2 bunk beds occupying most of the space in the tiny room, which is up a steep stairway with NO attached bath or toilet
Only 1 small window for ventilation. But if it is open, U will hear the train noise at night
On chk in, U got to carry ur own beddings up a steep staircase & make ur own beds.
On chk out, U got to remove the beddings & carry them down.
No housekeeping or room service. (its a hostel, remember!)

On the positive side--
The bathrooms & toilets are out in the passage & quite clean with no queues (when we stayed)
We enjoyed the buffet breakfast & capucchino (free with breakfast only & then chargeable for the rest of the day/night).
They offer a good FREE breakfast with 5 types of coffee, berry yoghurt, FRESH FRUITS, egg & cold cuts
The owner was friendly & explained why he has such limited timings & staff. Its because labour is so expy in Montreux, that he has no other option, in order to keep costs down & make it the CHEAPEST place to stay in Montreux.
So, he is actually doing us a favour & making it cheaper for backpackers, by not having to pay a receptionist or keep the reception open for more hours!
The location is a 7--10 min walk from the Territet bus stop down a lot of stairs, so AVOID if U got heavy bags to carry.
They have 6 large coin operated lockers (CHF 2) to store bags after chk out. U shd block these in advance if U need to store ur bags, or they will be taken by others.
U can use the large breakfast room or common room to heat & eat your own dinner. The chargeable hostel dinner is too early @6pm

They also have--
Stand up & use internet in the lobby
A small common room with books, few games & a TV
A strong laundry boy to help U carry ur bags up. (if u request nicely)

Room Tip: The location is a 7--10 min walk from the Territet bus stop down a lot of stairs, so AVOID if U got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank drsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    22
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
11
12
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

After traveling for nearly a full day, the last thing you want is to have a nasty 'welcome'. The fact that you can only check in during their very limited hours of reception is a frustration as well- luckily I was able to convince the man to let me check in because I had already paid in full. Poor welcomes lead you to pay attention to all the other little things you wouldn't normally notice at a hostel. The bugs in the shower added to my annoyance. The fact that the hostel was empty and their was hair ALL over the floor in my room- again, something I probably would not have noticed if I was not already irritated by the lack of friendliness. Overall it has the potential to be an awesome hostel, but the staff totally misses the mark with customer service and upkeep.
Also being a HI member- you have standards that you expect to be met. Montreux is BEAUTIFUL, the people are friendly, the views spectacular, but this all tainted when you are introduced to such a wonderful place with such unprofessional hospitality. Shame really. Luckily I work in the travel industry and scored a better hotel for the following nights... I suggest upgrade and stay at a small hotel- it is worth the few extra dollars.

Room Tip: Trains go by regularly- so if you are a light sleeper... not a great option for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreux hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This hostel is terrible. I know Montreux is just generally expensive, but for what you get here it is a complete waste of money. Splurge for a nicer place. The office isn't open from 10-5, so check in is an issue. The hostel is right next to the train tracks (I can't properly explain how close--I could feel the breeze from the train in my bed) and it is unbelievably noisy. The worst part though was how disgusting the bathrooms and showers got. Not cleaned nearly often enough for the number of people in this hostel. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Uuuuuunimpressed.
Firstly we arrived at midday. The office is closed from 10 til 5pm - til 5!! In other hostels with short office hours, there is someone around to lock your bags away, but not so here. Completely empty. We tried to figure out the lockers, but instructions were only in french, and anyway I think you need a key. So we had to leave our luggage unscured in the common room, which several other people had done. If you’re planning to come before 5 or leave after 10 am don’t stay at this place if you don’t want to risk losing your luggage.

We only dealt with one staff member when we were there, a middle-aged french speaking man, so I can't say generally about the staff, but we found him to be impolite, unhelpful and generally not there. Our biggest problem during the stay was that we booked a 6 bed dorm, but got an 8 bed dorm. When we complained he said, well it’s not full then? but it was full. Then he said oh well sorry we don’t normally do that. When we asked if it should've been cheaper, which surely it should've, he said it's the same price. Don't believe him. We booked a six bed, if we had known it was an 8 bed we may mave booked a different room, or stayed elsewhere. Then later he came to us and said something about we’re not hostel members so should have been charged more, as though we should be ever so grateful, but nothing was said about that when we were booking or paying. You can’t tell someone they’re getting one thing, take their money, then give them something else, then not even apologise!!! And then blame us for it!

Then the rooms. The rooms were the smallest I've seen, just enough room for the beds, barely any room for luggage, certainly not for eight suitcases/backpacks. Only one power point for the whole room - for eight people!! So we had to go to the common room to charge our phones and cameras, while we ate left over snacks for dinner. This was because there are no eating places nearby. They offer dinner at the hostel, but we asked the staff at maybe 7 pm, and already they said, no it’s too late, dinner is finished. So reception only opens at 5, but by 7 it's already too late to organise dinner. Ok.

Shared bathrooms were ok except for the showers. The showers are the kind that has a button you have to keep pressing to keep the water running. The shower I was in though the button must have been loose, becuase I literally had to keep pressing it every 8 seconds or so. So then I had to shower while leaning against the button the entire time.

You have to pay extra for everthing, lockers, internet, even for tea and coffee. Considering the epic price we payed, couldn't they chuck in a few teabags for free? There was only one internet terminal and you had to stand.

Ok, now for the good points. The location was excellent. It is probably one of the closest places to the Chateau, less than a half hour walk. Also close to the train station, and well signposted to direct you there. The breakfast was good. There is a little common room which is nice, it has some games and puzzles and a tv.

But overall, this is easily the worst placed I've stayed at in Europe. I spent the whole stay seething. Of course not everyone will have our bad experience, but besides that the rooms were very poor, no atmosphere to speak of, at least one unhelpful staff member, and very expensive. Only the excellent location and the puzzles in the common room keep it from a 1 star terrible rating. I would not stay here again for anything. But I can highly recommend the Chateau - magical!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Selphie_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

I guess I can't blame the hostel for the terrible exchange rate, but we found it terribly expensive to stay here, considering what we got in exchange.

The Pro's :
Safe, clean environment; very orderly.
The food, while not inexpensive, was quite tasty.
Laundry service was available.
The couple working there were very hospitable (but I saw the man being rather rude to another customer).
The location is close to the train station and to the Chateau de Chillon.

Con's:
Expensive for a hostel.
Sterile-feeling; doesn't seem like a fun place as much as an industrial strength hostel.
Top bunks were awkward/difficult to climb up to.

Overall, quite an adequate place to stay, but next time, I'd spend just a little more money and find a bed and breakfast that had a more appealing atmosphere (although lodging is hard to come by in Montreux).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarredon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Hubby and I stayed at this hostel for 4 nights and absolutely loved it!! The only issue we had was that we were at the location at noon-ish and check-in starts only at 5 PM, so had to stroll around...but after that, it was just perfect.

First off, the location is great - short walk to the Territet bus stop and train station and a few steps from the lake.

The hosts - a french speaking lady (who was super sweet) and her German speaking husband - were very helpful and thoughtful too. We had booked a 4-bed dorm room and they let us know that they'll not have anybody stay with us, if they could help it (we didn't even request that!)...and thanks to them, we were by ourselves in our room our entire stay!

The room was good size and was squeaky clean - so was the common area.

The breakfast was absolutely yummy - the best dairy products we have ever tasted (and I'm not even a fan of milk)...they had few types of bread, spread, flavored and plain fresh yogurt, home made cheese, milk, cereal..loved it!

Overall a wonderful stay! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juslyktht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We had a two-bed (bunk) room with a sink and exterior window and found this to be a clean, if less than charming, experience. Given all the concrete walls and floors, it was surprisingly quiet. The front staff was friendly but frazzled, and there is no reception during the middle of the day. There is a pass available at hotels that allows for discounts at attractions and free public transportation, but the youth hostel is exempt from this benefit, so we paid full price for everything. The coffee was wonderful, a good italian coffee maker, and breakfast was perfectly adequate and tasty. We were comfortable and it was a reasonable rate for a very expensive area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraN443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Helvetie
Hotel Helvetie
#14 of 17 in Montreux
326 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
721 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eden Palace au Lac
Eden Palace au Lac
#12 of 17 in Montreux
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bon-Port Hotel
Bon-Port Hotel
#15 of 17 in Montreux
201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Grand Lac Excelsior
0.5 mi away
Golf-Hotel Rene Capt
Golf-Hotel Rene Capt
#6 of 17 in Montreux
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreux Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreux Youth Hostel

Property: Montreux Youth Hostel
Address: passage de l' Auberge 8 | 1820 Montreux-Territet, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Montreux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Montreux Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being up to date is (virtually) everything in Montreux, the most chic spot, full of tradition, on Lake Geneva. And the youth hostel is up to date. You just have to be here! The dining room jazzy, the seating corner classic, the foyer rustic, the day room busy. French esprit combined with sophisticated flair, makes many hearts beat faster in Montreux. Just like the leisure possibilities on the "Waadtlander Riviera" - oh-la-la! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Montreux Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing