We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food, location, and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge de la Cergniaulaz

Auberge de la Cergniaulaz
Ranked #11 of 116 Restaurants in Montreux
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Swiss, European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food, location, and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Every year my family goes to this restaurant in Les Avants, above Montreux for a holiday lunch. Every year we spend 2-3 hours enjoying food that I can't imagine eating anywhere else. Bone marrow, foie gras salad, escargots soup as starters are all amazing. The leg of lamb confit and the rack of lamb are among the best I have had and the sides of potatoes gratin and polenta are to die for. The wine selection spans a range of prices and includes various local bottles that are worth trying. The desserts are works of art and flavor. The service is excellent, makes you feel at home. The setting is dream-like, in a chalet overlooking lac Leman in the mountains, which in December are typically covered with snow. It is a bit out of the way, but that's why it's not mobbed with crowds. Hhghly recommended!!

Helpful?
2 Thank ak66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    40
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service in a warm chalet-type atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We went there with friends (3 couples) 1 week ago as the restaurant's game specialities had been highly recommended to us from various directions.
Conclusion: It is absolutely worth the money in all respects - quality, presentation, service, atmosphere! Actually, I would strongly suggest that it is extremely good value for money. We were so delighted that we immediately booked for end this month when the game season will stop. By the way, the menu - written on a blackboard - contains many specialities, not just game (venison).
Recommendation: Better to book early as the restaurant is rather tiny.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Werner B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamby
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“C'est magnifique!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Never disappointed each time we visit. The seasonal Chasse (game) menu is superb and the service attentive and professional. Highly recommend for a great mountain alpine experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LiblooChamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

OK, so I said I'd go back to this place to eat after reading the reviews and it didn't disappoint. The menu was varied and included a lot of game (I had civet de chamois and my husband had rabbit with polenta soufflé), which made a change after visiting so many places in CH where the choices are almost identical. The staff were thoughtful (they gave us two spoons even though we only ordered one dessert) and we could hear them speaking English to other diners. The room was small, so when it got full (on a Thursday night) the noise levels were high. However, judging by the signs of building work going on outside it looks as though and extension is underway. We'll be back soon, I'm sure.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank minkusmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Perfect alpine style restaurant !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

It has a lot of atmosphere, decorated with taste, in a typical and authentic alpine chalet style. So, if you're looking for the real experience, this is the place. Food is original, mountain style but pretty sophisticated (in the good way) and yummy. Typical dishes, meat, mushrooms, cheese even snails, but with real creative recipes which distinguish this place from an average and basic alpine restaurant ! Book well in advance, the restaurant is small and very demanded, and not open all year long because of the snow. Service is kind and efficient. Really a good address you shouldn't miss if in the Montreux/Riviera area. It's up in the mountain and the trip to go there is worth it too, with a gorgeous scenic road over the Lake Geneva.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Giov63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge de la Cergniaulaz also viewed

Montreux, Canton of Vaud
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
 
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
 
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Auberge de la Cergniaulaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing