We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel-Restaurant de la Rouvenaz
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed there for 1 night. It is conveniently located, only about 8-minute walk from the railway station. The room is newly renovated, it is clean, tidy and comfortable. We were warmly received by the staff who were friendly and helpful. In particular, we were impressed and appreciated Mickey's service. He introduced the facilities and services provided by the hotel in details. Also, he gave us additional information about the nearby sightseeing hotspots and the transportation. We had an enjoyable stay both at the hotel and Montreux!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EstherHK741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    108
    24
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
100
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Loved this hotel, only stayed 1 night but wish it had been longer. In an unbeatable position, right on the lakeside street, we had 2 connecting rooms joined by a small kitchen with table and chairs, which was an excellent meeting space. Although the kitchen was not equipped, when requested, we were provided with cups etc. to make tea. The rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated with free wifi and bottles of water provided. The staff were very friendly and helpful and provided us with a Montreux Card when we arrived which gave you access to free public transport and reduced entry to certain venues, which we used to gain a discount on entry to Chillon Castle, and actually didn't use the public transport at all because we really enjoyed the walk along the Lakeside Promenade between the castle and town with spectacular views of the lake, the quirky garden displays along the promenade and the wonderful villas. Very reasonable rates and great value for money. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eslynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

stayed here 4 nights arriving/departing by train. There is a lift going up/down from lakeside street to train station street, ask directions it makes it a lot easier, especially if you have a bit of luggage.
Hotel easy to find, and is in the middle of everything, and across street from lake Geneva.
Reception and staff very good. Hotel room ultra modern with tasteful décor, bathroom with frosted glass as walls was amusing at first, but worked, and assisted in feeling the whole hotel was immaculately clean. Lift was reliable and big enough for luggage. Stayed Fri-Mon nights and found reasonably quiet after 10-30-11pm.
Do not leave windows open after about 7pm, as smokers from downstairs congregate in road out side downstairs restaurant, and the smoke smell infiltrates rooms above. Breakfast simple continental style, but quality is good.
Restaurant was reasonable price wise and good quality.
Stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ASBGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We headed to Montreux as a destination point of driving round the lake, and considered stopping at other towns on the way but glad didn't and pushed on to Montreux. A beautiful and vibrant place. This was our second hotel viewing and by far the best choice for quality, cleanliness, friendliness, location and value. We didn't have dinner at the hotel but did have a drink in the bar and breakfast. All round a lovely stay and recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmandub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Pros: This hotel is super modern. The rooms are large and clean and the lights are turned on/off by the person's presence in the room. The bathroom walls are made up of frosted glass, they provide two blankets for a queen sized bed (but it's really just 2 twin beds pushed together), there is a mini kitchen in the room complete with a fridge, stove tops, cabinets, and a kitchen sink. They provide two bottles of water in the rooms free of charge - 1 still and 1 sparkling, which are refilled every morning. Free Wifi and large flat screen TV. Good breakfast, complete with breads, jams, croissants, cheeses, juice, coffee. The location was great - it was a 5-10 minute walk from the train station and a block away from the lake. The staff were super friendly and very accommodating. They also provide a free Montreux Riviera card when you check in, which provides free public transportation around the area as well as discounted rates for certain activities. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

Cons: It was a bit noisy in the morning because I think they are doing some type of construction in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiffanySK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at La Rouvenaz in Montreux April 11-13, 2013. First and foremost, this hotel sometimes bills itself as a bed and breakfast (it's even printed as such on their front door) but it is not. A bed and breakfast, traditionally, is smaller and more quaint. This is a modern hotel with 20+ rooms that happens to serve a continental breakfast.

The location is fantastic. It's just across the street from the main walking path along the lake. Montreux is small and easy to get around in so it was also walking distance from all major public transit including the main station for trains out to airports and other major cities. Don't be fooled, though - there's no lake view available here. Blocking the lake was a four story building that is undergoing remodeling.

La Rouvenaz itself is undergoing remodeling - right now. Apparently in January 2013 they just (re?)opened for business. Our room (307), while complete, was itself undergoing work during and around our stay. When we checked in the strong chemical odor in the room came from the chairs that had been waterproofed earlier that day (it lingered for the duration, unfortunately) and one of the days while we were out they came in and installed blinds on our outward-facing window (we had curtains the whole time).

The room itself, much like the rest of the hotel, was ultramodern. While looking classy it felt just a bit sterile and it ultimately had some annoying impracticalities. For example: there is almost no counter space in the bathroom, we couldn't find a thermostat (thank goodness for windows that open), and the three-outlet drops were in a circular pattern that made plugging in more than one appliance with a wall wart at any drop impossible. The bathroom door was frosted glass, so while not transparent, let a lot of light into the room (not ideal for when one was showering early while the other was still trying to sleep). The queen-sized bed was actually a split mattress - a minor inconvenience.

The breakfast included each day was very nice. Available from 7AM to 10AM it included a selection of cheeses, breads, fruit, packaged yogurt and a single-serve coffee machine. Especially considering everything in Montreux can be very expensive this was a welcomed perk.

In the evenings the same breakfast area becomes a wine bar. Glasses of wine started as low as 7CHF and some appetizer plates were available.

Sleeping in this hotel was poor. Our final night was Friday and we had to catch an early train to the airport in Geneva Saturday morning. Unfortunately for us the wine bar on the first floor is very popular on the weekends and our window opened to the alley. If we wanted fresh air (and the room did get stuffy) we could crack the large window but that let in lots of noise and the smell of cigarettes from the bar's patrons hanging out in the alley below. There were loud guests on our floor that night as well and the walls are thin. We could hear every conversation and hear every door slam. Things finally began to quiet down around 1AM. I saw other guests at breakfast the next morning with children and have no earthly clue how they managed.

A final modernist impracticality that contributed directly to poor sleep was an unnecessary window to the hallway. This was a full-sized window of similar frosted glass to the bathroom door. No blinds or curtains were available to block it. Whenever somebody wandered through the hallway at night, especially on Friday night when late-partying guests were returning to their rooms, they would trip the automatic lights in the hall and fill our room with light we could do nothing about. I doubt every room has such an anti-feature but that window really summed up, for me, how the reach for a modern look actually hurt our experience at La Rouvenaz.

Finally I should mention the service. The reception staff was very nice, accommodating, friendly, and helpful - when they were there. The reception desk was occupied about half the time we walked through and our arrival and departure were times where it was unmanned (fortunately we only had to wait a few minutes on arrival, but if you book be sure to check the reservation for a door code - the front door always requires a valid room key or code to open). The room service, while they did a good job, completely ignored our do-not-disturb sign. We're the type of travelers who will put that up every day for a short stay (fresh sheets and towels daily is wasteful) but each day when we came back the entire room had been turned down and the sign removed. Why even have the sign, I wondered?

Ultimately I would only stay at La Rouvenaz again only if our schedule had us in Montreux during the week and not on a weekend. The loud bar echoing through the hotel on Friday night was an absolute deal-breaker. Otherwise it was a good value, reasonably comfortable, and a good location. The attached restaurant (different from the wine bar) is worth mentioning here as one of the better priced (but still quite nice) dinner spots in town. Close proximity to such a nice restaurant was a big advantage.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without any windows that face into the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frencils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I just recently visited this hotel with my girlfriend for the weekend and it was completely perfect. The check in was very efficient as we had pre paid the stay and he personally took us up to the room. The chocolates left at reception were a particular favourite of my girlfriend. The room was recently renovated and had an amazingly comfortable bed. The bathroom was one of the biggest I have ever seen for a 3 star hotel and was really well cleaned everyday. The gentleman also gave us a late check out until 3 pm which was very kind.

The only thing I would say that could have improved our stay was to visit their beautiful restaurant .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank XFoodieX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.2 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
722 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#5 of 17 in Montreux
518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eden Palace au Lac
Eden Palace au Lac
#12 of 17 in Montreux
662 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
0.2 mi away
Hotel Helvetie
Hotel Helvetie
#14 of 17 in Montreux
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Restaurant de la Rouvenaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant de la Rouvenaz

Property: Hotel-Restaurant de la Rouvenaz
Address: rue du Marche 1, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Restaurant de la Rouvenaz 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant de la Rouvenaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing