We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Helvetie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Helvetie
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
UK
Level Contributor
235 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Great location 5 minute walk from train station, 1 minute to casino, 5 minutes to lake and Freddie mercury statue. Nice terrace on our room, can see some mountains but mostly obscured by other buildings. This is an old building and some of it does look tired but comfortable, massive beds, good shower, fabulous location and reasonable rates for this area. Breakfast continental nice selection.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gail1842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    127
    90
    32
    16
See reviews for
82
123
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Hotel Helvetie is a 5-10 minute walk from the Montreux train station. Descend from train station level to the next street below, and turn left. Pass the square with the Freddie Mercury statue, and walk a few more minutes and it will be on your left with a coffee shop on the first floor. The reception staff was very friendly, spoke English, and let me check in early. Every interaction I had with the reception was good. Once, they could not find me a place to do laundry, and so they gave me a coupon for a free coffee down in the shop below as an apology -- really nice of them!

The room was spotless, with a great view of the casino, lake, and mountains. The toilet was in a separate room from the sink and shower. The TV was a flat screen and got lots of channels in various languages. The bed (a single = slightly larger than an American twin bed, smaller than a double) was incredibly comfortable, and so was the pillow. The room was equipped with a fridge with a mini bar, a hairdryer, a wardrobe, and a desk. Everything was in working order and clean.

Breakfast was included in the rate, and was a buffet served in a lovely dining room across from reception. It had the standard croissants, breads, yogurts, fruit, cereals, juices, ham, and cheeses.

If you're a fan of the band Queen (as I am!) check out the Studio Experience across the street in the casino, and see where the band recorded some of its biggest hits!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street may get a bit of street noise, but also have incredible views of the lake an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisaq42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

we stayed in the above hotel for 2 nights, and whilst as mentioned it was a little tired looking and somewhat in need of a facelift, in every other way it met all our requirements. Our family room was lovely, as instead of a large room with 2 large beds, we actually had 2 rooms and a separate sink outside the bathroom, to make things more efficient in the morning! This extra bit of spaciousness really added value to our stay. Apart from that, the old fashioned decor of the hotel was very atmospheric and charming. The boarded floors, old fashioned lift, beautiful paintings all over the hotel and large dining hall where we had our breakfast buffet was all lovely. Most importantly, we were barely 5 min away from the christmas market and the lake. Montreux has quite possibly the best xmas market in all of switzerland! Grand, huge and right by the beautiful lake!! It has a huge ferris wheel at the entrance much to the delight of my kids! so needless to say, the location of our hotel pleased us very much! We were also a very short distance away from the train station and bus stops, (from where we caught the bus to Chillon Castle).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naserah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Excellent Victorian Hotel with friendly staff. Facility is good for family & honeymooners - No disturbance & Complete privacy. Very reasonably priced & ideally located (10 mtr away from the bus stop)for visitors of any kind! Many restaurants around to choose - Italian, Swiss, Chinese etc etc.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Debjitbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

This hotel is very old and very tired. The rooms are very big and comfortable beds. The staff are not very helpful - they are not rude though. We stayed over Christmas and not one of the staff wished us merry christmas. Rather disappointing considering we stayed 3 nights. Nothing was put on and breakfast was nothing different - this is VERY basic compared to the other hotels we stayed at during our 10 day trip. The hotel is reasonably quiet from street noises - if there is no one in the rooms either side it is quiet inside. If you had to stay here it would be ok but if you have other choices then I would take those.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsSB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed at The Helvetie Hotel for two nights while attending the opening of Queen the Studio Experience at the casino. I very much enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The staff were very friendly and the rooms very warm and comfortable. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. Very surprised to be using a key for the room in this day and age though. The floors and stairs are very creaky which adds to the history of the hotel. Also loved the old fashioned lift that goes up between the stairs. Didn't use it as was only on the first floor but good to see it was stil in use this day and age.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We arrived at this hotel late in the evening as it started to rain and were too tired to try finding another hotel. We very disappointed with the overall quality and lack of cleanliness. The furnishings and bathroom fixtures were old and worn and there was mold around the edges of the tub. We drove around Europe for five weeks and this was the only hotel we stayed in in Switzerland. Comparatively speaking, it was more expensive than many hotels we stayed in where the facilities were much nicer and cleaner for less money.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first and check cleanliness of the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenedeFrance62176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreux hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.1 mi away
Eden Palace au Lac
Eden Palace au Lac
#12 of 17 in Montreux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bon-Port Hotel
Bon-Port Hotel
#15 of 17 in Montreux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#4 of 17 in Montreux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Parc et Lac
Hotel Parc et Lac
#16 of 17 in Montreux
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helvetie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetie

Property: Hotel Helvetie
Address: avenue du Casino 32, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helvetie 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel in provincial-style building located in city center, near casino & lakefront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Helvetie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetie Hotel Montreux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing