We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills and will provide all the basics but no more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tralala Hotel Montreux
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The good:
The rooms are small but have hot running water and clean sheets. It's a reasonably well located establishment. Getting to and from the town centre is easy. Bus service 206 (which you can board from the CFF train station or La Paix stops by every 20 minutes and is a loop service. A welcome drink is provided when you arrive (a nice touch) and the female proprietress speaks good English (difficult to find in this part of Switzerland). Buffet breakfast goes for CHF 15 and you can have quite a hearty tuck in. The male proprietor speaks less English but is always helpful.

The so-so:
The wi-fi connection is wonky in some of the rooms (like the room I stayed in) but there is a make-shift foldable seat near the lift where you can plant yourself if you don't mind other guests walking past you as you surf. The aesthetic of the hotel decor is quite urbane but there is nothing remarkable about it.

The bad:
Given there is no A/C in the room (rather common in most buildings in Europe), you'll have to open the sole window if you want to avoid feeling claustrophobic. My room was facing the road where 206 stops by every 20 minutes and because these buses run on diesel engines, it can get really loud (I was on level 2). There is also a lot of traffic on this street even at night, especially motorcyclists. If you are a light sleeper, take note. There is a safe but no refrigerator in the room, so if like most people you decide to get your dinner from the supermarket one evening to save money, you'll have limited options.

On balance, Tralala is fairly good value for money if you consider what they are charging you relative to the cost of living in Switzerland. Montreux was actually my favourite part of Switzerland this trip. It makes a good base to see the other towns on the lake like Lausanne, Vevey and to visit Castle Chillon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irreverent-scribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tralalahotel, Guest Relations at Tralala Hotel Montreux, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you very much for sharing your experience and concerns with us. Our main goal being to improve our quality of service, each comment is very useful.

The Tralala Hotel was built in 1900 in the euphoria of the "Belle Epoque" as a hostel, so the foundations are equipped with quite small rooms.

You choose to come during the hight season but you can enjoy lower price at other time of the year. We always do our price at the best rate able.

We are always glad to spend some time chatting with the clients, and that's what we do everyday to hear about their day, experiences just as their needs and comments . Sometime we feel like our guests are searching for tranquility and privacy, so we try to respect this and dont't want to be intrusive.

We will be delighted to have a nice chat with you the next time you'll come. So I hope you'll give us the chance to repair our mistake and visit us again.

Please remind us, to give you a Room, which does not face the street. :)

Till then, we stay with our kindest regards from Montreux,

Gianna Trox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 478 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel because of the recommendations. But for us was not too much good. The location was not too much good, 2.5km to the casttle. No parking available for free, or if it's free you can only leave the car three hours maximum. The room was a bit small comparing with other hotels in Switzerland. The taxes were not included in the price. Also the breakfast was not included for 140FR per night. Wifi for free. Montreux is a nice place but the hotel was not a nice experience but enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvazquezm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tralalahotel, Guest Relations at Tralala Hotel Montreux, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thank you very much for your review idem as your honesty,

We would like to sincerely apologize that you have not had the best impression of our hotel.

Our Hotel was built in 1900 in the euphoria of the "Belle Epoque" as a hostel, so the foundations are equipped with quite small rooms.

Our hotel may perhaps be small, but it's fine.

My grandmother often told me, that the most valuable things are usually packed in small little boxes.

We hope to welcome you again to our hotel at some point,
Until then, we thank you for your understanding and remain with our best regards from Montreux

Gianna Trox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

What a cool, chic, and cozy hotel! It's located in the older section of Montreux, which doesn't look old at all. The streets around the hotel are very charming and quiet. There were bakeries and cafes nearby as well. It was just a 10 minute walk from the lake, which was incredibly beautiful. We accidentally went on Swiss National day and were treated to a spectacular fireworks display. We accidentally locked our key in our room but called the late night emergency number (the hotel isn't staffed after 11:00 PM) and they came quickly to let us back in. Highly recommend this place. There was also a beautiful and unexpected hike just up the road that led you through a lush green mountainous riverbed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grlantrn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tralalahotel, Guest Relations at Tralala Hotel Montreux, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

We are very greatful to hear, that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We would be more than happy to be welcoming you again in the future,

Otherwise we are wishing you all our very best for your future, with many great Hotel-experience around the Globe.

The entire Team of the Tralala Hotel is sending you our kindest regards,

Gianna Trox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have stopped by at the hotel numerous times for breakfast and to meet friends.

Great hotel, very clean! Wi-fi worked perfectly, being from Canada, it was my only source of communications and it worked amazingly...very glad about that!

Coffee and breakfast was very much affordable considering we are in Switzerland.

I adored the lovely receptionist (Gianna). Her smile and attitude made me feel right at home.

I would recommend this hotel if you want a great no-hassle stay to Montreux.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Çilek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tralalahotel, Guest Relations at Tralala Hotel Montreux, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

The entire Team loved having you as our Guest at the Tralala Hotel,

Thank you so very much for your kind words.
Each on of us, including myself, do aprecciate those. :)

We would be more than pleased getting to welcome you again to our Hotel in very closed future,


Till then, we stay with our warmest regards from Montreux.

Gianna Trox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed 4 nights during the Jazz Festival.
Very cute little hotel high above the city, very modern decor with a music/festival theme throughout. Room was very nice, quite large and easy to move around in.
Large desk along one wall, and WiFi was fine. Would have liked a minibar.
TV only had a few news-based English channels.
Bathroom had stand-alone shower.
Breakfast was 15frc, never tried it.

Tip: Bus 206 stops right at the door, and does a loop back down to the city & rail station.
As it's quite a steep climb up from the town, I'd suggest checking out the stops/schedules and using this bus, at least when returning.
Front desk provided welcome drink and map with hand-written notes of the town including 206 bus route.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaunt411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tralalahotel, Guest Relations at Tralala Hotel Montreux, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

On behalf of the entire Tralala-Team,
we thank you very much for this great review.

It is very inspiring for all of us to know we have succeeded in our efforts to give and share the real essence of the Jazz-Inspiration.

I would like to excuse myself for not having a Mini-Bar in your Room, we had taken it out to exchance it a few days later for a new one. Be assured that we will keep working to enhance, even more, the actual service beyond our guest's expectations.

For your next visit, please make sure to get the Bus No. 206, which is leaving every 20 minutes. :)
It takes 4 minutes to come up from the Trainstation by Bus..
(from monday till saturday, the Bus is leaving each 12, 32 and 52 from the Trainstation)

Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon,
Till then we stay with our kindest Regards,

Gianna Trox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hidden little hotel is up the hillside from the noise and commotion of the waterfront. It is very clean, although the rooms are quite small. What makes this hotel special is the front desk receptionist, Gianna. She is a friendly, exuberant woman who made our stay extra enjoyable. She made us feel that the hotel really cared about our stay and our comfort. The restaurants she suggested were right on the mark, and she shared all kinds of knowledge about the area. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cookieladyjoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tralalahotel, Guest Relations at Tralala Hotel Montreux, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dearest Mrs. Wiesner,

We are very greatful to hear, that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We would be more than happy to be welcoming you again in the future,

From the bottom of my heart, I would like to thank you for the kind words of yours. I hope, that we will be able to meet once again, may it be here in switzerland or elswhere.

Till then, I am wishing you all my very best just as the entire Team of the Tralala Hotel is sending you our kindest regards,

Gianna Trox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed here for a brief 2 night visit to Montreux, I was travelling alone but would definitely like to come back again and stay with my family.
When I checked in, the lovely receptionist (Gianna?) couldn't have been more helpful - you get offered a welcome drink and she was kind enough to upgrade my room and also gave me plenty of local info (bus and train times etc). I also got a pass for using on the local bus which meant you can get around the town for free (the #206 serves the train station and also stops right outside the hotel every 20 minutes). If you are getting to the hotel to begin with, there is quite an uphill walk so maybe a taxi or bus is better if you have bags, I got a cab and I think it was only about 10CHF)
The hotel itself was spotless and clean and my lovely room had some pretty views where you could see the lake. I liked the 'dark' feeling of the bedroom and the ensuite was huge with double sinks and a really deep tub with powerful shower overhead. There was also a minibar and hairdryer, tv, dvd etc
The bed was big and comfy
I didn't sample the breakfast as I was up and out early each morning, but I think it was 15CHF so fairly reasonable in terms of local prices.
I like the fact that this hotel wasn't on the main street and was away from any real noise.
The whole jazz theme and contemporary feel of this hotel is great, well done to the staff and management there - really attentive and friendly :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tralalahotel, Guest Relations at Tralala Hotel Montreux, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

On behalf of the Tralala- Team, thank you very much for this great review.

It is very inspiring for all of us to know we have succeeded in our efforts to give and share the real essence of the Jazz-Inspiration.

Be assured that we will keep working to enhance, even more, the actual service beyond our guest's expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon,
Regards,

Gianna Trox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.5 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
804 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
0.3 mi away
Hotel Helvetie
Hotel Helvetie
#14 of 17 in Montreux
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#5 of 17 in Montreux
533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golf-Hotel Rene Capt
Golf-Hotel Rene Capt
#7 of 17 in Montreux
598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eden Palace au Lac
Eden Palace au Lac
#12 of 17 in Montreux
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tralala Hotel Montreux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tralala Hotel Montreux

Address: rue du Temple 2, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Price Range: $122 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tralala Hotel Montreux 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of the old Montreux (1 km from railway ; 0.5 km from the Leman lake), Tralala is a 1616 charming hotel 3 * entirely renovated in 2008 around the theme of music, typical characteristic of Montreux with its Jazz Festival. The Tralala offers a harmonious mix of comfort and elegance topped with a very warm ambiance. You will sleep emerged in sounds, thoughts and dreams from Prince, David Bowie, Igor Stravinsky or Alicia Keys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Tralala Hotel Montreux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing