We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best was to go”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of GoldenPass Line

GoldenPass Line
Book In Advance
More Info
$224.09*
and up
Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train
Ranked #3 of 37 things to do in Montreux
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: GoldenPass Line : Montreux - Zweisimmen - Interlaken - Luzern Experience an unforgettable journey though Switzerland ! A marvellous sight during the whole journey though 3 passes, the famous 4000 of the Alps and 8 lakes.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
275 reviews
139 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,349 helpful votes
“The best was to go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Take the panoramic train to enjoy the views . It is an excellent way to see the best of Switzerland . Get your camera ready and be ready at ALL time .

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank M O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    132
    35
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Romance of Train Travel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

The stretch from Montreaux to Zweisimmen is SO beautiful – for us, it ranks amongst our MOST scenic train trips! It had rained all day yesterday and so the hills were a deep rich shade of green. There was fog on the mountain peaks, we saw the old-style wooden Swiss homes at regular intervals, there were cows grazing – it was perfect!

We were in the Classic coach on this Golden Pass Train route – it added to the whole train travel experience! What a LOVELY coach it was! It was like you see in the movies, old-style tall seats with rich green upholstery, nice foldable wooden tables with gold hinges, old-style baggage racks, etc. In this coach, I felt the Romance of train travel of bygone days!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank CautiousTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nw78
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice, quiet, clen and very well done”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I took this service last year, in November from Bulles to Montreux.The train is very clean, quiet, comfi and provided you a full view of the landscape.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank nw78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“walk,enjoy,walk,enjoy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Only walk and breath and enjoy the nature and take picture,there are many resturant on the way even persian resturant and one big Migros ,...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Yas007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
123 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful views slightly hard to navigate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I took this train from Montreux. The views through the windows were fantastic and the seats were roomy and nice. We had a trouble as the train did not say where we were so we ended up going the wrong way. The staff were apologetic as they knew we were supposed to get off. Instead of eating supper we ended up with only enough time to have hot chocolate and then ride back again. Also the tracks for the Golden Pass were marked as 6-9 but our train left from track 5, so we lost another hour waiting to depart.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GoldenPass Line also viewed

Montreux, Canton of Vaud
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
 
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to GoldenPass Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing