We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pricey and not all that nice”
Review of Villa Toscane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Toscane
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Divonne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very pricey and not all that nice”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed one night as a family (2 adults, 1 child) and we would not repeat the experience. First of all the check-in procedure was far from what one would expect from a 4/5 star hotel having to check-in and get keys across the main road. Secondly we were given a so-called upgrade (!) on the 1st floor of the house in a very old-fashioned room facing the road meaning that there was *no* way to get any sleep because of noisy jazz-festival guests shouting until 5am and by 7am the early traffic with cleaning started. In the end we would've preferred a smaller (more modern ?) room with less noise.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lkjcern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    53
    69
    52
    52
See reviews for
63
99
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Great location for the event, Only a one minute walk and close to the main part of town. Location is the number one objective when I travel and this location was perfect.

Typical european hotel room , but vacation is not about staying in the room.

Room Tip: Room view is not important
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmjr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Family( two boys 9 and 11) and wife stayed in large 1 st floor room.Paid about 330 SF during jazz fest- 1/2 cost of regular hotel rooms. A) Rooms facing street are renovated and beautiful-- it is loud. Stephanie- head of Guest services said soundproof windows being put in.. I complained about noise and ask for free buffet breakfast( cost 29 SF/pp to be comped and she did) 2)it is true staff is not trained well-and clearly are fustrated working there. one reception person demanded i leave my safe key with him- while the manager said- i could keep it- but if i lose my Safe key- it costs 500 SF to open my safe..the night manager is known to be an idiot and his colleagues told me so repeatedly. something you would never see in a 5 star property. pool is very nice, room large,and they admit their flaws and comped a great breakfast- so for cost of room for 4 for busiest time of year- it was a good deal and they tried..

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank barryv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed for 6 nights in the beginning on July. It was jazz festival time, but that did not cause any other trouble than the higher prices for breakfast, no wellcoming drink etc. The street noise was really terrible and it was impossible to sleep without earplugs. The roomservice did not bring anytyhing without asking. There is no personal at Villa Toscane but You have to go to Royal Plaza for all reasons. We went to ask for more water and got it two days later, we went to ask for shower gele, because that tiny little bottle did not last for six days for two persons and they did not bring any more. There was no soap in the bathroom so we had to use shower gele also when washing hands. The doors were wide open all day, and also the gates to balcony. Two times some one tried to come into our room from the balcony, but did not succeed because we had locked our balcony doors and we were seen inside. The people at the reception were totally smileless. The only nice persons were the waiters at the Sinatra bar. They really served everyone friendly and quick. The service at the Cafe Bellagio was very slow and after one waiting experience we ate all breakfests and dinners elsewhere. 4-star hotel is really something else. There is usually also some service, which we did not get at Villa Toscane.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twpalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreux hotels

Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Was very pleased to see what a hotel in Montreux looked and 'felt' like in 1987. Villa Toscane exemplified this in several ways. Driving up I noticed the vitrine outside the building indicating "Check-in" printed on a piece of paper with an arrow directed towards another hotel. Parked our car, walked into a tired lobby, approached reception where we were served by a teenaged receptionist chewing gum, with loosened tie. Having a CHF415 voucher and understanding that our VT room would be CHF320, I wanted clarification of what we were entitled to. "Everything" he said. What? "Everything. Room, breakfast, health club, swimming pool, gym, parking. Now give me your car keys." Not believing him, and not wanting to give my car keys (!) I asked for the other receptionist to clarify. Any overage we had to pay, which was fine. Walking across the street with our own luggage, we got into the cramped little lift to the 2nd floor, finally found our room, used the old school plastic with punched hole room key to open the door...whaff, cigar odor. Got room changed immediately, next room on the first floor was a time warp. No recent renovations, bathroom coming appart, filthy kitchenette with bug traps, a German bedside radio (which didn't work). The room DID have beautiful old bay window doors leading to a terrace. Except I noticed that we were sharing access with ten different rooms and you could easily get to street level from there. Not safe. "Locked" everything up, including suitcases, brought all our valuables out with us (no in room safe), and stayed out in Montreux as late as possible. Came back at 12:00am, slept with clothes on (concerned about bed bugs) got up at 6:30am. Continental breakfast consisted of instant coffee, stale croissants with jam and bread, all in the confines of the beautiful hotel lobby. My suggestion: tear down both buildings and start over. Both properties give a depressing impression of Montreux. And no, I won't give my car keys!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
176 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

it is a hotel, that doesn´t have any personnal to take care of you, you have to cross the street even to talk with somebody or to have a coffe or water, the rooms have any light, I had a single room it was a very very little room, the telephone didn´t work even to talk with the recepcionist in front, the TV didn´t work, so I went to the Hotel croos the street, complained about it, they change me to another room, but you arrive with the elevator until 3rd floor and then you had to take the stairs with all the luggage, the room was very dark, and old...so this is not a 4 star hotel at all ¡¡¡

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pfl0res
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

First impression of the room was good. It was the ground floor room. But as we settled in to sleep we found out it was too noisy.. the cars zooming on the road was constantly heard.. it gave an impression as if we were sleeping on the sidewalk.. tried closing all curtains and the roll down curtain.. it didnt help.. also the additional bed was a sofa which was too hard to sleep.
I think I will not opt for this place again.

We liked the pool and sauna .. they where good though in the opposite royal plaza.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilosimbha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.4 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
690 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
0.8 mi away
Eden Palace au Lac
Eden Palace au Lac
#12 of 17 in Montreux
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Helvetie
Hotel Helvetie
#14 of 17 in Montreux
323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Toscane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Toscane

Property: Villa Toscane
Address: Rue du Lac 2 - 8, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Montreux
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montreux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Toscane 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Villa Toscane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Toscane Swiss q

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing