We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but past its prime” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eden Palace au Lac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eden Palace au Lac
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location but past its prime”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here in May 2013 - great location but hotel has seen better days. Still, it was a great stay and I have no reservations about recommending it. Price was good, staff very helpful. The hotel is very easy to find and parking was at the hotel, although extra charge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveJ187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    243
    131
    66
    60
See reviews for
152
284
29
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Avoid the villa at all costs (slightly separate to the main hotel).

You check in the rather grand and glamorous reception in the main hotel and then need to get escorted to the separate villa. A smell of decay hits you as you enter the villa and is still there in the rooms. Condition of the room was very poor - stains on the carpet, scuffs on the wall one of the showers did not drain, lights in the main room did not work. There was a dead cockroach in one of our rooms as we arrived.

Air conditioning machine was completely ineffective and we had to endure 27C heat which made for a very poor night’s sleep. We had a balcony room which was above a restaurant and a kitchen outlet chimney. I think this chimney was the source of the 40+ cockroaches that started swarming on the balcony as we enjoyed the sunset. 5 or 6 of them also entered the bedroom overnight. Utterly unacceptable

We caught 4 or 5 cockroaches to show as evidence to reception the next morning (see photo). The receptionist was very good in dealing with our complaint and gave us a discount. I asked to speak to the hotel manager to complain and was told that because it was a Sunday morning there was no manager on duty. I was given the email address of the manager and sent a complaint email. I waited to see if I would receive a reply before posting this review - it still remains unanswered over 3 weeks later.

Room Tip: avoid the villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tangybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreux hotels

Berlin
Level Contributor
106 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Watch closely when booking and checking in as this hotel offers rooms in their villa only to check you in to a regular room later in.
We had booked a room in their separate villa on booking.com but once arrived got checked in to a room in the normal hotel. When asking for the villa room from our booking, reception said it might be fully booked. We checked the hotels own booking page where rooms in the villa where still sold for that night and showed it to the receptionist. The only comment was that they're just about to update their own booking system.
We got booked in to a regular hotel room instead and ensured this would be an "upgrade". In fact we could have booked that room at a slightly lower rate directly. The villa rooms were on offer for the same good price on booking.com for the next nights again.

The room itself had lake view, but was tiny. Getting to the bed or on the balcony was nearly impossible due to a large mobile a/c in the room. A/C connection to the outside was by a thick tube and two holes drilled in the wall. The holes - one not in use - had about 15cm in diameter.

Food in the restaurant was quite good - though overpriced. Breakfast selection was much better than in most other Swiss hotel we stayed in.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TouringCyclists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divonne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Situated right on the lake-side promenade the Eden Palace is in a unique location for enjoying Montreux. We called ahead and asked for a room with view of the lake and they gave us a very nicely decorated room on the 2nd floor (as a side-remark we found it quite funny that several accessories come from Ikea!). We showed up as expected at 15:00 and since the room wasn't ready we were given a free drink. We had small problems with the shower that refused to stay fixed on its support and the air-conditioner that required frequent emptying and restarting. We enjoyed a few hours at the big casino pool situated right next to the hotel (free entrance with tickets from the hotel). We had a deal that included the evening dinner as well as buffet breakfast. The service was good everywhere but the breakfast room could do with being renovated.

Room Tip: Call ahead and ask for a room on the lake-side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lkjcern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed in the Eden Palace hotel last night. Initial impressions were good with an old-looking palatial hotel, beutiful view of the lake and mountains. The room was large but sparse and NO airconditioning ... luckily it was not a hot night. The room was clean and adequate, good wifi signal (free) but somewhat noisy as it faced the main road, so leaving the windows open over night was not an option. The most disappointing element of the trip and the reason for the downgrading of the rating was the breakfast. Firstly the plates were freezing cold, although they had a plate warmer (not plugged in). It was impossible to make any toast as even though the toaster was on for 5 minutes there was no sign of browning on the toast! The scrambled eggs were warm but swimming in some unidentified liquid! The bacon and sausages were freezing! Really not worth paying the Swiss price for the breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeK999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel could not have been better! It was steps from the promenade with gorgeous views! The staff was extremely helpful providing maps and tourist information. You have access to a larger pool next door just steps outside with towels provided. The rooms were enormous with chandeliers and large armoires. There were two lifts and a large lobby. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwa87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had a family room - it was on the street side of the hotel. Large, very dated. It was supposed to be "renovated" but didn't seem like it was? The lake side rooms would be much better. There was an evaporative air conditioner in our room which helped (it was very hot) it was noisy and you had to have the window open to vent it - counterproductive! It ran out of water in the middle of the night and then we sweltered.
We swam in both the Eden Palace and casino pools - it was nice to have the option of the casino pool which is much larger - they sell day passes to the public so it is very busy on hot days.
We enjoyed lunch at the Eden Palace on the river - great food and such a lovely view, a highlight. The breakfast was also very good. You can imagine the hotel was very grand in its heyday but it definitely needs a major update. Montreaux in general could use an upgrade! We were due to stay two nights but left after one to go to Geneva.

Room Tip: Definitely book a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gemini6872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
0.4 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Grand Lac Excelsior
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#4 of 17 in Montreux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Palace au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Palace au Lac

Property: Eden Palace au Lac
Address: Rue du Theatre 11, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eden Palace au Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Eden Palace au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Palace Au Lac Hotel Montreux
Eden Palace Au Lac Montreux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing