We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golf-Hotel Rene Capt
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We booked in montreux for a short break and glad we did, we had a deluxe room with lake view on the first floor and it was fabulous, our balcony opened right on to the lake and the view of the mountains was stunning, we heard the railway slightly but nothing to keep us awake, and one of us is a poor sleeper, rooms are spotlessly clean,the staff were helpful and courteous and nothing was too much trouble, we were given a montreux riviera card at reception and this was brilliant, it includes travel on the buses, trains and 50 per cent off lake trips, well worth it as you can get into the mountains free.. The restaurants are along the lake and to be fair they are expensive you have to watch your pennies with that and the portions aren't huge either.. I would add that to enjoy your holiday you do need a room with a lake view it's worth the extra to be happy.. P.s. breakfast was good, continental meats,cheeses and a hot choice perfectly adequate and tasty, and also for 10f a day leave the car and take public transport it's fast, clean and above all on time.

Room Tip: We had room 124 and its connectable if there's a family.. And always have a lake view for quietn...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hardcoreraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
There are newer reviews for Golf-Hotel Rene Capt
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 593 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

We are spending 10 days here , with a few days left there are mixed feelings .
On the one hand, the view of lake Geneva is faultless when sitting on the terrace or when looking out from a lake side room. Also, another positive is that we found the breakfast of an acceptable standard with a variety of options and the staff were very nice, helpful and accommodating.
However on the other hand, if you choose to stay in this hotel you must book a lake-side room, unless you're not planing to sleep. The "city" side rooms are directly next to the train line when is incredibly loud both day and night and even makes the room vibrate - but the train line is a problem for all hotels in Montreux in all fairness. Also on arrival we planned to play a lot of golf and tennis, but the this "golf" hotel has no course, let alone any connection to a course as the card we were given to get a 40% discount at the local course didn't give us said discount when we went to play- a little misleading! Also the tennis courts are not actually owned by the hotel and the tennis is a public centre- however the tennis centre is exceptional!
Finally the rooms were very clean, but no air conditioning and little storage space was an inconvenience. But I would still suggest people visit Montreux as it's a stunningly beautiful place!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Save up your pennies and book yourself a holiday in Switzerland. The hotel has an amazing lake view. The décor is a bit dated in the rooms but is very clean and comfortable. Reception staff are very helpful. Breakfast waitresses not friendly or helpful. We got our room changed to get a lake view - which cost us even more. I would expect air conditioning because of the heat and the steep price. But with a view so stunning there was no point in staying in a room to the back of the hotel with railway noise. Pack your ear plugs! We got engaged during our stay so we will have fond memories of Montreux :)

Room Tip: Get a lake view if possible. Bring loads of money!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaGDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked here during the Montreux Jazz Festival. My room had a strange smell. I complained and, to give the hotel credit, I received an apology and a new and superior room immediately. The hotel's lake view, while very nice, lacks the gobsmacking awe of the Montreux Palace and the Hotel Splendid. It was obviously once a grand traditional hotel, and there's no doubt that it still retains some of those hallmarks. But today it lacks verve; the bar especially had no buzz, which was weird given that the hotel was full of music lovers and party makers. Though I have to praise the breakfast (I didn't get a chance to sample dinner) and the responsive staff. Yet I also feel obliged to say that the hotel is over-priced for what's on offer.

Room Tip: Ask for room with lake view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 746PaulS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed a week end in this hotel and payed 490 francs per night. The service was terrible (not friendly, my room was not cleaned, my parking place was occupied and I could not use it...). It was not posible to sleep (room without airconditioning and it was very hot, VERY noisy: we heard the staff early in the morning, all neighbours and people on the terrasse). Dirty items were left in the corridor. Well, I shall never go back and would to recommend anyone to spend money there. There are much better hotels in Montreux.

Room Tip: well, just choose another hotel...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnaud l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have just returned from a week’s stay at this hotel where we paid a bit extra for lakeside view room. The room we had was a good size, with en-suite and nice side view of lake Geneva. Although there were two windows, I felt the room was a bit dark. Decor was what I would term classical. The room was clean. We found the free Wifi connection to be good. Due to this being an old building, there is no air conditioning, so we left the windows open at night to try and get some air through as it was very warm. Unfortunately due its location which is next to a railway line, there are passenger and freight trains running throughout the day and night – which constantly disturbed our sleep.

All the staff we came into contact with were polite. I would consider the breakfast to be mainly continental – bread, cheese, croissants, fruit and yoghurt with a small amount of cooked food (sausage, scrabbled egg, lightly cooked bacon). As we were half board we received the four course set evening meal. The meal was very nice and care had been taken to prepare it. We did have a slight issue one day, as the room brochure states that you can speak to the maitre d’ to swop the evening meal for a lunchtime meal, however they were unwilling to accommodate us due the Jazz festival and being too busy. We had expensive tickets for a gig, which was the main reason we were in Montreux! Strangely the hotel had actually accommodated us with the same request earlier in the week. Maybe they should amend the room brochure at busy times? The hotels gardens are extremely well kept and as a guest you can sit outside on the chairs/sun-loungers.

The hotel is about a 10 min walk to Montreux along the side of Lake Geneva, which also has amazing floral displays along the lake. Our travel agent gave us a ‘Montreux card’ each which enables you to visit locations more cheaply during your stay, including the incredible Château de Chillon, some boat trips and train journeys. On the whole I had an enjoyable holiday but regretfully would not stay at this hotel again due to the noise of the trains and noise from adjoining rooms.

Room Tip: Perhaps pay extra for room facing lake as may be quieter than side-view room
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MemmaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our room was on the so called City side. However, it should be called the Railway side. The "view" from the room was a very high stone wall topped by a main railway line on which trains travel by day and throughout the night - both express passenger and long freight trains. At night, if you are a light sleeper, expect to be woken many times through the night. It was like trying to sleep on a railway station with through trains passing by. The room was tiny, dated and hot - no air conditioning or even a fan. Upon asking for a fan, we were told that the hotel has no fans! (At times, we had to have our door open to the hallway in an attempt to alleviate the heat in the room.) The rooms on the railway side should only be used as storage areas. To be habitable, they need to be double glazed and air conditioned which would assist in counteracting the noise from rumbling trains. The common areas such as reception, lounge and breakfast dining room are of a high standard but unless ALL the rooms are of a high standard, too, the Hotel does not deserve a four star rating. However, Montreaux itself is beautiful and could be enjoyed more fully if nights are peaceful and restful.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay at this hotel, insist on a room on the Lake side away from the railway line.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.6 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
784 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eden Palace au Lac
Eden Palace au Lac
#13 of 17 in Montreux
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Grand Lac Excelsior
1.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
#10 of 17 in Montreux
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf-Hotel Rene Capt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf-Hotel Rene Capt

Address: rue de Bon-Port 33-35, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montreux
Price Range: $169 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf-Hotel Rene Capt 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golf-Hotel Rene Capt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rene Capt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing