We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, but a little lacking in places..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golf-Hotel Rene Capt
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in July 2014, and on the whole a very pleasant visit.

Clean and fresh room interior, although we were placed in the '60s extension which really now needs an external overhaul lakeside.. On the downside, No tea or coffee making facilities are provided in rooms, and the train noise every 10/15 minutes begins to grate as the room shakes day and night. There is no AC in rooms, and windows open at night is not on the cards if you expect a full night sleep. TV was small and only 3 English speaking channels were available, only 2 of which worked.. Bathroom was however recently modernised and boasted the usual creature comforts, steam extraction is not however provided and for the safety conscious, neither is Smoke Detection in the rooms, so no worries at least about false alarms.!

Hotel's location immediately next to the lake, and equidistant between Territet and Montreux is absolutely superb for access to the local treats, and the public balcony provides some exquisite lake and mountain views..

Breakfast was included in our booking price although at 23chf per head per night I would have expected a greater choice, I believe it is described as an 'american breakfast' rather than continental with scrambled egg and cooked ham (not bacon) or sausages.. Tea and coffee are not on tap, instead they appear rationed by the waiting staff...

Staff generally all very welcoming, and always eager to please.. English speaking and accommodating..

I would definitely stay again, but next time I will ensure to book high floor lakeside view with balcony, and take ear plugs..! If you arrive by car ensure you also book parking at the front of the hotel, and expect to pay an extra 18chf per night for the pleasure...

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Justin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (592)
There are newer reviews for Golf-Hotel Rene Capt
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 592 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel is very good. Just few 100 yards walk from the nearest bus stop - Bon Port. We stayed here for 2 nights in the month of June. Our lake view room was awesome. You will hear train noise if you open the balcony door. This hotel is not having A/C (which is quite common in Switzerland). Rooms are very comfortable. Staffs were very courteous. Our special mention to Evelin at front desk. She was very informative and also taught some few French words (**smile**). Internet connection was good. Easy walk to the lake. We have all good things to say about this hotel. Oh yeah make sure you take Breakfast inclusive when you book your room (ask for lake view rooms). Breakfast is awesome whether you are a vegetarian or non-vegetarian. Definitely want to stay here next time.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank AjayashreeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

It is Joel Osteen who said, “People of excellence go the extra mile to do what's right.” This quote sums up the character of the team that serves in this hotel. I have attended several events there and on all occasions the team goes overboard to deliver, and they do so without hesitation and always with a smile. And when you add to this the great views of the lake and mountains, and the delicious meals, what's not to love? I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The view from our room was amazing. The room was comfortable; nice bathroom and adequate bed. The time of year we were there worked out well for having no A/C, as we were able to leave the door to our balcony open with little street noise. The "but" for my review is, after we checked out, I remembered I had left my cell phone sitting on the shelf in the bathroom. We returned to the hotel within 5-10 minutes of leaving, and housekeeping was already cleaning the room. My phone was gone and the ownership provided little assistance in trying to find it.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were stopping through on our way to Alsace and only stayed one night. My only regret is that we didn't have more time to enjoy the patio, which looks out over the lake surrounded by palm trees and picturesque snow capped mountains. We had been staying in Paris the days prior, so were pleased with how large the room was. Very clean and the desk staff spoke great English. Beds were comfortable and both room and bathroom were good size. We were visiting the Chillon castle, which was an easy bus ride from the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a city view room, which was reasonably priced. I'm sure the lake view rooms have great v...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

i"ve been in this hotel a month ago, i can tell that the rooms are very very clean , beds are comfortable & rich breakfast is served in the morning , staff is friendly .
our room was facing the lake , with the perfect view .My family and i were nicely welcomed by the GM Mr. konstantinidis.
i highly recommend it.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We have an apartment very close to the hotel but we had let it - and had to attend a meeting in Montreux. Switzerland is expensive and Montreux one of the most expensive cities in Montreux. You must, though, pay extra for a lake view room. If you don't, you will find that the main railway is just in front of the hotel and it is raised to second floor level. People in Montreux accept that the railway winds through the centre of town - but the noise can be a huge shock to visitors! During the day fast passenger trains pass but during the night there are very long, very noisy goods trains - and the noise from these is earth shattering. If you stay in a room at the front of the building and have to open the window to get cool (there is no air conditioning) it will fell as though you are sleeping on the station platform.
At the back, the building insulates you from the noise, even when the window is open. You have an amazing view of the lake and the breeze is cooler as it is coming off the water.
The hotel probably needs some money spending on it - but is OK. I am not sure how it achieves four stars.
The terrace is very, very attractive and the staff are reasonable. Breakfast has just gone up from 18 to 25 francs and isn't worth it. I took the last piece of bacon and it wasn't replenished.
Instead, there are a couple of places in town that will do a croissant and a coffee at a reasonable price - or you could go to Zurcher (a very smart café) for breakfast.
There is a bus stop right opposite the hotel (and you will get a free public transport card from the hotel) and a walk into the centre of town takes 5-10 minutes.
If you go to a cheaper hotel there will be big drawbacks. If you go to a better hotel the prices will hurt you. I think this hotel is the best compromise - but you must decide just how much you want to spend.

Room Tip: ONLY choose a lake view room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnGerrardsCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.6 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
784 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eden Palace au Lac
Eden Palace au Lac
#13 of 17 in Montreux
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Grand Lac Excelsior
1.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf-Hotel Rene Capt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf-Hotel Rene Capt

Address: rue de Bon-Port 33-35, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montreux
Price Range: $169 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf-Hotel Rene Capt 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golf-Hotel Rene Capt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rene Capt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing